We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-placed airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well-placed airport hotel”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Despite a mix up in our room bookings by our travel agent, the hotel staff managed to sort out two adjoining rooms for us so that we could be next to the children. The rooms and bathrooms were large and clean. The food was OK but not excellent. The small swimming pool was really nice and the staff here friendly and very tolerant of the children! The free internet access was alos a bonus. Position-wise this hotel could not be better situated for the airpoprt and car hire. Overall a pleasant and useful place for a one night stay after a long flight.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikeToTravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    321
    56
    19
    8
See reviews for
233
505
120
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2010

This hotel is convenient for overnight stays at the airport as it is within walking distance of the terminal, but it is not worth the price. Staff was rude and unhelpful. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sararr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

The InterContinental was a very convenient, yet relatively expensive, option for an overnight at O.R. Tambo Airport. It is about a 3 minute walk from the main international arrivals area.

The bed was comfortable, the shower had good pressure, the HVAC system was effective and quiet, and there’s even a good digital scale in the bathroom. The clock radio was exceptionally complicated so, to make sure you get up on time, either set your own alarm or request a wake up call. Room service operates 24 hours.

For an InterContinental property I was surprised you had to make a phone call to proactively request turndown service. Also, the TV channel selection was limited and there was no dimmer on the lights at bedside.

I would stay here again when making connections at JNB.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
137 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

I stayed here between Cape Town and flying out to a private game reserve in the Sabi Sands Reserve the next day.

The location is outstanding, just an easy walk outside the baggage claim—closer than most airport parking garages. I did find that the signage from inside the airport was lame, however, and had to ask twice for help on where exactly to go.

The staff was excellent. I found the rooms a little small for such a luxury class hotel, and I was upgraded as I am an ICH Ambassador. The soundproofing was excellent. I didn't hear a sound from outside my room.

Breakfast was decent. It wasn't spectacular but it was decent. I would have expected at least an omelette station at a hotel of this caliber and for such a price.

I do feel they're taking the Intercontinental name a bit far as far as room prices, especially for an airport hotel. Anything out of the $200's is high, but almost $400 is just extreme. Especially when it's not a luxury resort with beaches and such right outside.

I will stay here again, however, as the convenience is worth a heck of a lot to me.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemophilist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

After a long flight from Perth, Western Australia, it was such a relief to see the wonderful Intercontinetal Hotel within walking distance of the front door of the International Terminal in Johannesburg.

We were leaving early next morning for our Game trip in the Sabi Sands area and wanted to be close to the airport.

We were shown to a lovely room and after unpacking what we needed for the night we went and had a drink downstairs. We also had a lovely dinner in the restaurant and next morning after a great sleep in a very comfortable bed, we had a delicious breakfast.

Nothing was too much trouble in this small boutique Intercontienental Hotel, in fact the porter of the hotel wheeled our suiticases over to the terminal for us which saved us finding a trolley. If we ever visited J/Burg again, we would definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Aussiegal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

I stayed at this hotel one night after a 15-hour flight from United States. I used the public computers to send some email. I had a good night's sleep. Then I had a very good breakfast. The local ham was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Clean, convenient, quiet - it is the perfect hotel for a layover at JNB. The rooms are very nice, beds are comfortable, and bathrooms are perfect. After a week in the Congo it was surreal to come back to the developed world; I could have spent a week in the hotel shower! I did use the laundry service, too, with which I had no problems at all. A bit pricey, but that's to be expected at a hotel, much less an airport hotel. I highly recommend the Intercontinental JNB if your travels to other parts of Africa include an overnight at OR Tambo.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequent_Traveler724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Property: InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Address: 68.7 metres from International Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2015 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2015, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing