We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Stop Over Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Bunbury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“The Perfect Stop Over Hotel”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

By far the best “airport hotel”. Stayed overnight to catch a connecting flight. The hotel was conveniently located just outside the front of the airport easily seen from the entrance of the airport. A minute's walk and you are there! No annoying shuttle buses!
Check in was quick and efficient. The room was modern and clean and was average in size. Bathroom was of a good size with a separate bath complimented by good amenities.
Bed was comfortable with nice pillows. Hotel provided a Nespresso machine and complimentary water which was much appreciated.
A bonus was the heated pool on the top floor with great views. There was a spa as well. Booked in for a massage and the therapist was gentle and well trained. The change room also had a steam room as well so it was a perfect stopover hotel to re-charge for our onward journey the next day.
We had dinner at the restaurant on the ground floor. The menu was comprehensive and the food delicious. Unfortunately it was a busy night and the food service was slow. We appreciated the fact that the Maître d’ came to apologize and kept us informed.
Check out again was seemless and the hotel porter accompanied us directly to the counter of Federal Air, our connecting flight. This was unexpected and much appreciated.
Overall one of the best overnight stay that I have experienced. Terrific staff, very professional. Don't look anywhere else! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BunburyTim61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Good Evening BunburyTim61 and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that you managed to enjoy so many of our facilities. We hope it won't be too long before your next visit and look forward to welcoming your back. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    903
    325
    57
    19
    8
See reviews for
236
514
121
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

though a trusted brand, for some reason I had a fear of airport hotels, being old, borderline budget and just as a stop over, however this was a complete eye opener and changed my opinion. Modern ,well built all the latest standards for safety, high quality bed and decor, great food, awesome staff, helpful and convienient

Room Tip: All rooms were good, but even better your next to the Gautrain which gets you to sandton in 12 minut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good Evening Peter B and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. We often receive feedback from guests in that they were expecting the usual run down airport hotel - which we most definately are NOT! We take pride in our offering and service culture and want nothing more than to leave each and every guest with magical memories. We are so pleased to read that we have done so in your case and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well, kind regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed here one night on a layover before continuing to Botswana. It was super convenient -- just a short walk from the arrivals hall at the airport. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. For an airport hotel it was quiet, but then the airport was dead when we arrived at 19:30. There was a decent buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chi_catColumbus_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good Evening Chi_catColumbus_Ohio and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. As you have duly pointed out we are only 68.7 meters from the international arrivals hall and clearly visible. The triple glazing on the exterior of the building helps keeps all that unwanted airport noise out and allow that well deserved peaceful sleep. Thank you once again and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well, regards Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinberg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I‘ve stayed in the InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport overnight during my flight from Lusake to Hoedspruit on June 26th 2014.

It is a perfect Airport Hotel.

Easy to reach by foot - no need to look (and wait) for shuttle busses.

Large rooms in very good condition and with everything you need - completely quiet, comfortable beds, lots of space for the luggage, a bathroom with separate shower and toilet …

The bar is a perfect place for some drinks and a late night snack.

And last but not least all the people that work there are exceptionally friendly.

Intercontinental Hotels are always a good choice and I can absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralfcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Good Evening ralfcho and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us, most appreciated. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and we are all sincerely appreciative. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

1st class operation with best access at JNB. I little pricey, but you get what you pay for (doorman takes your bags to airline check-in). For the same money and if you have a bit more time, stay at the many 1st class hotels in Sandton, but if you need the convenience of the airport, this is the best hands down.

The restaurant "Quills" was quite good and imaginative for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indstrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Good Evening Indstrl and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had booked this hotel for one night as we were going to Botswana returning to Jo'burg then flying out up to Hoedspruit. Prior to arriving we realised we would need to leave some of our luggage behind for the Botswana leg of the trip, we rang the hotel to see if it would be possible to leave it with them and pick it up when we stayed over, not a problem, most helpful. On our arrival back, luggage was all safe and sound, had a lovely room, and given that it is steps from the airport you couldn't hear a sound, we had an evening meal and breakfast in the Quills restaurant both of a very high standard, all the staff were more than helpful. So much so that when we still had an over luggage issue, they allowed us to leave a bag with them for 10 days and pick it up on our return to Jo'burg (at no cost, which is an added bonus). On our return we picked up our bag and decided to have lunch in Quills Restaurant rather than wait in the airport for the check in to open, again a nice meal, in peaceful and comfortable surroundings, I would definitely use this hotel again, and would certainly use the restaurant prior to check in. Very friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to an executive room, very nice and no noise from airport, I'm guessing that al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pawsEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Good Morning pawsEssex_England and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post some feedback regarding your recent stay with us on Trip Adivsor. Really appreciated. Its great to read that you really enjoyed your time with us and that we could be of assistance with your luggage whilst you went on Safari - only a pleasure. Hope it won't be too long before your next Safari - and looking forward to hosting you once again. Keep well, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were very surprised at the level of comfort at the hotel. The rooms are wonderfully quiet... Both from hotel noises and aircraft . Every single item we could think of was supplied. The food for dinner and breakfast was of a very high standard. The best surprise was the roof top gym- open 24 hours and with plenty of equipment options. The hotel is directly across the road from arrivals, an easy walk with bags.

Room Tip: Doubt there is any difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldenjays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Good Morning goldenjays and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. Yes the views from the 8th floor whilst doing a gym workout or just enjoying the Spa / Heated swimming pool are great - and all of this with zero noise. Thank you once again for the positive feedback and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,064 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.6 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Property: InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Address: 68.7 metres from International Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2015 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2015, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing