We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice hotel a few steps away from the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
84 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Super nice hotel a few steps away from the airport”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Nice stay at the airport. Perfect for a connection flight to the safari. The room was great! Breakfast also fantastic. The only so so thing was my massage at the spa. The spa was nice but I just didn't get the best therapist. In any case, I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poliana23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Good Evening Poliana23 and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us, but we are saddened by the fact that the Spa Treatment left a little wrinkle in the whole experience. We do sincerely apologise and hope that we can make it up to you next time. Keep well, and hope to see you soon again, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    321
    56
    19
    8
See reviews for
233
505
120
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The rooms are fantastic and very well appointed. Great bed. A big let down was that a great bathroom / toilet area flooded with water from the shower. Nothing I could do to stop it. The water ran into the toilet area. Considering you are staying at a very nice hotel this aspect made me feel like I was in a high class place in a third world city. Apart from the flooding you would have to be very picky to find any other thing to complain about in the room.
The bar area is very dull no atmosphere at all.
So all in all a world class airport hotel that you pay for!
Check in and check out was painless.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cranjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Good Evening Cranjee and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. Sorry about the water leaking out under your shower door. These things do happen from time to time, but we are working on a permanent solution with a new marble strip accross the bottom of the shower enterance. Your comment regarding the Quills Bar is in hand as well, and our Interior Designer is currently working on some new mocks ups, which should go into production soonest. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed the rest of the hotel and the staff's attentiveness. Keep well and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
232 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is simply a fantastic option for a JNB layover. Convenient: Pass customs, leave the terminal, cross the street, and you are there. Professional: Check in is lightning fast, and the staff is very proactive and tries to help with your needs even before you tell them. The rooms are spotless, quiet and comfortable. Food is excellent, and the breakfast buffet the best I have seen in any hotel. Worth every penny, and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room in the higher floors. All are very quiet however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Good Evening Raiber and Thank you for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. We are so pleased to read that we left you with so many wonderful memories and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
445 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I have written this hotel up before as being brilliant and I spent last night there again enroute to Namibia. I can only re confirm my last experience. Fantastic staff, fantastic hotel. Having stayed in airport hotels the world over they are always expensive and offer very little. Not this one - it is great. From the moment you arrive you are treated as a customer. It is literally a 5 minute walk out of arrivals and there are no stairs. A great bar and a great dinning room where the chef will come up and ask how your meal was!!! Well done. It will ALWAYS be my hotel of choice when transferring in J'burg.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Good Afternoon Grant T and Thank You so much for taking only a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are so proud to be your number 1 airport hotel - Thank you. Hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep Well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Having called in for drinks or to use the spa on many occasions when passing through Johannesburg I finally had the opportunity to stay. Arriving at 5:30am I went to the hotel to ask if I could leave my bags as I had a day of meetings in town. The booking was not made in my name so I was not expecting to be able to check in.

As quick as a flash the staff called house keeping to check if the room was ready and I was able to check in at 6am, staggering - this is so rarely the case. The room faced the airport and I was concerned that it might be noisy - unfounded I was to discover. The room proved a haven of peace and even allowed for a quick rest before heading into town.

The evening meal was exceptional and I would recommend the lamb chops to anyone eating here, although the whole table said the same about their meals as well, so would anticipate that all of the evening meals were exceptional.

A full and varied breakfast catering to all tastes was on offer the following more before we checked out and headed onwards.

Great location, amazing staff, I would highly recommend this establishment if you are looking for an airport location and the ease of the Gautrain to get into town.

Thank you to all who made the stay so easy.

Room Tip: They all seem to be well thought out and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Good Morning Sarah H and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we managed to leave you with so many great memories. Yes, the tripple glazzing on the windows makes a big difference and ensures some well needed peace and quiet. Thank you for the food and beverage feedback as well - I will pass onto the Chef and F&B Manager. Hope you'll be able to visit us soon again - looking forward to it. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I travelled Joburg in may 2012
Location: Just opposite to the airport, cross the road at the exit and you are there.
Food: Nice would say nothing great but not bad at all
Staff: quite friendly, helpful courteous
Overall: Little expensive but nice comfortable stay.
Surely Recommended :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Good Evening JVarun and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Spent Mother's Day weekend at the hotel and was pleasantly surprised by superb service, amazing food and relaxing spa treatments. There was a variety of things to eat. The heated pool was my son's favorite. We had amazing views of planes taking of and landing from the gym and our room. Sound proof rooms meant that you could enjoy the view without the noise coming from the airport. At night the Quills restaurant is a peaceful place to eat and relax. The staff were attentive and friendly. Mr Rajen Govender, the manager on duty at the time ensured that we had a comfortable stay and offered useful advise to help make our stay even more pleasant. We will definitely return to get away from the hustle of our busy lives. Thanks for going the extra mile Mr R Govender and to the staff on duty, that waited on us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnsuyaMaharajh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Good Afternoon AnsuyaMaharajh and Thank You so much for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I have personally passed a copy of your review to Rajen Govender - our Deputy General Manager. He sends his kind regards and we hope that it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well, and best wishes, regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,030 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Property: InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Address: 68.7 metres from International Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2015 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2015, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing