We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality convenient but very expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good quality convenient but very expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We Stayed one night before catching a domestic flight the next day.

Very convenient location just in front of the airport, it is a 5 stars hotel so rooms are to a very high standard. Very comfortable huge bed, large bathroom with shower and bath, separated toilet. Very quiet at night, efficient air conditioned .Pleasant small heated pool, slightly salty, we enjoyed it a lot to relax after a long flight .

The door of our fridge didn't close properly so drinks was not too cold. Carpet got a large red stain near the table.We didn't take breakfast at the hotel due to our early domestic flight.

But it is really too much expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexperry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Good Evening alexperry2013 and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. We are pleased to read that you really enjoyed your time with us and found our facilities and services to your satisfaction. Please note that the pool is a salt water pool and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed it. We hope it won't be too long before your next stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    308
    55
    17
    8
See reviews for
220
480
117
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

When I am in cities with the Intercontinental Hotel I always try and stay there. You will not find a better accommodation then the Intercontinental.

Great food lively environment and great staff here at the JNB airport hotel.

I tried out city lodge as well which is right next door which is not shabby but the Intercontinental knocks it's socks off.

If you have a choice experience this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinablue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Good Evening Carolinablue26 and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post some feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Enjoy the weekend, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We used this hotel just to have a shower and breakfast before heading to the office after a 12 hour flight.

It is literally in front of the airport - took us literally 2 minutes to get there.

Breakfast was good and the room seemed quite decent too. Wifi worked fine with no issues.

We didn't sleep, so can't pass judgment on the quality of sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Good Evening Amit H and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. Yes, we do have quite a few guests that use us for what we call "day use" like yourselves. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your short time with us and hopefully next time you will be able to sleep over. Keep well and Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our trip: we stayed 1 night after a long haul flight before catching a domestic flight the next day.
Our room: we stayed in the basic king room - a deluxe room I think. It was well appointed and well maintained though in style terms a little dated. The bed was extremely comfortable.
The hotel: lovely public areas. The standout feature was the hotel's proximity to the airport terminal - a couple of minutes walk.
The service: very friendly and efficient.
Other comments: breakfast was excellent - great range and good quality. Room service dinner was very ordinary (it is very difficult to get a basic hamburger wrong, but it was awful - completely undercooked with cold fries). The other dinner we ordered at the same time was barely acceptable. The pool is warm and pleasant, though very small and more of a large spa really.
The cost: very pricey for the standard of the hotel but you get the great benefit of location.
Overall: we'd stay there again, but wander over to the terminal for dinner next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rqf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Good Evening rqf55 and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us overall and apologise for the hamburger experience. Our hamburger is actually a signature dish, in that its hugely oversized and more than enough for 2 guests - but hopefully we can rectify this experience on your next stay. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

If one needs a place to overnight between flights you'll not do better than the Intercon. Just a very short stroll from the terminal building, there's no hassle with taxis.
Of course, one pays for the convenience but the rooms are good, comfortable and contain everything needed. Food in the restaurant is very good and the service charming.
Efficient WiFi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Good Eveneing Hasherd and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. Our buidling is tripple glazed and thus the great sound proofing that you experienced, even though we are only 68.7 meters from the airport. We also recently temporarily upgraded our internet offering and are receiving favourable feedback - so lets we can get it permanently installed. All the best for the week ahead, regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Not a whole lot more to add to my last review of this hotel from a year ago, other than this hotel has established itself as being consistently exceptional. It simply can't be beat after a long flight. 25% more expensive than the Other IC in JoBurg, but when you stagger out of the airport after 36 hours of air travel, NOTHING beats a 2 minute check-in to a perfect hotel room. (Plus a cold Castle delivered to your room).

One of my favorite IC properties on earth.
Bravo.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank airmotive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Good Evening airmotive and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback is truly wonderful and we sincerely Thank You for this kind review. Hope it won't be another year before your next visit. Keep well and all the best for the week ahead. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice in the past 2 months, and will definitely stay again.

The hotel is just a 4 or 5 minute walk from arrivals, and maybe 7- 8 mins from departures, so is exceptionally convenient. Note that when you arrive the signs will send you down an escalator, under a tunnel and back up another escalator - it is quicker to walk straight outside and cross the area where the cars drop off/collect than go down and up. It seems very safe to walk around there. There is a general tendency of people to talk to you at that airport, but as SA is not considered that safe I just ignore everyone and carry on - never seems to have caused a problem

Check in has always been swift and pleasant - they recognise status on Priority Club and on both occasions got a great upgrade to a corner room.

Rooms are very plush - iPod docks, very modern, nice bathrooms, comfy beds.

Restaurant was ok. I only did dinner there once, but staff were exceptionally friendly. I had a soup and salad and it was great.

Overall, nothing much to complain about and a top quality hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Good Evening damamdro and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. Yes, you are correct, the signage does direct you under the road and back up the other side. This was done in order to prevent any of our guests from having to deal with the vehicles / pedestrian crossing. However if you are comfortable, yes, you can just walk straight out the arrivals hall - and accross the road - 68.7 meters and you're at our front door. Great to see that we left you with so many great memories as that's what its all about for us. Looking forward to your next stay - keep well, kind regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
0.6 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Property: InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Address: 68.7 metres from International Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2011 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2008, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing