We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Within walking distance of the airport. Very good service and clean/modern rooms. We have held a conference there and the amenities were outstanding. It is a very convenient location for those traveling in and out of J'oburg. Would highly recommend for business and family stays.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADMNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Good Evening ADMNG and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and that your conference was a success. Hope it won't be too long before your next visit - regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stated at this hotel having arrived on an overnight flight from London, before our connecting flight the following day. The hotel is directly opposite the arrivals hall ( despite this, we did not hear any aircraft noise). Although we arrived prior to checkin, our room was ready for us. Both the room and public areas of the hotel were of a high standard. We made use of the hotel gym which was better than the majority of hotel gyms we have previously used. We also made use of the spa, the treatments were second to none and very reasonably priced. The hotel has a very nice bar with great cocktails. we were slightly disappointed with the food at dinner, which was not bad, just not to the same standard of the rest of our experience. However breakfast was excellent as was the service throughout. We would definitely recommend this hotel if you need to stay at the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobandHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Good Afternoon BobandHannah and Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologise for only comming back to you now, as we were not aware that someone had created a duplicate listing for our hotel on Trip Advisor - so whilst we were attending to our main page, there were guests posting reviews on the duplicate page, that we were not aware of. All resolved now - merged - and a sincere apology for only replying now. You'll also be pleased to hear that we have introduced a new dinner menu since your last visit. Come try it out. Thank you once again, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

If I were to write a pro/con list for this hotel the con side would be empty. During our recent 3 week vacation in Africa, hubby and I stayed at this hotel twice; once when making a connection into Mozambique and once when South African Airlines put us up there after their late flight made us miss our connection to Capetown. Both nights were great. Yes, it is literally only yards from arrivals. Put your luggage on a cart and wheel it over. When you leave there will be a luggage cart just outside of the lobby for you to load up and take back to the airport. It is super quiet. No noise, no airplanes, no air conditioners, nothing. Amazing, being so close to the airport. The bed linens and pillows were very comfy and soft. There was tons of water pressure in the shower, and the water temperature stayed constant. The restaurant/bar was nice, it even has an enjoyable outdoor eating area. The included breakfast was really good, you could eat from the buffet or order off the menu. The staff in the hotel and restaurant were helpful and friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again at the Intercontinental, or to recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoeycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Good Afternoon Zoeycat and Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologise for only comming back to you now, as we were not aware that someone had created a duplicate listing for our hotel on Trip Advisor - so whilst we were attending to our main page, there were guests posting reviews on the duplicate page, that we were not aware of. All resolved now - merged - and a sincere apology for only replying now. Thank you once again, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

very convenient if you are in transit for a night only. No need for a taxi, just walk from the arrival into the lobby and out the next morning. Perfect!

The hotel and rooms are everything you would expect from a 5* hotel - including the room rates.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sascha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Good Morning Sascha K and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. Yes, 68.7 meters from the International arrivals hall to our front door - no stress. Hope it won't be too long before your next visit - keep well !! Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a night before heading on a backpacking trip through South Africa and Swaziland. What an amazing hotel! The staff and service were amazing! Highly recommended to anyone traveling to Johannesburg! One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in! The Venison Tenderloin is highly recommended in the restaurant!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nfriesen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Good Afternoon nfreisen1 and Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologise for only comming back to you now, as we were not aware that someone had created a duplicate listing for our hotel on Trip Advisor - so whilst we were attending to our main page, there were guests posting reviews on the duplicate page, that we were not aware of. All resolved now - merged - and a sincere apology for only replying now. Thank you once again, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Cant be any closer to the airport with a short stroll to check in, complimentary drink and towel and nothing is too hard.
Fantastic whisper quiet rooms, indoor pool overlooking the airport, wonderful massages, nice restaurant and excellent gourmet breakfast buffet. Made the mistake of staying at the Emperors Palace once before but never again.
Best Airport Hotel I have ever stayed at and I have been to many!
I will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perthguy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Good Evening Perthguy6 and Thank You so much for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback in Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are humbled by your feedback and so pleased to read that we left you with such a great memory of your stay with us. Keep well, Enjoy the Weekend and we hope you'll be back soon. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here for a short trip to Johannesburg, i could walk from the airport terminal to the hotel, it is just across the street from the terminal building. The rooms are large, new and clean. The price is on the high side but that is expected for the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rami O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Good Morning Rami O and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. Yes 68.7 meters from the International arrivals hall to our front door and we offer a free meet and great service for all our guests - subject to prior arrangment as well. Thank you once again and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,254 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.0 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Address: Opposite Int'l Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $292 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2015 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2015, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing