We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Airport Hotel in the WORLD? I think so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Cant be any closer to the airport with a short stroll to check in, complimentary drink and towel and nothing is too hard.
Fantastic whisper quiet rooms, indoor pool overlooking the airport, wonderful massages, nice restaurant and excellent gourmet breakfast buffet. Made the mistake of staying at the Emperors Palace once before but never again.
Best Airport Hotel I have ever stayed at and I have been to many!
I will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perthguy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Good Evening Perthguy6 and Thank You so much for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback in Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are humbled by your feedback and so pleased to read that we left you with such a great memory of your stay with us. Keep well, Enjoy the Weekend and we hope you'll be back soon. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

820 - 826 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here for a short trip to Johannesburg, i could walk from the airport terminal to the hotel, it is just across the street from the terminal building. The rooms are large, new and clean. The price is on the high side but that is expected for the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rami O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Good Morning Rami O and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. Yes 68.7 meters from the International arrivals hall to our front door and we offer a free meet and great service for all our guests - subject to prior arrangment as well. Thank you once again and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

An overnight stay en route home after an Xmas/New Year trip to Mozambique and Zimbabwe was extended when my wife was admitted to hospital for spinal surgery. The care, consideration and compassion of all the staff who became aware of the situation was outstanding. I particularly want to highlight the exceptional Concierge team, Gosiame, Thapi, Katlego, Shylee, Michelle and Annisha, who went way beyond any expectations I could have had regarding support from the hotel. They are a credit to the hotel and I observed in their interactions with other guests that their primary concern is always to strive to meet the needs of the customers.

The Intercontinental is a great facility with very comfortable rooms, excellent cuisine a beautiful top floor spa and gym, and its just across the road from the airport terminal. However, it is people who make the difference and the hotel team, especially the Concierge ladies, could not have done more to help me during a particularly difficult time. Great for an overnight stay between flights but also caters for the longer stay with all necessary comforts. Highly recommended and I shall certainly stay any time I am in Johannesburg.

Room Tip: The corner executive rooms are spacious, very well appointed and good value for a longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di_and_Ken_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Good Afternoon Di_ and_Ken_11 and Thank you for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent - extended - stay with us. We were so pleased to hear when your wife was finally released from hospital and you could continue your travels. Its never fun to be traveling and then have to deal with an unexpected hospitalization of a loved one. But over all - I know the team looked after your every need and were genuinely concerned with your well being. All turned out well and we hope to see you in the not too distant future for another visit - but without any hospitals. Enjoy the weekend, regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have always looked at others comments on Trip Advisor to aid my holiday decisions but this is the first hotel that I have wanted to tell the world about!!
The customer service was fantastic, catering to our every need.
The food was amazing, and the reccomendations of any local dishes were very worthwhile trying and added to the experience.
We stayed at the hotel for 5 days and even though the hotel is located next to the airport, the rooms were extremely quiet.
Even though there is not an outdoor pool on the site, the hotel provides a free shuttle to their sister hotel which is only 5 minutes away, where you can use a outdoor pool complimentary.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33Serendipity777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Good Evening 33Serendipity777 and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback in Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to read that you really enjoyed your time with us and that we managed to leave you with so many wonderful memories. We do have our own indoor pool, heated, located on the 8th floor of the hotel - as an outdoor pool would just not be possible - 68.7meters from an International Airport. However as you mention, if you would like to swim - open air - we can easily assist with a transfer to our sister hotel less than 1 Km down the road. Hope it won't be too long before your next visit, keep well, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Arrived after midnight, staff was very attentive, could still order room service, room meets high standards typical of an intercontinental, very clean, got wake up call when needed and walked back across the street (not really even a street, it's the road you would drive on to drop someone at the terminal) and caught my flight the next morning. Internet was good, too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Good Morning Cindyeo and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. We are pleased to read that enjoyed your time with us and that it was so convenient. All the best for 2014 and I hope we will see you soon again. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This was my second stay at the Intercontinental OR Tambo, and I was as impressed as I was on the first stay. If you are using it as an overnight before or after a flight, the location and proximity to the airport simply cannot be beaten. Unlike a lot of airport hotels, there are no shuttles to bother with and the walk from the terminal can be measured in paces and not meters. It’s excellent from that standpoint.

Beyond its location, the hotel offers a compact size, with enough rooms but not so many that it overwhelms. The restaurant and bar are opened round-the-clock, so, no matter what time-zone your body thinks it is in, a meal awaits. Staff are friendly, helpful, and glad to lend a hand.

This property gets an extra TripAdvisor dot from me, half of which is for the extra help the concierge offered and the other half is because I was able to get an excellent meal at one in the morning, after the long journey from The States.

I highly recommend the Intercontinental at OR Tambo and look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Good Morning QlobeTrotter and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. Yes, its 68.7 meters from the arrivals hall to our lobby. Absolute convenience and hassel free. We can even send a porter to the airport arrivals hall to meet you on arrival, if requested, to assist with all that luggage. We are so pleased to read that you really enjoyed your time with us and that we exceeded your expectations. Looking forward to your next visit and all the best for 2014. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Rooms were good but were charged for every little thing. Even when I picked up a chocolate to check the ingredients there was a sensor under it which automatically charged my account, the sensor was on each and every item in the fridge. At the time of checkout we had to argue with the staff to get the charge waived. The breakfast was average.
Will try to look for other options next time unless I have to given the proximity to the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Good Morning Swinder S and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. Its unfortunate to read that you did not enjoy your time with us - but I can assure you that this is definately not the norm and we value your feedback. The Mini Bar system or "Honour Bar" as we call it - is fully automatic - and yes if you remove items from the fridge just to look at them - it does charge, but only after 20 seconds. If requested we have spare fridges that can be placed in the room for guests that need to store for example medicine. On check out, we handle any queries in a matter of a few minutes and often take the guests on their "Honour" in order to resolve any queries later. Our intention is not to delay anyone. We update our breakfast offering frequently and we are about to do so again, so if you visit us in the future, which we hope you do, you will see a different offering again. And please remember that we welcome any off menu requests - with pleasure. Keep well and enjoy the rest of your weekend. Regards Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,333 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.0 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
1.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Address: Opposite Int'l Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $275 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2015 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2015, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing