We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel at the airport - indeed the ONLY one!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best hotel at the airport - indeed the ONLY one!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Many of the hotels listed as being close to Johannesburg OR Airport might physically be close but they all suffer the same downside - you have to rely on a shuttle bus there and back at set times which means you are pretty much stuck out at the hotel. The Intercontinental is quite literally two minutes from the Arrivals Hall. That's not all it has to offer - the rooms are spacious, beautifully appointed with all that you need for your stay. The indoor pool on the top floor is superb as is the associated spa. The food (at the restaurant and in-room dining) was very good and wide-ranging and served well by the small bar. The breakfast - buffet and a la carte - offered a wonderful selection and the staff were extremely attentive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CfabEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Good Evening CfabEdinburgh and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. Yes, 68,7 meters, is all that stands between the airport arrivals hall and our front door. No taxis, no maps - and clear signage within the airport on how to get to our hotel. Your feedback is truly appreciated, and I can see that you managed to visit quite a few of our outlets or services. I hope you will enjoy the rest of your travels and wish you all the best for 2014. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    316
    55
    19
    8
See reviews for
229
500
120
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This was my third stay in a month as I regularly have to stay overnight due to connecting flights.

The hotel is certainly one of the best I have stayed at in a long time. The staff, from check-in to check-out, are second to none and my Intercontinental Ambassador status is always recognised. I've always been upgraded to a corner executive room because of my status. These are very quiet (no room-to-room noise and minimal from outside, even from the airport!), very spacious (probably more like a junior suite in some hotels) and very comfortable, just ideal for a long layover.

The restaurant is excellent with a great selection and very reasonably priced. The bar is great as well, especially after a long flight! My only tiny complaint is that some of the tables are not that comfortable to sit at - the table legs are at 45degrees to the table top, so it can be awkward sitting at them. But that is just a very minor issue!

Location-wise, the Intercontinental at OR Tambo Airport cannot be better... only a couple of minutes walk from the arrivals hall. There isn't an underground passage between the airport and hotel, but on departure, one of the porters, armed with an umbrella, helped me with my luggage over to the terminal as it was pouring rain!

If this hotel was city centre in say the US, UK or Europe, it would certainly be one of the best hotels in town!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forthill81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Good Afternoon Forthill81 and Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologise for only comming back to you now, as we were not aware that someone had created a duplicate listing for our hotel on Trip Advisor - so whilst we were attending to our main page, there were guests posting reviews on the duplicate page, that we were not aware of. All resolved now - merged - and a sincere apology for only replying now. You will also be pleased to know that our interior designer is busy looking at those Restaurant tables right now - so they are soon going to change. Thank you once again, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel is a 2 minute walk outside the airport terminal. The rooms were spacious and clean, the hotel dining is also quite nice, it is also open 24/7. They have a nice spa, gym and small heated pool that was busy with guests while we were there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Good Morning Jamie F and Thank You taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Enjoy the rest of the Festive Holidays, regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for two days, love the ambiance and the foods. Bit pricey but worth it. I'll recommend this hotel to my friends and colleagues. Will definitely stay in this hotel on my next trip to Joburg.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousTravellerOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Good Evening Anonymous Traveller OZ and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. Thank You for the positive feedback, and we trust it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well and enjoy the weekend, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Across street from international arrivals at the airport in Johannesburg. Get your bags and just walk over. Restaurant open 24/7. Rooms good. Biggest problem was with elevators. You put your key in and get a green light then floor number. Never worked for me and at least one other passenger who went to my floor and walked down one. I had to get front desk to make it work every time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyflyer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Good Evening Happyflyer45 and Thank You for taking a few minutes to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. Thank you for the feedback regarding the security on our lifts. We take security very seriously and the lift access is just one of many controls to ensure the safety of our guests. Have a great evening further, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The above is not an exaggeration.
This hotel is a) right outside the terminal - 2 minutes walk at most
b) genuinely 5 star e.g. separate shower and bath, dvd player, 24 hour room service

If you need to stopover in Joburg for any reason this is so much better than any other choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Good Evening CurlyHongKong and Thank You so much for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding our lovely hotel. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Have a good evening, Regards Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed overnight after a long flight from North America and before leaving for a Safari. Excellent location, a 2-3 minute walk from the terminal doors. Friendly service, big clean rooms and an excellent breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Montreal1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Good Morning robert1283 and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding our lovely hotel - much appreciated. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Safe journey further, regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Property: InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Address: 68.7 metres from International Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2011 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2008, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing