We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and very good for an airport hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Convenient and very good for an airport hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've stayed in this property multiple times over the past year while enroute to other locations in Africa. It's the perfect choice for those arriving on an international flight and wanted to rest up/sleep prior to transiting onward. The location can't be beat: immediately across the street from the international arrivals hall. The walk is easy, well marked and safe. The hotel has always been extremely accommodating with special requests (early/late checkin/out, room choices, etc) and the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are over-all of a fairly high standard and clean--however showing a bit of wear here and there. Only downside is it's a bit pricey for what it is: you're paying for the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRDB9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Good Evening MRDB9 and Thank You for taking a few minutes to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding our lovely hotel. We are pleased that we you enjoyed your time with us and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    308
    55
    17
    8
See reviews for
220
477
116
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The convenience in terms of proximity to the airport is unmatched. I arrived late at night from a delayed flight from cape town, and I was at the hotel in 5 minutes. The room beautifully furbished. the service impeccable - from reception, to bell staff, to concierge and restaurants. as a woman travelling alone on business in a foreign country, I felt comfortable, safe, and well taken care of.
A bit pricy compared to other standard business hotels. but I guess you save on taxis to/fron the airport...:-)

Room Tip: its literally at the airport so the view or noise are not really anything to negotiate. I think. I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManaYellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Good Afternoon ManaYellin and Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologise for only comming back to you now, as we were not aware that someone had created a duplicate listing for our hotel on Trip Advisor - so whilst we were attending to our main page, there were guests posting reviews on the duplicate page, that we were not aware of. All resolved now - merged - and a sincere apology for only replying now. Thank you once again, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here in August 2013. Excellent visit. The staff are friendly and attentive, the property is lovely, and the location is extremely convenient (a short walk from airport door to hotel door). Room service food was also very good. I have stayed at several InterContinentals and have always been satisfied but this one is my definite favorite!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Good Evening Catherine517 and Thank You for taking just a few minutes to post some feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. Really appreciated. Yes, 68.7 meters from the arrivals hall to our front door - could not be more convenient. Keep well and enjoy the weekend. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
196 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed here on a recommendation. They are located just across the street from the OR Tambo terminal, which made in&out of the airport a breeze. Most inbound flights arrive in the morning and the hotel was very accommodating with my early check-in. The staff was sharp and attentive and got me into my room quickly. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. They brought up a basket of fruit at one point during the stay and kept a regular supply of bottled water coming in. Given the proximity to the airport, I did not hear a single airplane outside and from the 6th floor, I could watch a lightning storm come in (see photo). I did spend a few nights in the room and had the room service which was prompt, hot and tasty - all at a reasonable price. The proof lies in whether I would stay there again, and I absolutely would.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldtoothedvillains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Good Eevning Goldtoothedvillians and Thank You for taking a few minutes to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. Probably the most interesting online name I have seen in quite some time. Great photo of the lightening and Thank You for the great feedback. We are pleased to read that we left you with so many great memories and even better to hear that you will be back in due course. Looking forward to welcoming you back - Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is steps from the airport. Staff is friendly and helpful. Room was a little compact but clean and very comfortable. The restaurant is outstanding. Dinner was of excellent quality and for meat eaters you must try the springbok. Will definitely overnight here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lwood_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Good Evening Lwood_23 and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful time with us - especially the dining experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Have a great evening, regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel regularly and it has never failed to please. The location after a long haul flight is great but it is the staff members that really make the place. Everyone is friendly and helpful, for example on this stay the concierge knew my name without us having met. Quills Restaurant has a new Executive Chef since our last stay and the food was really good for dinner and the breakfast has always been fantastic. I have always found Ambassador recognition here to be the best of any IC hotel I have stayed at. Rooms are extremely comfortable and have essentially been the same for some years but given the clever African art and design touches have really stood the test of time. Spa on the top floor was also wonderful.

Room Tip: I do not believe there is a bad room at the hotel, the views from any floor are pretty much the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Good Evening Ross Y and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - really appreciated. We are pleased to read that we left you with so many wonderful memories and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Enjoy the rest of the weekend, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

If the Intercontinental isn't a perfect airport hotel, it comes very, very close. Only steps from the airport, with helpful staff. Our room was well-equipped and very comfortable. To top it off, the restaurant was surprisingly good, both for dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Good Evening KenCC and Thank You so much for taking a few minutes to post feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your feedback humbles us and we Thank You sincerely for your kind words. We hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well and enjoy the weekend - Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
1.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Property: InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Address: 68.7 metres from International Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2011 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2008, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing