We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property- but business like feel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great property- but business like feel”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a very clean, nice hotel located on the grounds of the OR tambo airport. Easy to walk to from the airport and a great overnight stay. It is a business traveler like hotel. Very fancy and clean. Great service that is very friendly and helpful.

It is pricey, but you are paying for the location and easy access.

The rooms are surprisingly spacious and the bathrooms are huge. Showers and tubs are nice. Separate toilet from the shower area. Nice TV and beds. Comfortable beds and linens.

Service was exceptional.

The restaurant was great. Dinner was amazing and breakfast was very good. Water is provided in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Good Morning Stephen H and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. Thank you for the postive feedback and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep Well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    331
    57
    19
    8
See reviews for
241
518
124
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

In writing this review I am conscious that this is an airport hotel and am therefore writing it with that in mind. I have stayed in a few airport hotels and they have, until this point, had a particular (rather impersonal and transitory) feel; the Intercontinental somehow seems to transcend this standard. The rooms were very good and there is a very good restaurant (crocodile broth is recommended).

Previous airport hotel experiences have been a rather bland experience - not so with this excellent hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Romulus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Good Evening Romulus66 and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post feedback regarding our lovely hotel on Trip Advisor. Its a pleasure to reach such wonderful and honest feedback and its truly appreciated. Enjoy the rest of the weekend, and I hope it won't be too long before your next stay. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I am a well seasoned traveller who has stayed in many hotels around the world on both business and leisure travel. Recently, my wife and I had to have two one night stays in the period of 5 days at the Intercontinental Johannesburg Airport Hotel. What an absolute gem this property is in all respects. Firstly it is only about a 100 metre walk from the airport terminal building so no struggling with luggage on and off shuttle buses! Secondly, the rooms are superbly appointed with great beds and with absolutely no noise from the adjacent airport. Thirdly, and most importantly, every member of staff offered a superb level of service to the extent it was probably amongst the best I have ever encountered and that includes some pretty swish Japanese hotels renowned for fine levels of service. The bell boys, concierge, reception desk, housekeeping staff, room service staff and restaurant staff were all brilliant and made what we thought was just going to be 'another transit stopover' very memorable. The gym and pool facilities were fantastic as was the breakfast buffet. The huge and delicious birthday cake that awaited my wife (totally unexpected) was the final piece of this fine jigsaw that fell into place. I would use this hotel every time I went to Jo'burg whether in transit or actually staying in the city. It is a rare find.

Room Tip: We had a room right opposite the elevator on the 6th floor for one night and far from the elevator o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Good Evening Garry M and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post such wonderful feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. We aim to leave all our guests with wonderful memories and I am pleased to read that we left you with quite a few. I hope it won't be too long before you next visit. Keep well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safwa, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is my second stay in the airport intercon, if you have nothing to do in Joburg and only need to go back to the airport the next day to catch a flight, then it can't be more convenient! After a long flight, a long time inside the airport, you are literally 5 minutes away from your comfy bed inside the hotel. I see the prices a bit high but I still won't mind that bearing in mind that I really don't need to go beyond the hotel premises while waiting for my next day flight! The staff are so friendly and would surely prefer this hotel if I am in need again to wait for a night in Joburg!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Good Evening Malnaser and Thank You for taking the time to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. Yes, 68.7 meters is all the distance you have to cover - between the arrivals hall and our front door. Really convinient. Absolutely stress free. Keep well and I hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We landed in Johannesburg after our great Emirates flight from New York (via Dubai), and took the short 3 minute walk to the entrance if is airport hotel. The InterContinental here sets the bar for all airport hotels. From the doormen that greet you, the warm reception staff and then the rooms. They are a true 5 star property, but also at the airport! All the amenities you expect to have in your room are there, including on the TV the flight arrivals and departures information at your fingertips. They have a great restaurant called Quills, which as a variety of South African dishes along with what we now as American food to choose from. A great wine list t choose some great South African Pinotage wines from. Then the next day, a simple walk back to catch your onward flights after a restful night.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room as they are slightly anger than their luxury rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Good Evening Aussielan and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to read that you had a great time with us and that we managed to leave you with so many wonderful memories. Hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well, kind regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A clean and quiet hotel built for the traveller who treasures their time in comfort and style even at the unfortunate flight cancellation, is jet-lagged and needs a night's rest or just sheer convenience for leisure/business. Being Intercontinental hotel, my expectations are always high and when they are exceeded, as happened here, the enjoyment and memory is lasting. Great staff with an accommodative disposition, wonderful welcome and the treat (member welcoming) was definately surprising. You would think the planes would be disturbing-no, didn't even know I was at an airport and enjoyed both the comfortable bed and the good breakfast. Requests and help were all done timeously, and the atmosphere is a business one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stapha61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Good Evening Stapha61 and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post feedback regarding our lovely hotel - appreciated. It was great to read that we left you with some wonderful memories and even exceeded your expectations - that's absolutely great and we could not have aimed for more. Hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Given our itinerary, airport was a comfortable location and I was a bit suspecious about the hotel. But,the staff ensured that we were well taken care from the moment we came out of the airport to the departure.

+ Smooth checkin, very nice room with good assortment of teas and cofee (incl nespresso)
+ Good standard gym for a busines hotel
+ Chef took personal care to ensure that we were happy with the breakfast and accomodated the customised requests
+ Room service was very good and responsive, a couple of requests were met with timely and accurate service (iron, water etc)

What is not so good:
+ Swimming pools is very small
+ Steam room in mens changing room was not very nice either

Having said that a very good business hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gupta_subodh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Good Evening gupta_subodh and Thank You for taking the time to post feedback regarding our lovely hotel on Trip Advisor. I trust that your suspicions were put at ease, and you came to see that we are quality hotel in the OR Tambo node. I hope we will see you soon again, keep well, kind regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.0 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Property: InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Address: Opposite Int'l Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2015 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2015, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing