We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,532)
Filter reviews
1,533 results
Traveler rating
1,056
376
69
24
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,056
376
69
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquills restaurantnespresso machinetop floorlong flightinternational arrivalsarrivals hallexecutive roommain terminaltambo airportnext morninghour flightyour luggagesouth africaroom servicebetween flightsbaggage claimterminal building
Filter
Updating list...
1,070 - 1,075 of 1,533 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel has everything right...please don't change anything. First of all the basics, ie. the things that all hotels should do well:
1. beds: fantastically comfortable with marvellous pillows (selection). I prefer this bed to mine at home and mine is a top-end bed bought in the USA;
2. showers: large and powerful. None of those water-restricted dribblers you get so many places.
3. customer service: first class. These guys all make you feel welcome. The bell boys will take your luggage all the way to the airport check in! The staff welcomed us back and played with our 2 year old son. They were all so warm and welcoming and willing to do what it takes to make your stay great.
4. great food: breakfast, lunch and dinner are all excellent!
5. indoor pool with amazing views on the top floor.

Combine this with the most conveniently located hotel in Joburg as it is attached to the airport and Gautrain train station, this hotel can't be beaten. And there is a fabulous spa on the top floor.

We'll never stay anywhere else in Joburg. It's fantastic!

Room Tip: North facing rooms have great balconies.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlHackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Good Morning Mr KarlHackett and Thank You so much for your wonderful posting on Trip Advisor - wow - you have truly been complimentary - and I am so appreciative of this positive feedback. This really goes a long way in giving all my team members an extra bounce in their step - Thank you. I hope we will see you soon again, and look forward to leaving you with more great memories. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a very convenient hotel if you are on transit to other countries in the region or other cities within South Africa or if you are catching an early morning flight to whatever destination and you dont want to be caught up in Johannesburg traffic or simply relaxing after a long haul flight. The service is good and like all airport hotels it is a bit on the pricey side as you are paying for the convenience of a few steps to the check in counters. I liked the amenities, it does help that there is a spa where you could while away time whilst you wait for your flight.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nkuli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Good Morning Nkuli M and Thank You for taking the time to post feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. Trust all is well in PE this morning. Yes, you've hit the nail on the head - convenience !!. No taxi's, no transfers, nothing - just 68.7 meters of pathway. I see you also noted our new refurbed Spa area - I hope you had some time to enjoy a treatment. Trust it won't be long before you next visit, keep well, regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Location, amenities, service--all flawless. Particularly the service! Reception sent their porter to the terminal with me & my luggage cart because I wasn't sure just where to go. Well worth the extra money!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Good Morning Sandra C and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding our hotel - really appreciated. I see you made use of our Meet & Greet service which is available both from the Airport to the hotel and back again - a great convinience. Keep well and hope to see you soon again, regards Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night coming from Atlanta on our way to hunt in Namibia....we literally got our suitcases and walked across the way from the airport to a glorious hotel....we were so grateful for the convenience and everything else.....What a wonderful way to transition from a 16-hour flight from the U.S. - we will always stay here again when landing to go off to another point in Africa.....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Good Afternoon Globetrotter74 and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor, regarding our lovely hotel - Thank You. We are pleased to read that you had a lovely time with us, and hope it won't be too long, before your next visit. Keep well, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

One would not expect to get good service at an airport hotel, especially if staying there simply because of connections. Well, we not only get good service but EXCELLENT service. The hotel is conveniently located across the street from the terminal. We stayed there twice during a recent safari to Africa and were extremely pleased with everything. Highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnySAN223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Good Evening SunnySAN223 and Thank You for the wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. Yes, we are not a normal airport hotel, but rather one that takes pride in our product, our team and most of all our guests. Thank you for the positive comments - they really go a long way to motivating us even further along our journey and purpose of creating great memories for our guests. Keep well and enjoy the rest of the weekend. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews