We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,536)
Filter reviews
1,536 results
Traveler rating
1,058
377
69
24
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,058
377
69
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquills restaurantnespresso machinetop floorlong flightinternational arrivalsarrivals hallexecutive roommain terminaltambo airportnext morninghour flightyour luggagesouth africaroom servicebetween flightsbaggage claimterminal building
Filter
Updating list...
1,074 - 1,079 of 1,536 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Location, amenities, service--all flawless. Particularly the service! Reception sent their porter to the terminal with me & my luggage cart because I wasn't sure just where to go. Well worth the extra money!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Good Morning Sandra C and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding our hotel - really appreciated. I see you made use of our Meet & Greet service which is available both from the Airport to the hotel and back again - a great convinience. Keep well and hope to see you soon again, regards Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night coming from Atlanta on our way to hunt in Namibia....we literally got our suitcases and walked across the way from the airport to a glorious hotel....we were so grateful for the convenience and everything else.....What a wonderful way to transition from a 16-hour flight from the U.S. - we will always stay here again when landing to go off to another point in Africa.....

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Good Afternoon Globetrotter74 and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor, regarding our lovely hotel - Thank You. We are pleased to read that you had a lovely time with us, and hope it won't be too long, before your next visit. Keep well, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

One would not expect to get good service at an airport hotel, especially if staying there simply because of connections. Well, we not only get good service but EXCELLENT service. The hotel is conveniently located across the street from the terminal. We stayed there twice during a recent safari to Africa and were extremely pleased with everything. Highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnySAN223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Good Evening SunnySAN223 and Thank You for the wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. Yes, we are not a normal airport hotel, but rather one that takes pride in our product, our team and most of all our guests. Thank you for the positive comments - they really go a long way to motivating us even further along our journey and purpose of creating great memories for our guests. Keep well and enjoy the rest of the weekend. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stopped over in Johannesburg on my way to Australia. I used the Intercontinental Airport Hotel again. This is a wonderful business hotel where everything works well. It is so convenient for travellers as it is such a sort walk from the terminals. The Service is good and the food is also very good. Well worth the high cost for its convenience.

Room Tip: Book well ahead as can be very busy due to location. High rooms best.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Good Evening Peter D and Thank You for taking some time out of your day in order to post feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor - appreciated. We are pleased to read that you had a great time with us and that this was not your first stay - so welcome back - and we hope to see you in the future as well. Enjoy the rest of the weekend, regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just 50 meters from the main arrivals hall, Joburg Intercontinental offers a splendid stay over when you have to be at O Tambo airport as a hub for connecting flights. Bit expensive, as compared to the other airport hotels around, but absolutely the most convenient one. Nice rooms, with Nespresso-sets in the room, quiet, and great (in room) dining. Also friendly and highly professional staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pieter2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Good Morning Pieter2011 and Thank You for taking some time out of your busy day to post feedback on Trip Advisor, regarding your recent stay with us - really appreciated. The team and I are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that it won't be too long before you next visit. Keep well and all the best for the week ahead. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews