We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,535)
Filter reviews
1,535 results
Traveler rating
1,057
377
69
24
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,057
377
69
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquills restaurantnespresso machinetop floorlong flightinternational arrivalsarrivals hallexecutive roommain terminaltambo airportnext morninghour flightyour luggagesouth africaroom servicebetween flightsbaggage claimterminal building
Filter
Updating list...
1,075 - 1,080 of 1,535 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

One would not expect to get good service at an airport hotel, especially if staying there simply because of connections. Well, we not only get good service but EXCELLENT service. The hotel is conveniently located across the street from the terminal. We stayed there twice during a recent safari to Africa and were extremely pleased with everything. Highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnySAN223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Good Evening SunnySAN223 and Thank You for the wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. Yes, we are not a normal airport hotel, but rather one that takes pride in our product, our team and most of all our guests. Thank you for the positive comments - they really go a long way to motivating us even further along our journey and purpose of creating great memories for our guests. Keep well and enjoy the rest of the weekend. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stopped over in Johannesburg on my way to Australia. I used the Intercontinental Airport Hotel again. This is a wonderful business hotel where everything works well. It is so convenient for travellers as it is such a sort walk from the terminals. The Service is good and the food is also very good. Well worth the high cost for its convenience.

Room Tip: Book well ahead as can be very busy due to location. High rooms best.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Good Evening Peter D and Thank You for taking some time out of your day in order to post feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor - appreciated. We are pleased to read that you had a great time with us and that this was not your first stay - so welcome back - and we hope to see you in the future as well. Enjoy the rest of the weekend, regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just 50 meters from the main arrivals hall, Joburg Intercontinental offers a splendid stay over when you have to be at O Tambo airport as a hub for connecting flights. Bit expensive, as compared to the other airport hotels around, but absolutely the most convenient one. Nice rooms, with Nespresso-sets in the room, quiet, and great (in room) dining. Also friendly and highly professional staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pieter2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Good Morning Pieter2011 and Thank You for taking some time out of your busy day to post feedback on Trip Advisor, regarding your recent stay with us - really appreciated. The team and I are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that it won't be too long before you next visit. Keep well and all the best for the week ahead. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

There are several nice hotels adjacent to OR Tambo and I usually don't splurge when I am transiting - but on this trip I craved a little luxury. Great room, great spa and best of all? A great ba

The only complaints? The hotel was freezing - I turned the a/c off in my room and still needed to bundle up. The other? The Nespresso machine in my room did not have instructions and was like trying to operate a jet airplane - not a major issue and I could have called but...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Good Morning Anneel and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post feedback regarding your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor - most appreciated. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and it was "just what you needed" Sorry about the cold, as yes Johannesburg is firmly moving into Winter. Our aircon's do heat though and can be controled by the pad on the wall. Apologies for the coffee instructions - they are in drawer with the tea, coffee amenities - but taking your point - we will look at putting them somewhere more prominent. Thank you once again for the constructive feedback - appreciated, and looking foward to your next stay. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Landed in JHB from Windhoek and stayed overnight at Intercontinental before our next flight. The convenient location made it a hassle free stop over. The rooms were wonderful and the service was great. Breakfast was great, nice variety and staff went out of their way to assist us. We are staying over there again on our return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Good Evening Welda M and Thank You for taking some time to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well and enjoy the weekend. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews