We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed for a weekend again and once again it was a great stay. The rooms are really the best in the business. The only problem this time for me was the service in the bar/lounge area in the evening, was very slow when the bar is actually a very small area and I kept having to get up to call a waiter and when I wanted the bill, well they had to go searching for our waiter, this could really be improved as it is not a huge area to service. Other than that the hotel is superb and reception staff and breakfast staff were great.
P.S. I stayed away from the Spa as I had my worst experience there ever my last trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Good Evening Leon L and Thank You for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our rooms - appreciated. With regards to the "attentive" service in our Restaurant and Bar - I do apologise - and will ensure that we remedy the lack of speed and attention immediately. Hope to see you soon again, kind regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

938 - 944 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

Was a long-staying guest over 4-6 weeks given some work nearby, and the hotel was exceptional. Great location for the terminal + very personalized service from the staff, who got to know us and tailor services + surprise gifts based on our preferences, even if mentioned only in passing. Highly recommended if you need to be near Kempton Park or OR Tambo airport.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cottonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Good Evening Cottonian, and Thank You for the wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you with us for such an extended period of time, and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that we will have the pleasure of your company once again, in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My family and I flew into Johannesburg to catch a connecting fliglht to Botswana, and our Jacada Travel representative recommended we stay over hight at the Intercontinental. After we arrive, we picked up our bags, walked out the front door of the airport, and simply walked acrossed the street to get to the hotel. I'm talking five minutes tops! It was a very relaxing, comforting place to stay after a horrible flight! There was a little green area and garden around the outside of the hotel, with an outdoor patio and lounge area. The staff couldn't have been any more helpful and friendly, and the rooms were very comfortable. Well worth the price!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gjoopiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Good Evening Gjoopiter and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post some feedback regarding your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. We are so pleased to read about the positive experiences you had whilst staying with us and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well and enjoy the weekend, regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Arrived in the airport with an overnight stop on the way to George, a little last minute so had planned to just rough it in the airport lounges. Not possible, no lounges open, not even any benches suitable for an uncomfortable night!
Was getting late and early flight so wanted walking distance, literally 50m outside the airport entrance, a totally safe and well lit walk. Went in on the off chance and haggled the price of a room to just over half price, the beauty of late night booking in half empty hotels.
A real taste of luxury with friendly courteous staff, nothing was too much trouble and the concierge was still smiling after a beating on the price....
Would definitely use again and don't let the prices put you off......even at full rates you won't be disappointed

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Packhorsepacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Good Morning Packhorsepacker, and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post feedback regarding our lovely hotel on Trip Advisor - Thank you. I am so glad that we managed to find you a safe and comfortable place to stay over - much better than an airport bench. Hope you'll visit us again in the not too distant future. Keep well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is a couple of minutes stroll from international arrivals at OR Tambo airport.

I arrived at 22:30 from Europe and enjoyed every second of my stay at the hotel - unfortunately my connecting flight was at 8:00 the next morning, so the stay was very short but very rewarding. I paid with reward points, and even got an upgrade - which hardly ever happens when I pay, let alone using points.

Checking was very professional. The room was out of this world, and a bed to die for after a long flight. Room service was delivered very soon after ordering, was warm and tasty. The shower was fantastic!

The quality of the room was great and no external noise could be hear.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mw_dewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Good Afternoon mw_dewit and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor. Appreciated. I read that you had a great nights sleep and experienced first hand that the thick glass really keeps all the noise out. Keep well and hope it won't be too long before we see you again. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I chose the hotel just for the location as being closest to the airport on an overnight stopover before an early morning flight. Never have I got off a plane, collected luggage, travelled to hotel, checked in and got up to my room in less than 45 minutes - here it took me a staggering 15 MINUTES!!! - yes you heard right! Not only is it the perfect location for the airport - it is literally a one minute walk opposite the terminal entrance - but it is a super hotel too. Great staff, smart & stylish public areas with quite a wow factor, great restaurant and very well appointed rooms. I heartily recommend this one, just as long as you don't need to be in town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GastroBoyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Good Afternoon GastroBoyLondon and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post feedback regarding your recent tay with us. Yes, the 68.7 Meters is a real benefit and removes all that stress of transportation and trying to find your hotel. We are pleased to read that you had a great time, and look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future. Keep well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed 2 times booking Rewards rooms with Priority Club.
2 people with Royal Platinum Ambassador cards.
The first time no rooms ready.
Very little apology. Very little anything!!!
We were assured by senior management that everything would be smooth and acceptable on our return visit about a week later.
It was not, even the arrogant Hotel Manager was flapping.
Only use as a stop over for connecting flights.
If we would have had time on our side, we would have paid the Taxi fares and gone to IC in santon, a much better property.
This is the fourth time we experienced problems in 2/3 years.
Not one of IHG better Inter Con

Room Tip: A higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dkkeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Dkkeeling,

Thank you so much for your recent comments. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Most importantly, I'd like to apologize for the issues you experienced at our hotel. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.0 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Address: Opposite Int'l Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $293 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2015 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2015, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing