We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In transit THE place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Knowlton, Québec
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“In transit THE place to stay!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Nice, convenient and peaceful airport hotel. Service and staff are great, you feel very welcome. Rooms are clean, comfortable with nice design. There is Port in your room it is complimentary, on the house! After 30 hours travel to get to South Africa it is nice to relax in a quiet environnement and soak in a nice pool. After a nice night sleep, you are just few steps away to your check-in counter!

Room Tip: It is not the cheapest, but it is worth it! Check-in is fast, check-out is fast. If going on safari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Good Morning MichelAlbert and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post some feedback regarding our lovely hotel on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. Great to see that you had a wonderful time with us and glad to see that you enjoyed the complimentary Sherry that we have in our Executive Rooms. Keep well and hope to see you soon again. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    331
    57
    19
    8
See reviews for
240
517
124
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a unexpected but welcome stay at the Intercontinental when our BA flight back to London was cancelled at short notice.

Considering it was 1030pm, the Hotel Manager arranged a great room, ensured we had some food and contacted BA to ensure they were picking up the bill. Excellent service when we were both tired and annoyed at the cancellation. Even if BA had refused I would have happily paid up myself !

We have stayed at this hotel before and once again the room was superb, the food was excellent and the service spot-on. The pool on the top floor is great and has a lovely view of the airfield if you like plane spotting !

It's not cheap but well worth the stay if you have an early flight the next day. It's an ideal place for a stopover - highly recommended.

Room Tip: I have had rooms in various parts of this Hotel and they have all been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Good Morning Paul C and Thank You for taking time out of your day to post some wonderful feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. I am so happy to read that we turned an unpleasant delayed flight issue it a happy one - great news. Thank you once again and I hope your next visit won't be because of a flight issue, but rather a planned visit. Keep well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

From the moment we walked in we were treated exceptionally well. Front desk staff recognized my platinum status and we received a beautiful upgraded suite. We needed car services throughout our stay and the COncierge services and staff were outstanding.. Food in the restaurant was great as was the amazing buffet breakfast.
We needed a late checkout and it was given with a big smile
Upon leaving the bell boys brought our luggage all the way to the check in counter

An excellent experience

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Good Evening Martin M and Thank You for taking time out of your Friday to post some great feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. We are so happy to see that we left you with some wonderful memories and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a good stopover when you have flights early the next day - very easy walk from arrivals, comfortable rooms and bed. Food is just ok and nothing to write home about, but all in all if you need a stop over hotel then this is a good option.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Good Evening ClareSomewhere and Thank You for taking the time to post feedback regarding our lovely hotel on Trip Advisor. Yes, we do recieve many guests that fly out the next morning early - from a convenience point of view - its tops. Enjoy the weekend, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Although the price for a night was exceeding EUR 300 for a single room excluding breakfast, yet everything in this hotel differentiate it from other nearby properties. Service is another factor to add on to quality. I have enjoyed my one night stay, easy access to airport terminal.

Room Tip: the most important tip is that you book early, do not walk in to reception to book as internet booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherifRashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Good Afternoon SherifRashid and Thank You for taking time out of your busy day to post feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. We are pleased to see that you noted the "differentiators" from our neighbouring hotels and trust that this will continue to bring you back to our doors on each occasion. We Thank You for your patronage and look forward to your next visit. Keep well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms which you will never hear the noise of a jet even though you are at the airport. The restaurant is superb with a wide variety of menu options and wine selections. A full service spa and pool helps one relax after a long flight.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhad1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Good Evening Mahad1975 and Thank You for taking time out of your busy day to post some feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. Yes, we have really good sound proofing on the building and although we are only 68.7meters from the arrivals hall - you don't hear any planes. Great for a relaxing and peaceful stay with us. Thank you once again, and looking forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

For 2 years we had a very nice late lunch at this hotel, waiting for our flight back to Holland. The last time we went to Botswana, we booked one night at this great hotel. The service was good, the rooms, very nice, breakfast very, very nice. The location near the Airport...well thats why we booked this hotel. On our way back from Botswana, to Holland , we stayed again for our late lunch...lovely....very nice staff, very good meals....so waiting on our plain is not that bad at such a location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernaDienaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Good Evening BernaDienaar, and Thank You for taking the time to post some wonderful feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor. Really appreciated. Great to see that you stop over with us so frequently, and that we still manage to create some great memories for you. Thank you once again and looking forward to your next visit. Keep well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.0 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Property: InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Address: Opposite Int'l Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2015 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2015, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing