We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent but expensive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent but expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Although the price for a night was exceeding EUR 300 for a single room excluding breakfast, yet everything in this hotel differentiate it from other nearby properties. Service is another factor to add on to quality. I have enjoyed my one night stay, easy access to airport terminal.

Room Tip: the most important tip is that you book early, do not walk in to reception to book as internet booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SherifRashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Good Afternoon SherifRashid and Thank You for taking time out of your busy day to post feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. We are pleased to see that you noted the "differentiators" from our neighbouring hotels and trust that this will continue to bring you back to our doors on each occasion. We Thank You for your patronage and look forward to your next visit. Keep well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    308
    55
    17
    8
See reviews for
220
480
117
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms which you will never hear the noise of a jet even though you are at the airport. The restaurant is superb with a wide variety of menu options and wine selections. A full service spa and pool helps one relax after a long flight.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhad1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Good Evening Mahad1975 and Thank You for taking time out of your busy day to post some feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. Yes, we have really good sound proofing on the building and although we are only 68.7meters from the arrivals hall - you don't hear any planes. Great for a relaxing and peaceful stay with us. Thank you once again, and looking forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

For 2 years we had a very nice late lunch at this hotel, waiting for our flight back to Holland. The last time we went to Botswana, we booked one night at this great hotel. The service was good, the rooms, very nice, breakfast very, very nice. The location near the Airport...well thats why we booked this hotel. On our way back from Botswana, to Holland , we stayed again for our late lunch...lovely....very nice staff, very good meals....so waiting on our plain is not that bad at such a location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BernaDienaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Good Evening BernaDienaar, and Thank You for taking the time to post some wonderful feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor. Really appreciated. Great to see that you stop over with us so frequently, and that we still manage to create some great memories for you. Thank you once again and looking forward to your next visit. Keep well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Directly across from the airport entrance is this tranquil hotel. The restaurant serves good food and the out door seating is actually lovely considering it is right at the airport; and the sounds are muffled where ever you are in or around the hotel. The rooms are clean and the beds and pillows are very comfortable; as is the step in shower with great water pressure and easy to adjust control. I enjoyed having a large fluffy bath towel to wrap myself into afterwards. We stay in way too many airport hotels; but this one is in our top ten.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler154990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Good Evening Traveler 154990 and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post some feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor - appreciated. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope it wont be too long before your next visit. Keep well and enjoy what's left of the weekend. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Hagen, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here on a layover in J'burg. The hotel was excellent... Rooms are nice, good service all round and a nice atmosphere. The staff seem well trained, good supervisors and work hard to please guests.
Had breakfast at Quills and the food was really nice.
Only suggestion, and a small one, might be to include some maps of Pretoria, Sandton and other accessible tourist locations to give visitors some ideas and help. I used the Gautrain twice from here, once to Sandton,and once to Pretoria. Very convenient and a good way to fill in the time.

Thanks.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kruegs_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Good Evening Kruegs_10 and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. Great to read that you had a good time with us and with regards to your map feedback - we do actually have. We initiated a map mid 2012 - that not only shows in details the surround area, including Johannesburg and Pretoria, but also lists places of interest that you may want to visit. We will definately make sure that these maps are more visible. Keep well and enjoy the remainder of the weekend. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was a great hotel to spend a night in before heading off to our safari at Sabi Sabi! The hotel was modern, clean and very comfortable! This was a great place to stay and was very convenient. They had an excellent breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Good Evening Gary C and Thank You for taking the time to post some feedback regarding our hotel on trip advisor. Really appreciated. I see that you had a great time, and we appreciate your positive feedback. Yes, the Breakast selection was recently upgraded again, as we enjoy making little changes here and there, quite frequently, in order to keep it fresh and enjoyable. Have a great weekend. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
307 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I am a jaded traveller with too many experiences under my belt to be excited by hotels very much, but the Airport Intercon in Jo'burg is incredible. I had a 7th floor executive room on a corner, which was spacious and well furnished and elegant. Everything about the hotel is well done. It feels cosy and like a boutique, it is quiet and the wifi is fast (especially compared to the rest of sub Saharan Africa). The carpets are plump and soft, and the bed is a delight to sleep in. The decor is tasteful and screams "class". The staff are friendly, spontaneous and helpful, without being overly intrusive. When I checked in, I was offered a welcome drink and expected some bland fruit cocktail or a voucher for a beer. Instead the receptionist said I could have anything I wanted, even a glass of champagne!

Breakfast was delicious - I sat in the sun on the terrace eating delicious Swiss yogurt from one of those artisan style glass jars and sipping a cappuccino reading The Times (about the shocking crime wave in dreadlock stealing sweeping Jo'burg). The continental breakfast cost Rand 165. There's a made to order hot selection, so no nasty chafing pans of warmed over egg and bacon.

The gym and spa are on the 8th floor - with weights up to 22 kilos and one bench, but only one weights machine. However, the gym has many robust treadmills and is clean with big views out on two sides. There is a small indoor pool by the spa which is open from 9am to 9pm.

My only gripe was that I couldn't find a bottle opener in the room. Given the airport location the views aren't of rolling savannah or natural beauty - but, all in all, a brilliant hotel.

Room Tip: Corner executive rooms are excellent. There is no club lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Good Morning George H and wow, Thank You for the great feedback you posted on Trip Advisor. We are humbled by your feedback. Its great to recieve such wonderful feedback and it really puts a bounce in every team members step. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon again. Keep Well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
0.6 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Property: InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Address: 68.7 metres from International Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2011 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2008, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing