We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Kindness of Desk Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I were passing through Johannesburg as we returned from a vacation in Mozambique and we elected to stay by the airport as I'd picked up a tummy bug while up north. Unfortunately it worsened while at the hotel and the staff very kindly extended our check-out time so that we could be in comfort until our evening flight to Dubai. It made all the difference and was a clear signal when a relatively small gesture can make a huge difference. Beyond that, the room was excellent, the facilities superb and all the staff very friendly. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PGSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Good Afternoon PGSingapore and Thank You for taking the time to post some feedback regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. I hope by now that you are back at home and feeling much better. Anything that we could do in order to ease your wait for your next flight - is all just in a days work for our service minded team. Keep well and hope it won't be too long before your next stay. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

979 - 985 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

This airport hotel is a few yards from the exit of OR Tambo Airport in Johannesburg and we've stayed there on two separate occasions. On both occasions, we've found this to be an excellent hotel with clean, spacious rooms and modern bathrooms. Everything is supplied that you could want for a stop-over - toiletries in bathroom, plenty of towels, tea and coffee making facilities which include a coffee pod machine, ice, complimentary bottled water and a mini bar. There is a trouser press, in-room safe and access to arrival/departure information from the airport is available via the television. The food is excellent with a good breakfast and lunch/dinner menu and friendly, very efficient and helpful staff. I'd recommend it to anyone needing to stay over in Johannesburg and we won't hesitate to use this hotel again when travelling through Jo'burg. One tip though - if you want to pass the time shopping or sightseeing, you might want to go over to the taxi rank at the airport to get a taxi as the ones arranged by the hotel are a chauffeur service and very expensive although the hotel concierge will arrange everything for you and they will come back and collect you at your chosen time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Good Evening Christine S and Thank You for taking the time to post some feedback regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. I see you picked up on one of our lessor known features - namely the airport arrivals / departure screens, that feed onto your bedroom TV for convenience. Thank you once again for the positive feedback and I hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you want convenience and need a stay-over bed close to the airport, this is your hotel. Super rooms and great location, location, location. Excellent gym and spa with indoor pool. Great outdoor restaurant-come-bar, perfect for a hot evening outside. Only stayed one night so that's all that was needed.

Room Tip: 'My room was awesome but then again I was upgraded to a super luxury room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Good Morning Lee L and Thank You for taking the time to post some wonderful feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor - appreciated. I hope it won't be too long before your next visit and we look forward to welcoming you once again. Keep well and all the best for 2013. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

What a blessing this hotel is. Walking distance from the arrivals hall, all you need to do is cross the road walk up to the main reception area. We couldn't get a connecting flight so we decided to stay at this hotel and we pleasantly surprised. There is no airport noise at all. Rooms are large, comfortable, modern with all modern amenities and more. Free in room wifi. The bed was king size, comfortable, flat screen tv, and tea/coffee making facilities. there was also a pressing machine in the room which was very handy indeed, especially coming off safari! Clothes pressed and ready to go the next day. We had room service as we were tired from the travel and it was delightful, no different as if we were sitting in the restaurant. If room service is not for you then try the restaurant downstairs, Quills.

The indoor heated pool was a treat, with a view of the airport runway which was both different and great, terrific gym setup and steam rooms. There is a Spa centre within this area also if a massage or treatment is what your after.

The staff are all very polite and professional and nothing was too much for any of them, which made our short stay even better. Check-in and out was done in a very efficient and quick manner.

We have no trouble in recommending this hotel, especially as a short stay/stop over and if we can get back to South Africa would definitely stay there again if needed.

Room Tip: We didn't take up the breakfast option as we felt it was too over priced. We had an early fligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Good Evening Lisa L and Thank You for posting some wonderful feedback regarding our hotel on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. We are so pleased to read that you had a great time with us and hope that on your next visit you will venture down for breakfast in Quills. We don't only serve the full English Breakfast option, but also have continental as well as various a la carte options. Hope to see you soon again, and we can spoil you at breakfast. Keep well and all the best for 2013. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Although it is an expensive option it is well worth booking a dayroom at the Intercontinental a few steps from the arrivals hall. I booked in on 2nd January with my Father in a wheelchair and he was given a disabled access room while my husband and I had an interconnecting room. The place is quiet and luxurious just what you need if you have had a very early start. There are also spa facilities which I intended to use but fell into a blissful sleep instead and then had a heavenly bath and was ready to start the long homeward slog to Glasgow via Dubai.
The concierge (who wears a very fetching hat) and another porter escorted us and wheeled both my Father and the luggage to the check in desk for our onward flight which was a great help to us. Take a break there if you need one

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 83Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Good Evening 83Sue and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post some feedback regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. We are so pleased to read that you have a very pleasant and peaceful stay with us. Hopefully you can make it to the Spa on your next visit. Yes, the Meet and Greet, as well as departure service is extremely convenient and really takes some stress out of finding the right check in counter in a busy international airport. Keep well and safe journey's further. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Second time we have stayed here before moving on to Botswana for safari. Just across the street from international arrivals. Check in very pleasant after 15 hour flight from the state. Nice rooms and staff. Takes some of the stress out of long travel days. Quills is a nice place to eat diner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tennn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Good Morning Tennn and Thank You for taking some time out of your day to post feedback regarding our wonderful hotel on Trip Advisor. Glad to see that you are a repeat visitor and definately someone that we can expect to see again in the future - in order to create some more great memories. Keep well and all the best for 2013. Regards Andrew Davidson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

did not sleep over just went for a visit to see the food setups and quality. The spread done by the chef is amazing, the quality of food and special dishes makes this a number 1 to visit for business lunches or when waiting to travel and you have time to spare.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank Febalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Good Morning Febalo and Thank You for popping in to our lovely Hotel - Great to have you with us. Good to read that you enjoyed our F&B offering and hope that on your next visit, you may check in and stay with us. Have a great 2013. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.0 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Address: Opposite Int'l Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $293 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2015 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2015, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing