We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Hotel at an Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

First, a disclaimer: we used Priority Club points to pay for our room. Given the normal price of rooms (expensive!), it was nice to not have to pay out-of-pocket. Getting the opportunity to stay here on points was a real treat, and a great use of points in our opinion.

The Intercontinental was literally right across the street from the airport terminal, next to the rental car desks. Once we walked in, it felt like a totally different world -- beautiful art and furnishings in the common areas, great service, and huge well-appointed rooms. Everything was a relaxing respite from our multi-day string of international flights.

As Priority Club platinum members, we were hoping for some level of recognition or an upgrade on arrival. However, as noted by other travelers, this hotel does not commonly provide upgrades for Priority Club elites. Rather, you need to be a member of their (non-free) Ambassador program to get extra perks and upgrades. No worries -- the room we booked was really nice even without an upgrade, and we did receive a couple of plates of fresh fruit and bottled water in the room when we arrived.

Perhaps it's the little things like the free wireless internet access, the tea stand in the lobby, or the great service at the desk on check-in that really put the Intercontinental at the level of a world-class hotel. Perhaps it was just the surprise of finding such a comfortable room and fantastic service at a busy international airport. Overall, though, we had a great stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheInternationalLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Theinternationalline and Thank You for taking the time to post your detailed feedback - really appreciated. The team and I are very happy to see that we met your needs and left you with some great memories. This is what its all about. We trust it won't be too long before your next visit and look forward to welcoming you once again. Keep well and Thank You once again. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,066 - 1,072 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here overnight after a business trip in Mozambique and was glad to enjoy the luxury and comforts of the Intercontinental. Spacious room, large bed with excellent beddings, top quality fixtures, and the bathroom -- one of the best I've ever seen! Very large with bathtub, separate large shower area and enclosed toilet. The restaurant was a good place as well to work and have dinner w/ a good bottle of wine. Only downside was that internet in the room was slow.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csolleza0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Good Evening csolleza and Thank You for taking time out of your day to post this wonderful feedback regarding our lovely hotel. Most appreciated. Great to see that you enjoyed our bathroom appointments. I trust it won't be too long before your next visit and possibly next time try our premium internet service which is linked via a fibre optic network - which ensures a improved speed whilst uploading and downloading data. Have a great evening - Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

After 20 hours flying from New Zealand it was great to just walk across to road and check into this excellent hotel and within minutes be in the room. You pay just a little more rathet than jumping on a transfer bus to one of the nearby hotels, but the Intercontinental for our money is the best. Rooms are roomy, you can unpack and repak for your next journey with ease. Food service is excellent and I especially mention the very good breakfast which is normally part of the tariff. It is clean, efficient and the staff are very helpful and pleasant to work with.Would be my first choice every time when passing through Johannesburg

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raze88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Good Evening Raze88 and Thank you so much for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Yes, that 67.8 meter walk to our front door is really convenient and really takes a lot of "hassle" out of the usual travel arrangements. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us - and we hope that it won't be too long before you next visit. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have travelled extensively (54 cities - 29 countries), stayed in many top and well known hotels and been Platinum with the loyalty programs on offer, but the Intercontinental Hotel at O. R Tambo International Airport in Johannesburg, is by far my favourite (having stayed there 3 times) and the one I look forward to the most!

The staff are well trained, mindful of your needs and go the extra mile to ensure that your stay is the most pleasant one, one can make away from home.
From the booking staff, through to the cleaning staff and everyone in between, they truly understand what it is to put the "customer first" and do whatever it takes to keep you happy!

Well done guys for yet another great stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, however the rooms facing the front of the hotel have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WNichol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Mr WNichol, Your kind words and feedback is most humbling. Thank you for taking the time to provide this truly wonderful feedback - much appreciated. I will share with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We got stuck at the airport for one night, so we decided to take the closest hotel and that was the intercontinental. You exit the airport and it is right there. The hotel has around 200 rooms and is very clean. We checked in, got our priority check in and 5 minutes later we were in our room. The room had a good size, well for us the only thing that mattered was the bed. The room was very clean and we had a great view over the airport. We were a bit scared that it could be loud cause of the planes, but it wasn`t. The next day we skipped breakfast as we had an early flight to catch. Check out was easy. Would stay there again. Only bad thing, the prices are a bit high, 200 Dollars for one night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin2010187337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Good Evening Martin and Thank You for taking the time to post some feedback regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. I am so glad to see that you selected our hotel during your decision making process - and then still left with great memories of our wonderful hotel. That's what its all about. Keep well, and I hope that we will see you soon again. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

From Thandeka Gqubule
I have been popping into the intercontinental at Oliver Tambo Airport for many years. When I arrived back from Europe this weekend, I was besieged by problems. I had five challenges. My iPad and phone were dead as their batteries were down. My daughter and I were freezing as we landed to icy temperatures and were undressed. I had lost the keys to my car that I had parked at the airport. My car tyre was flat and as we landed at five in the morning nothing was open yet.

A new shift began as we ran through the rain into the hotel. They gathered together the very professional looking team in the lush and tasteful lobby area and. A group of ten of them began to pray for about five minutes. The rest of us,guest in the lobby, dipped our heads in respect, and prayed for a good day for all. We were then served with warmth and understanding. Batteries were charted. Hot coffee and chocolate came swiftly. A handy locksmith solution, and emergency help with a car! Nog al! Inspiration, hope and celebration once every problem was solved!

The manager runs a tight ship here:) and every inch of the hotel is exquisite and stylish. And what is heartwarming is that the multiple cultural team is world class and dedicated. They are all a tribute to the late founding father of South African democracy Oliver Tambo. Long may his humane spirit live! Long may the hotel serve people from all over the world with finess and Ubuntu! viva!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thandeka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Good Morning Thandeka G and Thank You for taking the time out of your day to relay your experiences to us. The team and I are extremely happy to read that we managed to put a silver lining to your day. We like to think that this is all just in a days work and truly shows our guest focus and orientation. Keep well and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is expensive but it has no competitor in the area as it is the only one in the airport itself. It provides a safe and rather luxury environment for people having to spend one night here. If rooms are pricey, food and wines are not. Free wifi, DVD library are also appreciated and we enjoy the small pool / gym / spa at the top. Air transportation lovers will enjoy watching planes landing and taking-off, from the pool, or from their room (no noise whatsoever).
To sum up, this property is a haven to wait for your flight. Finally, I advise guests to read carefully the safety instructions leaflet given in the room as many of the tips provided proved useful to us during our stay there, for instance to avoid being robbed when withdrawing cash at an ATM in the airport.

Room Tip: High floor if you want to see air traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric_Beylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Good Evening Eric_Beylon and Thank you for taking the time out of your day to post some feedback regarding your recent stay with us - really appreciated. Yes, our 8th floor is great, not only the Gym and the Spa, but the heated pool with the great views as you experienced. I hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Kind regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 27 in Kempton Park
2,492 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 27 in Kempton Park
1,448 reviews
1 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Address: Opposite Int'l Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $352 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2015 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2015, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing