We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe haven in a scary city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Safe haven in a scary city”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Booked here by our travel agent for final night in Africa. Great choice. Excellent staff at check in, beautiful room, all requests dealt with quickly and efficiently. Held our luggage while we took a city tour before evening departure. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    311
    54
    19
    8
See reviews for
226
491
117
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Great proximity to airport, good food lovely rooms but very expensive to all the other hotels we have recently stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LA143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I've been staying here regularly since the hotel opened and have nothing bad to say about the extremely convenient location, the service, the hospitality, the quality of rooms or the food. I was however unpleasantly surprised by the very high costs of a standard room on my last trip. I don't believe the hotel warrants such high costs and I will stay in an adjacent Southern Sun property the next time, which offers almost 50% discount. Sorry but in times like these we need to be selective..

Room Tip: all rooms are sound-proofed but recommend choosing one on the side away from the airport to reduce a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghanabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeCareWeAct, Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Ghanabound,

Thanks for sharing your views on Trip Advisor and a great big thank you for being a loyal guest over the years!

Our location is one of the three key factors why we believe our guests stay with us, the others being our great brand and our superior product and service. I am delighted that you recognise and compliment us on these elements.

Surprisingly our prices have grown little over recent years - we have increased our room rates only 3% annually since 2008 - not unreasonable considering that South African inflation was 6% per annum and food inflation around 8% per annum over the same period. We have also had a 450% increase in electricity costs since 2008 and it increases another 25% at the end of this month.

Your room tips are spot on - from inside the hotel it is quiet and only on the odd occasion can we hear an ancient 737 taking off to some far off African land. Naturally the side facing away from the airport is somewhat quieter although you might have to go further afield than the hotel next door to get the same quiet sleep experience as InterContinental.

We trust that you will keep in mind the many value adds we provide in the hotel such as free, unlimited wi-fi, mineral water and fruit in your room, complimentary newspaper, personal in-room espresso machine, free DVD library, free gym and swimming pool access. There's also the benefit of not having to pay a small fortune to sit in traffic for a couple of hours to find a hotel of similar quality in Sandton.

We would love to have you visit in the future so please remember that you'll never find a better rate than directly at the hotel and don't forget about our Advance Saver Rates!

Have a flyer of a day

Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
195 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I stayed here on a layover while going to Tanda Tula before returning to Joburg for work. While the hotel was expensive, it's not as much as other hotels around the world. The hotel was very comfortable. The gym was top notch and the restaurant has a great selection of foods. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgileDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed with a group of friends and the experience was amazing. We had met at Jhb airport and the hotel is across the road. The staff were friendly and any request was dealt with quickly and efficiently. Didnt eat at the hotel so no comment on the food. The rooms were well presented and the decor was tasteful. The showers are amazing!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chri55ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The service at the hotel was excellent from check-in (despite my Platinum status not being recognised at any time during this stay), to the food and beverage service. The dinner menu was more than acceptable in the hotel restaraunt but I must call out the breakfast as exceptional. Staff were always friendly and very helpful and service is 5 star! The room was spacious, very clean and the bathroom eas exceptional!

The downside was the public areas being proliferated with prostitutes after dark who made me and my dinner guests very uncomfortable with their brazen openess. My only disappointment at this hotel was the lack of management of dealing with the prostitutes and getting them off the premises! As a guest I did not want to be propositioned 5 times in a night!

The hotel is excelleently located to the international and domestic terminal with no shutlle/cab required!

highly recomment this and hope by my next visit the prostitute issue has been dealt with!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Oztravels7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeCareWeAct, Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear Oztravels7,

Thanks for sharing your feedback on trip Advisor. We welcome your positivity regarding your check-in and restaurant experience and love the fact that you enjoyed your room. Our bathrooms remain a favourite experience with our guests – as you discovered the showers are oversized and the massage showerheads get to work quickly on a travel-weary body.

I am very disturbed to hear about your encounter with prostitutes. They are the scourge of any hotel but I’ll be very frank and honest to tell you that in my six years here it’s never been reported as a problem that we could not handle with guest interests in mind.

I have already discussed your experience with my hotel team and security manager and I give you my word that it is an issue you will not experience on your next visit.

Sorry we didn’t recognize your platinum status. I’ll send you a personal message to get insider detail so I can investigate.

Look forward to having you return.

Have a flyer of a day!

Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This luxurious quiet hotel literally right across the street from the airport is a comforting peaceful haven after long travel. I have stayed here several times in 2011 and now in 2012. I have always encountered friendly service with attention to detail, excellent food, selection of movies, gym and spa. Internet is free and fast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CalMama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeCareWeAct, Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear CalMama1,

Thanks your kind words and for making InterContinental Johannesburg O.R Tambo your home whilst staying in South Africa!

We’re very happy that you enjoy our facilities and services. If you think we’re missing some that could make your stay even more comfortable please let us know!

Look forward to having you return soon.

Have a flyer of a day!

Darren
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,922 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
1.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Property: InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Address: 68.7 metres from International Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2011 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2008, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing