We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good airport hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Johannesburg International Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Don Johannesburg International Airport
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A very good airport hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

As the name suggests, “Don Airport Hotel” is just a five minutes drive away from the “OR Tambo” airport. The three of us stayed in an apartment which had two bed rooms, a kitchen, a living room and two bathrooms. The apartment was clean, well-heated and included all the amenities we needed.

The only problem was that during our nine nights stay, the room safe broke down a couple of times and a technician was called to open the safe.

Even though an airport hotel, it is in a very safe area, close to a few fast-food restaurants (KFC, McDonalds, etc.), plus a “Seven eleven” supermarket. Also, there is the “Greenstone” shopping mall close by, but you’ll need a car to drive there (15-20 minutes).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaiser_Amir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    1
    6
    4
See reviews for
2
2
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2009

I am not much of a complainer, but this hotel was terrible. We stayed there one night before catching a flight to the Kruger area. As it is an airport hotel, I didn't expect much. When we arrived at JNB we were told that the airport shuttle was "broken" and that we had to get there on our own. We were given a room facing the highway and could barely sleep all night with all the noise. The television was broken as was the alarm clock (and also the computer in the business center). The pool was unswimmable at best. Furthermore, they forgot to give us our wake up call in the morning which (in combination with no alarm clock) almost caused us to miss our flight. All I'm looking for in an airport hotel is a place with a shuttle, a quiet night's sleep, and a reliable wakeup. This hotel went 0/3 -- Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelguy120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

The start of our stay was not great! As we would get there after dark, we were told that taxis were not the safest and had reserved a hotel shuttle to take us from the airport to the hotel. However the shuttle was not present upon our arrival. After a check with the hotel the shuttle had apparantly left the airport 10 minutes before our plane landed (ahead of time) and had no plans of returning as they had closed their service for the day. We spent an hour discussing on the phone with the hotel before we ended up taking taxis. Once safe at the hotel we found it to be somewhat worn down, but clean. Sheets definately needs to be thrown out and replaced as they have holes in them.
Breakfast the next morning was ok however somewhat more expensive than any of the other places we've stayed afterwards.
All in all if you just need a clean and reasonably priced place to stay for a night it is ok, but I wouldn't recommend it for anything more than that.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elisaNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

The Don Suites is a quick 5 minute trip from the Airport. The taxi is cheap but if you want the shuttle, you have to call them when you land to collect you.

Reception is very good, helpful and they quickly address any problems. They will arrange all sorts of transfers and tours.

The rooms are large with a kitchen, rooms with ensuites and larger two bedroom rooms. They are clean and well maintained. The bathrooms are a good size, the televisions have cable and the kitchen has everything to prepare a snack or a full blown meal.

It is a large complex behind a guarded security fence. There are elevators, a bar, pool and a small restaurant for a basic selection of meals, even room service.

The only downside is the location, it is close to the airport but this means that it is miles from everywhere else. That reflects the price, there are closer hotels to Johannesburg but are sometimes double the price.

I would certainly stay there for a day or two before or after a trip to Johannesburg, or for a business trip.

  • Liked — Facilities and Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location from Johannesberg
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

Stayed in the Don Johannesburg as an overnight. We flew into Johannesburg from Port Elizabeth late on a Fri evening. As we were flying out to Mauritius the following morning we just needed something simple, to rest ourselves close to the airport.
First of all let me say that it is convenient to the OR Tambo airport (Johannesburg). But that is all it has going for it.
Booking in was fine also, but we were then given directions to our room. We had to go out the back of the hotel in the open to access our room. ( Something you would see at a motel in one of those American films, ie Psycho, Identity).
The room was not good. It was a one bedroom suite, there was no coffee/tea making facilities,the tvs were something from the sixties where the remotes didnt work. There was anti bacs as blankets for our bed. It was really dated.
We then decided we wanted a bottle of water and went back into the hotel at around 21.40 and went to the bar. We were promptly told the bar was closed and as I said all i needed was a bottle of water I was quickly reminded the BAR WAS CLOSED!
As there was no shops around we just had to make do without.
Lets just say we departed early Sat morning and will never go bak again.

  • Liked — Close to airport
  • Disliked — Everything s
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GimmeDonegal_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2008

Spent four days at 'the Don' as something went wrong with my reservations for my normal hotel in the area (the Birchwood). Thought it might be a good chance to discover an alternative, as the Birchwood while not bad is still no great hang. Unfortunately, the Don didn't live up to expectations as the Birchwood was better.

Let's start out on a positive note: the price (I paid 865 ZAR for a suite - kitchen, living area, bedroom, bathroom) was fairly good. There were a couple of really nice staff members (day manager was particularly good. Unfortunately I didn't get his name even though he knew mine every time I walked in the door!). The wireless internet worked well in the courtyard, lobby area, bar and in my room on the ground floor (apparently it doesn't reach most of the rooms). The rooms were generally clean although my room suffered from an ant infestation and I heard other people complain about the mossies.

Annoying stuff: almost completely devoid of atmosphere, located in an industrial estate (depot on one side, factory on the other) next to a very noisy highway (if you're on the front you might have trouble sleeping), food was poor quality and limited, and the pool looked better suited for the polar bear cage at a Romanian zoo (Ceausescu days).
For an airport hotel in that price category many of these items could have been compensated by a friendly and attentive staff. Unfortunately, with the exception of a few truly super individuals, a lot of the staff gave the distinct impression that they didn't give a @#*$ about you or the hotel. Shame, because I was quite positive the first day when my friend the day manager greeted me by my first name as I walked in the door returning from a meeting. It was down hill from there though, culminating in a 20 minute checkout because the paper for the printer was locked away somewhere and no one seemed bothered about finding a key!

You can do better for the price and location. There's a smaller hotel a little further down the highway towards town called Werner's which looked interesting and had good rates. Will probably try that next time.

Luke

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ElLuco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2007

We used the Don for one night on June 9th, 2007 after being in the bush on Safari for two weeks. We had better service in the bush than at the hotel. The person at the front desk at night for check-in didn't know anything beyond our room rate, couldn't answer simple questions and was not willing to make any effort to find out anything. The person in the morning also couldn't answer any questions about our reservation descrepancies and her attitude was basically "It's not my job". The hotel advertises a restaurant for breakfast and dinner but when we asked about dinner at 7 PM they gave me a Take-Out-taxi menu and told me to call them. The menu was so old the number was out of order. The only two good things about the place was the low price and the size of the suite. We got 2 bedrooms and a small kitchen and small living room for $120 but the carpet as dirty, the tiles in the bathroom were moldy, the trim was peeling off and we all got lots of flea bites from sleeping in the beds. Only stay here if you are desparate.

  • Liked — cheap & close to the airport
  • Disliked — lack of service, cleanliness problems
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ncr1jmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kempton Park
2.9 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#3 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Road Lodge Isando
Road Lodge Isando
#4 of 8 in Germiston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Town Lodge Airport Johannesburg
2.4 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Johannesburg Airport - Barbara Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Johannesburg International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Johannesburg International Airport

Property: Don Johannesburg International Airport
Address: 6 Electron Avenue, Kempton Park 1601, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Johannesburg International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Don Johannesburg International Airport Hotel Isando
Don Johannesburg International Airport Isando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing