We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy Stop over for O.R Tambo Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Namibia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Easy Stop over for O.R Tambo Airport”
Reviewed February 24, 2010

The hotel offers a transfer from and to the airport free of charge. The transfer worked fine on the night of arrival, but the next morning it was a disaster. The shuttle offers the transfer to the opposite sister hotel and as that is more luxurious the 10 seater bus stops there first and when it comes around to the Peermont the bus is already full or only has place for 2 - 3 persons. As we were a group of 10, this was a huge problem as the shuttle only comes past every 20 - 30 minutes. We spoke to reception, but they also could not help. There were lots of other guests that had the same problem and at one stage there were about 25 persons waiting for the shuttle and as you would expect everybody needs to get to the airport for their flights. In the end I got the hotel to call a taxi as it was impossible to get on to the shuttle. It cost R100.00, which is acceptable.
The hotel is quite modern and offers all you would need. The rooms are spacious and very modern. The only thing I don't approve of is the bathroom layout. There's no door or wall and the whole bathroom is closed with a curtain. This is very unpractical and stupid design and I sometimes ask myself if the architects that come up with these designs have never travelled and seen how uncomfortable it is if you need to share a room? I would only recommend these rooms to single travellers.
The hotel should also have spend some money on double glassed windows as the nearby airport makes it quite loud when an aircraft takes off or lands. The noice is not unbearable, but the hotel should have a look at other airport hotels around the world and learn.
There's a casino and entertainment at the close by Emperor's Palace, which makes it easy to entertain yourself while there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NamXpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    387
    214
    77
    55
See reviews for
181
418
80
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
271 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

The rooms are clean and stylish. The hotel is very close to OT Airport. Huge choice of restaurants available in Casino mall nearby. ATM machines there, however, are not safe. Tourst information is hard to come by.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

The rooms at the Peermont Metcourt Suites are funky and cool. High ceilings, cool bathrooms, beautiful floors and a big selection of places to eat from connected to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueTravelers006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2009

I stayed one night at the Peermont Metcourt and i was overcharged for my stay. I then stupidly paid the correct amount since the receptionist promised me that they would refund me the overcharged amount. They promised to call or E-Mail me when this had been done. Of course, I heard nothing and 6 days later and after 3 expensive phone calls from the UK to S.Africa I am stiill trying. What a disaster !

The hotel itself is great value - just don't trust the staff on reception.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supersaint66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2009

My wife and I stayed overnight at this hotel which is about 15 minutes drive from the O.R Tambo international airport. This was oganised through our travel agent based in Australia.
We had constance problems with plumbing during our stay and several maintenance staff were in our room for most part of our stay. You could image ho well we would have rested and enjoyed our stay there :-). The toilet were not flusing and the shower/bath was malfunctioning. When the maintenance staff (after several attempts to fix the plumbing problem) failed to fix the problem, we were moved to another room, few doors away. When we moved into the room at about 8pm, the bath was dirty and clogged. One of the staff from the front desk came over and were literrally scrabbing the floor with a 2 piece suit on. While this was taking place, I had to run down to main entrance area common WC to answer tha nature's call. When my wife started using the shower the water started gushing out, it was about 11pm by then. We simply giva up calling for maintenance. The toliet was not refilling with water after the flush. I was litrally fixing it after each flush. We expressed our dissatification to the front office manager who oppologised for the incovenienced but did not make any compensation whatoever. When we asked to speak to the hotel manager, Caron Van Royen, we were adiced that we can only see her by making an oppointment. Speaking to other staff at the hotel, the message we got was clear and consistent, that this is a common occurance and the management does not take any action to rectify this situation, knowing the fact that most of the guest are one time stayers, who are largely in transit to other parts of Africa.
We would definetely shy away from this hotel in the future, which is part of Emperors Palace group. If anyone chooses to stay at this property, please take a couple of plumbing gears with you. It is just simply FIY (Fix It Yourself basis) because it is supposed to be 3 star hotel with minus 1 star room facilities (unreliable indeed). We strognly urge that seek another hotel to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TS2619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed two nights at this hotel. Great location as it is close to the Oliver Tambo International Airport. Service was ok! Rooms very spacious. Big dissapointed was our dark room as there were no windows. It makes you depressed. It feels like you staying in a basement. Hotel has no restaurants - you have to walk very far to get to the restaurants. First hotel I've seen that had no adapters in the bathroom for shavers. The numbers on the indoor safe was ripped off so I had to guess the numbers. On the day of our check out I phoned reception to ask for the bell boy to assist with the luggage but they never showed up. Don't know who manages this hotel but they should wake up. There is still time to train management before 2010.
Will not recommend this hotel overpriced with 2 star service & standards

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George123R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We stayed here a couple of nights over 2 week period between flights/transfers to other areas, its very close to the airport and they offer a free Shuttle service to and from it.

The rooms are excellent, plenty of space, bathrooms are fantastic, nice modern design. Its located in the Emperor's Palace Area with several other hotels and the Casino so there is a bit of traffic and you can wonder around the restaurants or poker machines if you have time.

We found it great for location and the service was good. Would return too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveb013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
1.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,030 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.9 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace

Property: Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace Contemporary convenience at its best...the 3-star Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace offers stylish and comfortable rooms as well as a "group-friendly" experience for corporate, convention and leisure guests. The hotel offers a variety of room configurations and amenities which include LCD flat screen TV, satellite DSTV channels for all languages, tea and coffee stations, secure internet connections, laptop safe, working desk with business-convenient plug points. The hotel's clean and modern façade is complimented by a private and sheltered pool terrace, set in a beautifully landscaped garden, providing guests with food and beverage service throughout the day. Specifications include a comfortable, large ground floor reception area with enough space to accommodate large tour and convention groups with ease. The hotel features (248 rooms) with 176 Classic rooms, 69 Superior rooms and 3 Special assistance rooms. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are available. Check-in after 15h00 / Check-out before 11h00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Metcourt At Emperors Palace Hotel Kempton Park
Metcourt Laurel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing