We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to O.R. Tambo airport & convenient for Gautrain users”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Close to O.R. Tambo airport & convenient for Gautrain users”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is virtually on the airport with regular shuttle service to & from airport. More suited for business travellers (I think). Rooms were somewhat compact. Convenient location within walking distance to Emperor's Palace. Staff not overly friendly but helpful. Convenient for Gautrain users. Good stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalan Africa T... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    387
    214
    77
    55
See reviews for
181
418
80
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I've stayed at one or two other airport hotels near OR Tambo, and the Metcourt is certainly one of the better in its rating and price. Some of the other reviews have criticized the reception staff, but I had no problems, and found them friendly and helpful. The room is comfortable; the "bathroom" is unusual, with two small cubicles; one has a toilet, the other a shower (almost like a Yotel) but the overall room size is normal. Their free shuttle makes this a very convenient location if you need to stay somewhere near the airport, and the breakfast is very good. If you have a function at the Emporer's Palace conference centre (as I did) this is the best value for money in that complex.
My overall rating takes into account that this is a three star airport hotel - don't expect a country lodge!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Overall another great stay at Metcourt. Extremely friendly & courteous receptionist checked us in & even upgraded our room. Room was up to standard, as we've become used to. Breakfast was great, some food was a bit cold but nothing serious. The bar lunch being served at 21 degrees is a brilliant idea - the food is tasty and real value for money - well done on that!
On the negative side - the ice maker was (still?) not working (the last time we stayed it was also out of order) and the service at breakfast has not improved at all. You still have to look for the waiters, ask them to clear the table and they served cold coffee - although they did get new coffee after I complained. Lastly, please look at putting rooibos tea in the rooms, I've mentioned this before. Or at least have it available from housekeeping. When asked, they just said they dont have. Thanks again for a nice weekend, hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natasha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great venue close to O R Tambo Airport. They have shuttles running to and from the hotels every 15 minutes. The Hotel was clean and breakfast was good. supper can be had in the casino at many different choices of foods from all over the world.

Room Tip: The Peermont Metcourt only has rooms , the Peermont Metcourt Suits has family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were booked in at Emperors suite but they shifted us to peermont Metcourt.
Reception staff could be more friendly and helpful
Good venue if needing to fly in and out again
Shuttle to airport etc. Good Stay

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alka_Nitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were staying at the peermont for our last night in South Africa. This hotel can only be described as frustrating. We tried to book a day trip into the city and Soweto, we were told that the trip was very different from what we booked, and we were not told the right price. This led to some frustrating negotiations with the tour operator. We were also told the tour was 4 hours (we had to catch a plane that night), but in fact the tour was 6 hours and we had to cut it short so as not to miss our flights. We were told the wrong price for everything that we asked about - the internet, the spa, etc. All in all, our last night and day were such a disapointment compared to the rest of our amazing trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments received, we are disappointed to learn of your negative experience with us.

If you could please contact myself on; ascully@emperorspalace.com, +27119281732

Kind Regards

Anna-Lize Scully
Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Conventions Resort
+27 11 928 1732
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

What a great stay at Metcourt. Great room and the bath next to the bed makes it super romantic. I can't see why people complain about Metcourt when they leave comments. This is really a great hotel. Our room was even upgraded to a superior king because it was my birthday the 6th of June. We had to ask for it though. Although when booking this hotel you will have to leave the hotel to go to the entertainment area as this hotel is not adjoining it. But this is really not a problem. Perfect date package is the best. Cocktails and buffet dinner at Oriana was devine. Great variety. Breakfast buffet at Flag cafe, wow!!! That's all I have to say to describe how great it was. We have stayed over in all the hotels except for D'oreale. My favorite of all the hotels is the Metcourt Suites and then Mondior and then Metcourt. Don't know why, but this is just my personal choice. Can't wait to go again. I love it at Emperors Palace. And the packages which are so affordable makes it even better! Thank you Emperors and Peermont!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lizel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
1.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.9 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace

Property: Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace Contemporary convenience at its best...the 3-star Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace offers stylish and comfortable rooms as well as a "group-friendly" experience for corporate, convention and leisure guests. The hotel offers a variety of room configurations and amenities which include LCD flat screen TV, satellite DSTV channels for all languages, tea and coffee stations, secure internet connections, laptop safe, working desk with business-convenient plug points. The hotel's clean and modern façade is complimented by a private and sheltered pool terrace, set in a beautifully landscaped garden, providing guests with food and beverage service throughout the day. Specifications include a comfortable, large ground floor reception area with enough space to accommodate large tour and convention groups with ease. The hotel features (248 rooms) with 176 Classic rooms, 69 Superior rooms and 3 Special assistance rooms. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are available. Check-in after 15h00 / Check-out before 11h00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Metcourt At Emperors Palace Hotel Kempton Park
Metcourt Laurel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing