We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Ezulwini, Swaziland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My hotel experience was excellent and i can recommed the hotel to most of my friends.Lovely clean modern rooms, very comfortable beds, although the toilet is not great for anyone that may be claustrophobic as about the size of a phone box, staff were friendly and helpful, great breakfast and excellent value for money, part of casino complex which we ate at but were way to tired to look around.

Room Tip: South side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ma Dlamini W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    375
    211
    77
    53
See reviews for
170
407
77
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Modern room decorated with sexy mural. Great breakfast buffet with more options than I've ever seen. The hotel is only a five minute drive from the airport. Their free shuttle runs every 20 minutes until 11 pm (afterwards it needs to be arranged). We got lost on our second stay when we tried to do the same drive on our own. Front desk staff was very helpful, though there were waits to speak with them at times. Free wifi is available only in the lobby and requires elaborate signing in. You can use the gym at the hotel next door (though we didn't get a chance to do so).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pigaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Lovely clean modern rooms, very comfortable beds, although the toilet is not great for anyone that may be claustrophobic as about the size of a phone box, staff were friendly and helpful, great breakfast and excellent value for money, part of casino complex which we ate at but were way to tired to look around.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonyaclairelewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
178 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed here for just 1 night after a long flight from Amsterdam. Unfortunately we booked a twin and got a double room, so after checking in and going to the room we went back to the lobby. They said they were full and we really had to insist of getting a twin room. So finally after half an hour wait (which is not something you want after a 11 hour flight!) we got a room across the street in Peermont Suites, which was fine. Rooms and breakfast in both places are obviously ok, but I don't like the fact that we booked a twin and they simply put us in another room and then we have to wait for a long time to get a decent room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

On 18th. Dec 2013, my brother, his wife, me and my wife were supposed to be given two separate rooms. But we were given only one room. (Room 2212). After a long protest, they finally gave in and gave us two separate rooms. The receptionists should have been trained properly as they are the front liners to the hotel in particular and South Africa as a whole.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank limsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Very pleasant. Staff is friendly and accomodating. Rooms are basic but clean. One thing i was pleasantly surprised with is that besides the normal hairdryer etc, there is an ironing board and iron in each room. Now u dont find that everywhere. Casino and entertainment area is a 3min walk from the hotel. Buffet breakfast and dinner, absolutely superb. On the whole, an enjoyable stay

Room Tip: We requested a converted room, (king bed).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allisonh92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalomo, Zambia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

It is a little funny this hotel. It is sort of built in a strange palace style and calls itself the Las Vegas of South Africa due to the casino and plenty of gaming options within the palace compound. However, the rooms (the key component of any hotel) are actually really basic and frankly look like any other hotel. It does not have the x-factor that you would expect from a place that portrays itself as a palace.

Breakfast was really good. It is a buffet but with plenty of choice. You can have your English breakfast, dive into a good selection of fresh fruits, mix a bowl of various cereals, and so forth. The staff at breakfast was also very welcoming and attentive. I did not eat at the hotel for lunch or dinner so I cannot comment on the quality but the place only has a small cafe rather than a restaurant.

Within the palace compound, you will find a complex with plenty of restaurants, gaming options, theatre, cinema, children's gaming areas etc. You will find a very diverse range of restaurants from Nando's, Hooters, News Cafe, Ocean Basket, Spurs, Taste of Mumbai, whilst you also find sushi, portuegese/brazilian, steak/grill. Essentially, they have tried to cater for any taste.

The location of the hotel can be both great and very poor, depending on why you are in Jburg. The hotel is ideally sitauted for a lay-over as it is so close to OR Tambo and you have a free shuttle servic but if you want to explore Jburg (i.e. Mandela Square, Apartheid Museum, Soweto etc) then the hotel is in a horrible location and you will spend an awful lot of money getting around. I would suggest hiring a car if you are staying for several days and want to get around.

All in all, the hotel is fine but nothing special. I would stay again for layovers only.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennedC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
0.1 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace

Property: Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace Contemporary convenience at its best...the 3-star Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace offers stylish and comfortable rooms as well as a "group-friendly" experience for corporate, convention and leisure guests. The hotel offers a variety of room configurations and amenities which include LCD flat screen TV, satellite DSTV channels for all languages, tea and coffee stations, secure internet connections, laptop safe, working desk with business-convenient plug points. The hotel's clean and modern façade is complimented by a private and sheltered pool terrace, set in a beautifully landscaped garden, providing guests with food and beverage service throughout the day. Specifications include a comfortable, large ground floor reception area with enough space to accommodate large tour and convention groups with ease. The hotel features (248 rooms) with 176 Classic rooms, 69 Superior rooms and 3 Special assistance rooms. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are available. Check-in after 15h00 / Check-out before 11h00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Metcourt At Emperors Palace Hotel Kempton Park
Metcourt Laurel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing