We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A PERFECT OVERNIGHT STOP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed June 4, 2013

May 2013: We stayed in the Metcourt for one night on 3 occasions, the first thing we learnt was how to get there, a free shuttle which was easy once you know, exit airport walk out and normally turn right walk to you see the Intercontinental Hotel (not far 2-3 mins depending where you come out) cross over and go to the left on the hotel which will take you into a small terminal there you can pick up the black and gold shuttle with emperors palace 5 to 10 mins depending on traffic. Starting with breakfast everything you could want with excellent service. The rooms had a good large bed, well decorated everything you need for a night stop over (the only small thing was the toilet and shower were hazed glass so the bathroom was not so private but a curtain did pull over. In the complex across the road was the Metcourt suites were you walked through to get to the Casino and restaurants 5 min walk, Casino was fun to watch and the Restaurant court was amazing all close and easy if you are tired this hotel suited us perfect and we had great fun. We also did a Johannesburg and Soweto tour very good booked from the hotel, there is also an iron your room one of the few hotel that we can across. Shuttle times on notice board run very regular

Room Tip: We found the ground floor a little noisy with the people walking outside but nothing really bad al...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrismuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,158)
There are newer reviews for Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is located close to the airport and has a free shuttle service which is quite handy, since it goes both ways and is offered in a 10-15 minutes interval (the time it takes to reach the hotel from the airport and vice versa)

The rooms are ok, not amazing, but clean and confortable.The bed is big and cozy and they have a good TV service, that also includes on-demand movies and alike.

The wi-fi is free but available only at the lobby.

The breakfast is also free and very good, with plenty of options and delicious food. If you have an early flight, you can request a "breakfast to go", which means you´ll receive a bag with some fruits, yogurts, water, sandwich and all for free. I loved it, just make sure to ask for it on the reception.

The best thing in this hotel, however, is that it´s located in the Emperor´s Palace complex, meaning you have acess to the cassino, lots of restaurants and even a movie theather, everything in walking distance (5-10 minutes). This is a MUST if you´re looking for night activities, since South Africa doesn´t have much options when it comes to nightlife and this is accomplished without leaving your hotel area.

I´ve stayed here for around 8 times and I definitelly recommend this hotel, specially if you´re in transit for another destination.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaviBenedetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at the Metcourt en route to Victoria Falls the following day.
The hotel is situated close to the airport and has a regular shuttle bus service to/from the airport about every 30 minutes. The Emperors Palace casino complex is directly opposite where you can find any number of restaurants and of course, the casino if you are interested. The overall prescient is quite secure.
When we arrived around 3.00 pm our room was not available and we had to wait about 20 minutes before we got our room on the fifth floor. Not really what you would expect from a hotel catering for quests arriving at all times of the day.
Our room was at the rear of the building overlooking the airport. Airport noise was evident but not intolerable. It would have to be one of the more unique rooms we have stayed in. It was very small with little room for luggage, sparsely, but nicely furnished. The shower and toilet were located in separate cubicles with a washbasin outside; all of this being screened off by a curtain. The toilet would have to be the smallest we have encountered in a hotel and possibly smaller that the toilets on aircraft. A large person would have difficulty squeezing in, which could be interesting.
The room is air conditioned, has tea/coffee making facilities and an in-room safe.Our double bed and pillows were comfortable.
There is a small bar in the hotel and small lounge/waiting area. A buffet breakfast is available daily.
Free Wi Fi is available in the public areas but with a 50 mb limit. If you want more, you will have to pay.
For a hotel built specifically for people who need to be close to the airport, it serves its purpose and is of a reasonable standard..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie-Traveller3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I checked-in on the night of the 8th of May after a short shuttle ride from O.R. Tambo International Airport while in transit to the US from Kenya. The front office staff were very professional and friendly and I was in my room on the 4th floor within minutes. After a short while, I decided to walk across the street to the Emperor's Plaza Casino and then indulged in dinner at the food court then watched a soccer game before I called it a night. The following morning, I indulged in breakfast which was very nice and elegantly presented. The staff were very professional and so upbeat I felt I made a good choice. I checked out at 1100hrs but left my two pieces of luggage at the front office and I went to the casino to pass time since my flight was at 830pm.All in all, I would come back and spend more time here when I fly through Jo'burg.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msafiri_Mwenyeji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very nice and modern complex close to the airport and in secure area.
Courtesy bus runs every ten minutes just outside the domestic arrivals entrance. Walk to the bus stop and you will see the bus there.
Hotel is in the Emperors Palace complex so very secure so not much chance of getting mugged or robbed.
A short walk through the main complex takes you to the Casino and major restaurants, at least a choice of 12 in one area near the casino, including Hooters!!
Rooms were comfortable and a good size. Depends on which room you choose, go for the double.
Only has a shower/ toilet which is quite tight in size but does the job.
Very much intended for the short business stay over or airport connection.
Service is good and all amenities close by.

Room Tip: Choose the double as a single may be a little small and tight.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tratstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in the Peermont Metcourt at Emperors on our way to George.The room was spacious, neat and clean.The service was great and the breakfast was very nice.The location of the hotel is perfect because there are lots of interesting things to do at Emperors Palace! I think the price is most affordable!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christojdejager d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Small room, extremely small bathroom, very limited breakfast option, uncomfortable bed and pillow. What is to proud of? Only the location that is near with the casino. Stay only 1 night for transit only.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RitchieKurniawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
1.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace

Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $95 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace Contemporary convenience at its best...the 3-star Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace offers stylish and comfortable rooms as well as a "group-friendly" experience for corporate, convention and leisure guests. The hotel offers a variety of room configurations and amenities which include LCD flat screen TV, satellite DSTV channels for all languages, tea and coffee stations, secure internet connections, laptop safe, working desk with business-convenient plug points. The hotel's clean and modern façade is complimented by a private and sheltered pool terrace, set in a beautifully landscaped garden, providing guests with food and beverage service throughout the day. Specifications include a comfortable, large ground floor reception area with enough space to accommodate large tour and convention groups with ease. The hotel features (248 rooms) with 176 Classic rooms, 69 Superior rooms and 3 Special assistance rooms. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are available. Check-in after 15h00 / Check-out before 11h00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont Metcourt At Emperors Palace Hotel Kempton Park
Metcourt Laurel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing