We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2007

Very beautiful and with incredible facilities. In the Emperor´s Palace complex, with a huge casino and other two 3 stars hotels, D´oreale Grande is a 5 star hotel. It has a great spa, wonderful swiming pool, nice restaurant and a warm decoration. The rooms are very nice and well decorated with all the facilities of a 5 star hotel.
5 minutes from de International Airport. Great location, great place.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RobertoChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 831 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2006

We only stayed in this fantastic hotel for one night between flights from the US to Cape Town. Let me tell you what a beautiful facility it is! Yes, it is located next to the casino but there are no influences from the casino on the hotel (i.e. - no gaming machines in the common areas). The pictures of the suite we stayed in tell the whole story! Breakfast the following morning was fit for a king. You name it they have it! The other couple we were traveling with stayed in a standard room which was also well appointed and crisp with a very comfortable bed! Great place to stay! Plus the grounds are immaculate!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sfarmer1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2006

The D'Oreale was a great place. We stayed there for two nights while passing through Jo'burg on the way home. The hotel is attached to Emperor's palace, a large casino/entertainment complex approx 5 miles from the airport. The complex has a large arcade, a wide range of restaurants (some very good!), and a few stores.

My comments regarding the hotel:
- Excellent condition and maintenance, very well appointed
- Excellent service.
- Nice health club/spa
- Fantastic breakfast
- Attached casino and entertainment center is great. Highly recommend the South African restaruant (don't remember the name).
- Large arcade for kids (but expensive)
- Very nicely appointed.
- Regular shuttle to airport.
- Security for cars is very good.

The downsides:
- Pool was large and nice but freezing! No indoor pool (minor point)
- If you're not into gambling the options are limited. There is not much in the area (other than the airport).

This is a great place for a night or two while passig through Jo'burg (particularly due to proximity to the airport). It woudl also be great for a weekend of fun. But, there isn't much in the immediate vicinity.

A general comment about SA travel (not related at all to D'oreale). Security is good and we felt safe at all times but I was a target of an ATM scam. Most ATMs are inside small (3M x 3M) rooms to provide privacy while using the machine. I went to a machine in Cape Town near teh V&A (tourist area). When I went to enter the room with the ATM there was another man in the corner pretending to count the money he just took from the ATM. I waited for him to finish but he motioned me to come in to use the machine. I entered my card but the screen didn't make sense. He leaned over to 'help' by resetting the machine to the proper screen (OK, it should have been obvious somethign was happening but it seemed very innocent at the time!). The machine then reset to a screen that made sense and I entere my PIN (without paying attention to him). I took my money and left.

Later I rec'd a call from VISA and they told me that my purchasing habits were unusual and they went through some of the charges. Obviously I had been scammed. I don't know how they obtained the card data, I suspect the guy was looking over my shoulder or had a camera when I entered my PIN. The recommendation: Make sure you are alone in the room, cover your hand while entering the PIN and, most importantly, if something is weird then get out! I should not have entered the room with him present and I should have pulled my card and left as soon as it seemed fishy. Live and learn. Visa gave me the money back despite the fact that it was my fault.

Don't let this scare you off - we had a great time in SA. Just remember to be careful, particularly around ATMs (ATM scams are common).

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dlm924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank giovanni c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank leonardo p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gabi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andresgaz1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
1.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,387 reviews
3 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#10 of 26 in Kempton Park
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace

Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#8 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $141 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors PalaceDiscover untold luxury and regal comfort...The 5-star Peermont D'oreale Grande hotel at Emperors Palace is conveniently located next to OR Tambo International Airport in Johannesburg. The hotel features 192 elegant rooms and suites all lavishly furnished in superior style and the exclusive Club Floor and Lounge on the 5th Floor offers superior concierge services. The opulent surroundings are complimented with state-of-the-art facilities for added ease and comfort. Dine at the elegant Aurelia's restaurant, indulge your senses at Octavia's Sensorium health and beauty spa or sip on a cocktail while watching the African sunset kiss the earth goodnight at Neptune's Pool Bar. Guests also have access to the casino, dining and entertainment facilities of the resort. Emperors Palace. The Palace of Dreams ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont d`Oreale Grande At Emperor`s Palace Hotel Kempton Park
d Oreale Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing