We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our stay twice for one night each” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Kanpur, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“our stay twice for one night each”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

we stayed her as transit passangers on our visit to south africa for a family holiday to catch flights and spent two nights. excellent hotel part of gated campound of emperors palace hotel and casinocomprising of 3 hotels of which d oreale grand is the best. there is a food court,cinema hall and a shopping complex with lots of fun activities for kids.

Room Tip: we alays had a ront room giving us view of majestic fountain in the front of hotel and thus rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sushil59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review received, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Anna-Lize Scully
Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Conventions Resort
011 928 1732
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    289
    129
    58
    40
See reviews for
172
408
43
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were upgraded to a suite room at this hotel due overbooking of the standard room that we have booked before this. Truly an amazing experience and the staff professionalism in attending to their guest is superb. Breakfast is fantastic with lots of variety. This hotel is located inside a series of casinos and fun parks with different themes. Interesting place to be with multiple of restaurants and bars for food and hang out with reasonable price tags. Perfect layover for continuing another journey in SA. Highly recommended for anyone. Put aside the price of the room where most of the SA hotels are relatively pricey. One plus point for this hotel is that it's 15 minutes away from the airport and there's a free shuttle.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your beautiful review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Kind Regards
Anna-Lize Scully
Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Conventions Resort
+27119281732
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on May 2014 as a family, my husband and I and our 3 daughters, as we were touring Johannesburg and its sights, before we went to Cape Town. As we entered the hotel lobby, they welcomed us with a scented hot towel that felt good, as it was a cold day. My husband and I stayed in a Premiere Suite while our 3 daughters were in an Executive Suite. The rooms were of good size, clean and had complete, luxurious amenities. The beds were huge and comfortable. The Premiere Suite has a receiving area with a kitchenette and a powder room, aside from the main bedroom. Our bathroom in the main bedroom of the Premiere Suite was divided into 2 areas, the first with the bathtub and the washbasins and the other with the toilet and showers. Food in the hotel was great too. Our dinner at Aurelia’s was excellent. The breakfast buffet was likewise great, with varied choices. The reception staff was professional, though not too friendly. I guess because there were just so many guests. The hotel while generally good, though also needs some improvements in certain areas. Like the sofa bed, which served as the extra bed in the Executive Suite, was already lumpy and did not provide a good back support mattress. My 3rd daughter just stayed in the bed with her sisters. Good thing that the bed was big enough for the three of them. Also, only one elevator was working during the 2 days that we were there. The waiting for the elevator was so long that one time; we decided to use the stairs that passed through some service areas. It got fixed only on the 3rd day. The hotel is in the Emperor’s Palace Complex where they have the famous casino. It’s just too bad that we had little interest in casinos as we heard that they were nice. Overall, this five star hotel is a great place to stay in the Johannesburg area near the airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for supporting Emperors Palace

We appreciate the time it takes to bring to our attention the service issues that you experienced at our property. Your comments are taken very seriously and are fully investigated by each department manager to ensure that we constantly improve our standards

Kind regards

Anna-Lize Scully
Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Conventions Resort
011 928 1732
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Perfect for an overnight stay in jo'burgh. Fun casino (though be aware of locals looking of tourists who don't know what they're doing and want to teach in exchange for drinks / chips). We were upgraded to the 5th floor which gives access to a lounge with free alcohol and food which meant we didn't need dinner, would recommend paying for this.
One tip would be to ensure you're aware of the transfers situation on arrival at the airport - we were.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time it takes to bring to our attention the service issues that you experienced at our property. Your comments are taken very seriously and are fully investigated by each department manager to ensure that we constantly improve our standards

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards

Anna-Lize Scully
Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Conventions Resort
011 928 1732
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klerksdorp, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night to celebrate my birthday and what a treat it was!
The room is of 5 star quality and staff are friendly yet professional.
I highly recommend supper at the hotel as the restaurant manager is fantastic and the food just as good! Breakfast was to die for with so much variety, be sure to put extra time as side to fully enjoy the breakfast buffet
;)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sarah123458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for supporting Emperors Palace.

On behalf of all management and employees at Emperors Palace, we would like to thank you sincerely for your kind comments.

These will be passed onto the specific department so that we can use the opportunity to praise the employees and create a positive awareness of caring guests

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards
Anna-Lize Scully
Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Conventions Resort
0119281732
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Ok, lets get the good things out of the way.

The location is ok, its a relatively short shuttle from the airport (albeit at the end of the shuttle run). There is a nice looking park/garden area out the back. The food is quite good for dinner at the main restaurant and the buffet breakfast is actually very good. I am afraid that is where it stopped for us.

We stayed one night on two separate occasions. The first time we had checked in post a more than week long hike in Malawi. There was one thing we needed to get - internet. We get to the room (wifi included!) and.....no bars. No bars anywhere in the room. Oh, and with the energy saving lightbulbs (oh isn't it great to care for the planet), we can't see much of anything in the room; very dark.

We call the front desk who put us on to the IT people. They come, about 30 minutes later to confirm that indeed, there are no bars in the room. Thanks for that. The mess around for about 20 minutes in the room to no avail. I tell them its likely time to reset the router or something but nope, they will get back to us. Basically, an hour and change later, we end up ordering room service. We called the front desk who dutifully told us IT was either 1) coming or 2) working on it EIGHT times. Did I mention, EIGHT times with no result or contact?

Basically we get no internet that evening and finally, exhausted, go to bed with no resolution. Fortunately, the next morning, someone must have done something and we managed to get about 30 minutes of connection time before having to leave for the airport and onto Botswana where we wouldn't be seeing access for another week. Buffet breakfast was good though.

A week later, we (unfortunately) had to route through Jberg and were booked by our agent in this place again. Surely we couldn't run into the same problem again. Yuppers. You know its bad when the cleaning staff mention that one part of the hotel doesn't get great reception (the part we were in previously) and the part we were in on this routing was....no bars again! I ran into people in the elevator who were also not getting anything. Its like a plague...of non service.

This time I was furious and went to the front desk demanding someone do something. After a lot of nothing happening and me returning to the room to wait for help and then returning to the front desk only to have the IT person go to the room while I was at the front desk (!), we get offered an upgrade to a suite that might have better access. It does, there are bars. Its like heaven...well, other than that the non smoking suite has a window open venting the smell of cigarette smoke from the previous guest.

If I had wrote this review at my most po'd, this place would have got a zero if possible. As such, even with dark rooms and horrible internet, the food and buffet breakfast make it tolerable at a push but I would not recommend it nor would I stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review received, we are disappointed to learn of your negative experience with us. If you could please make contact with us on, ascully@emperorspalace.com or +27 011 928 1732 to discuss further.

We are looking forward to hearing from you soonest

Kind Regards
Anna-Lize Scully
Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Conventions Resort
+27 11 928 1732
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

You would never say you are in the middle of Johannesburg, the facility , food and everything is awesome you feel like a queen when you are there and the Octavia's spa is to die for. I was really stressed out and relaxed the moment I entered the doors and was treated like a queen does not matter who you are they make you feel special what an awesome experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments received, we are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards

Anna-Lize Scully
Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Conventions Resort
011 928 1732
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
1.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.4 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace

Property: Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#8 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors PalaceDiscover untold luxury and regal comfort...The 5-star Peermont D'oreale Grande hotel at Emperors Palace is conveniently located next to OR Tambo International Airport in Johannesburg. The hotel features 192 elegant rooms and suites all lavishly furnished in superior style and the exclusive Club Floor and Lounge on the 5th Floor offers superior concierge services. The opulent surroundings are complimented with state-of-the-art facilities for added ease and comfort. Dine at the elegant Aurelia's restaurant, indulge your senses at Octavia's Sensorium health and beauty spa or sip on a cocktail while watching the African sunset kiss the earth goodnight at Neptune's Pool Bar. Guests also have access to the casino, dining and entertainment facilities of the resort. Emperors Palace. The Palace of Dreams ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont d`Oreale Grande At Emperor`s Palace Hotel Kempton Park
d Oreale Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing