We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Honeymoon Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here only one night during our honeymoon in South Africa. We booked the honeymoon special, which gave us breakfast, great tasting sparkling wine, and a nice suite that had a living room, 2 bathrooms and a nice bedroom. The room was fantastic, there was a nice pool, the breakfast had a lot of options, and the access to Emperor's Palace was perfect for our one night layover in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Storm4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    289
    129
    58
    40
See reviews for
172
408
43
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
212 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We decided to spend New Year's Eve at Dóreale and booked a special package on floor 5 which is now the club suites. Staying on this floor gives you added benefits such as access to the club lounge. You can relax in the club lounge with free drinks and canapes and breakfast is served here in the mornings. Additional free services also included a newspaper of your choice, free shoe-cleaning and one free laundry service (for one set of clothes per perosn)
Sometimes these little additional touches are all it takes to raise the standards up a notch and give one a feeling of being pampered

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

D'Oreale Grande suffers from the same condition as so many luxury hotels - so caught up in being impressive it lacks any character and feels like staying in a hospital.
Agree with previous comments about staff, although my experience was not as bad. Went to restaurant which appeared quite empty and asked for a table for 1. Was told maybe after 9:30. Sat back and watched others get seated. Felt like putting my suit on and trying again, but decided on room service. Telephone did not work. Went to reception who advised someone would fix it shortly. As far as I know it still does not work. Gave up after an hour and went to the restaurants in the casino. What I thought was friendly service was just trying to get me to order more and get more money out of me. When asking for the bill I was instead presented with a dessert selection. When paying (and adding a large tip, I still thought they were just being friendly) I was advised their was a service charge. I suggested they take it out of the etra cash I added (which still left a tip).
Not a happy experience. I feel I would have had a better time at the 4 or 3 star places in the same complex. If I ever get to JHB again I woild consider these, but not the Grande.
Major redeeming feature is the bed was the most comfortable bed of any hotel I have ever slept in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerul, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed at Doreale in Oct 2013 with a group of 10 people. We got to see the first sight of staff rudeness when one old gentleman form our group asked to handle the bag carefully as same had few glass items inside, to which staff replies and asked that old man to carry that bag himself......secondly when I did group check in, immediately after that girl at reception before I ask her few details tell me to leave the reception as some other group came in ...which was really rude and inhospitable.....Staff was greedy, they themself used to come forward to help us and then were asking for tips.....

Hotel is nice, even rooms are good....but staff is intolerable....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Airport hotels can often be somewhat drab and characterless - the Peermont D'oreale Grande takes things to the other extreme and is a really interesting option for those looking to stay close to OR Tambo airport.

Behind the laughable and tacky Vegas-style decor there is a really good quality hotel, with great service, wonderful food and modern, comfortable rooms. As part of the Emperor's Palace complex, there are plenty of dining options for those who are staying longer - also in contrast to most airport hotels.

If you are willing to embrace the hideous decor, this is a really great choice for an airport hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

And so we went back to the DG , with friends this time ,and had the " perfect date " package , really nice value for money , and we had a lot of fun. We saw a show ( Alison Moyet , the "soundtrack of our youth" , she was fabulous)and were very impressed with our dinner at Aurelias , the chicken was especially good and unusually prepared to boot. Breakfast was it's usual sumptuous affair , and the Club Floor is worth the extra , lovely suites and guest lounge has delicious snacks and a wide beverage choice included in your rack rate.
Pool is lovely and the weather made for a perfect sunbathing morning. We didnt use the spa but I have been before , it is worth a booking , be sure to do so ahead of time. The Christmas lights in the pool garden were beautiful and drew a large crowd , but it added to the ambience , the hotel had a lovely festive atmosphere and we had a great time.

Room Tip: Try book the Club Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
225 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Peermont is a very fancy hotel near Johannesburg airport. There are a several hotels and a casino in the complex. Our hotel was called the Peermont D'oreale Grande. My wife thought the decor was Italian but for me it looked like an outpost of the British Empire.

For some reason, they had upgraded us to the Club Floor on the top floor. There were porters and helpers everywhere.

We were tired after our long plane trip from Sydney and so we had a refreshing shower before heading out to explore the hotel complex. The first step was to have a complementary drink in the club room on our floor. The Ashes cricket telecast was still running on the big screen TV in the lounge and we watched the Australian innings until stumps.

We walked through the casino and found a shopping street that was an imitation Italian street scene. It had an artificial sky, cafes and restaurants. Most of the people seemed to be locals enjoying a Saturday night out.

The hotel has very good WiFi reception in the room, club room, etc. We got two vouchers at reception and another two in the club room and so we had free internet access for almost all our devices.

Breakfast the next day in the Club Room was exceptionally good - an excellent choice of food, outstanding service and impressive decor.

After breakfast, we explored the complex again including the gardens. At the front of the complex, there is a long water feature with a huge fountain structure based on a chariot race.

This was a good choice for an overnight stay close to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
1.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.4 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace

Property: Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#8 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors PalaceDiscover untold luxury and regal comfort...The 5-star Peermont D'oreale Grande hotel at Emperors Palace is conveniently located next to OR Tambo International Airport in Johannesburg. The hotel features 192 elegant rooms and suites all lavishly furnished in superior style and the exclusive Club Floor and Lounge on the 5th Floor offers superior concierge services. The opulent surroundings are complimented with state-of-the-art facilities for added ease and comfort. Dine at the elegant Aurelia's restaurant, indulge your senses at Octavia's Sensorium health and beauty spa or sip on a cocktail while watching the African sunset kiss the earth goodnight at Neptune's Pool Bar. Guests also have access to the casino, dining and entertainment facilities of the resort. Emperors Palace. The Palace of Dreams ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont d`Oreale Grande At Emperor`s Palace Hotel Kempton Park
d Oreale Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing