We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great airport stop over, glitzy but excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great airport stop over, glitzy but excellent staff”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed on the fourth floor same room really quiet room twice, next to suite. Non smoking floor.
The main restaurant for breakfast had a huge variety of different nationality food.
The staff were helpful and courteous.
We had dinner in same area twice, one a buffet and the other a la carte. The service was exceptional and the food delicious all prepared and decorative. Meat tender and well cooked. Love pumpkin soup here.
The shower head in bath kept falling off on to our ankles, when we moved out quickly. Told reception, but when we came back week later, it still was not fixed. So told reception it could hit a smaller person on the head. Within the hour it was fixed.

Over all a very pleasant stay in this splendiferous resort!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    301
    139
    62
    45
See reviews for
185
432
45
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at this palace , but it is far from the 5 star category in regards to the cleanliness and the neatness of the rooms. The best part that the hotel is connected internally to the biggest casino around. The other options of the theaters and the shopping area based on the theme of Venetian Hotels is wonderful . There are huge options of restaurants and cafés .. Overall was a pleasant stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEVz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

On a business trip to Joburg was put up here on the club floor
Private lounge etc but the rest of the hotel was very good. Will definitely come here as a stopover for holidays as very secure and close to airport.
The Emporer's Palace is a mini Vegas, ie cheap tacky gambling, but there are many good restaurants in the complex and like I say in SA security is a main priority.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I spent one night on a business trip at the D'oreale Grande as all other hotels near the airport were fully booked. Having previously stayed at other properties at Emperors Palace I was able to make an accurate comparison. This hotel is nice but far from a 5* property - at a 5* hotel I would expect international adaptors, high quality bath amenities including a bathrobe, a newspaper deleivered to the room, maybe a fruit basket and a welcome note etc. None of these were available during my stay. The breakfast was good but not any better than in the other hotels on the proerty, but so crowded due to lack of tables that it became uncomfortable. Some tables were almost "on top of each other" in order to create space. The size of the room is only slightly larger than in the Peermont Metcourt and the 3x higher price certainly isnt justified. This hotel is nice, but not worth spending the extra money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZAcouple_in_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
603 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here on 2 separate nights both before and after going to a safari park.

On both visits we caught the free airport shuttle which leaves from the bus terminal at Johannesburg airport (to go to the hotel) and from the hotel (to go to the airport) approximately every 20 minutes and takes about 20 minutes to arrive at the D'Oreale Grande or airport. The bus seated approximately 19 people and had a trailer on the back to carry the luggage. The 20 minute journey both to and from the airport included stops at 2 other hotels in the casino complex. Check-in/check-out at the hotel was very smooth. On the first occasion we were upgraded to a junior suite on the 4th floor which was quite luxurious with a separate lounge room (with what I will call a lounge room ensuite containing a toilet and wash basin off to one side), large bedroom with king size bed, enormous bathroom with separate spa bath and shower, twin wash basins and another separate room at the end of the bathroom that contained a toilet. All rooms were very clean and the bed comfortable. There were dressing gowns and slippers in the cupboard and free bottled water beside the bed.

WIFI was free and worked well. There was a safe, satellite TV with a huge range of channels and we also received a turn down service in the evening.

On the second occasion we unfortunately did not receive an upgrade but nevertheless the room that we had was again on the 4th floor and was reasonably large, very clean and quite comfortable. The bathroom was a good size with the shower, on this occasion, located in the bath. Shower pressure was very good. There was a safe and again the free WIFI worked very well.

The breakfast buffet was perhaps the most extensive I have ever seen and included seafood (oysters and prawns) all types of juices and cold meats, cheeses, cereals etc plus a vast array of Asian food and other hot options including omelettes, waffles, eggs any way etc. Unfortunately on the first morning we must have encountered several tour groups as there was quite a long queue and we were seated in an area outside of the large dining room. On the second occasion it was fairly empty and we were seated by a window. We did not miss out on anything on the first morning though as the buffet was being regularly restocked.

One of the significant advantages we believe of staying in this hotel is that you are connected to the casino and the restaurant/food court area via enclosed walkways that provides protection from the elements as well as personal safety. There was also a vast array of dining options available from Greek to Asian to Seafood to fast food etc. We ate at the Greek restaurant which we thought was very good.

Another significant advantage of staying at this hotel is being able to use, for free, their very extensive and secure luggage storage area. We, as well as a significant number of others, left our large hard sided bags here while we transferred a small amount of clothes into a small soft-sided bag to travel on the small planes to and from our safari camps.

All the staff that we encountered, but particularly the check-in staff and luggage porters, were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel before travelling to Europe. Check-in on the club floor was very efficient. We enjoyed our breakfast on level 5 with avgreat view over the casino.
The hotel infrastructure is perfect. You can also find a lot of restaurants within the casino complex.
We will definitely go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E1Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We recently stayed at the D'Oreale Grand on our travels through South Africa on a trip to Victoria Falls. We stayed at the D'Oreale both on our outward Journey, as well as our return as an overnight stayover in Johanesburg was required on each connection. We had historically stayed at Emporer's Palace and the D'Oreale given its proximity and ease of access from the airport 20 minutes), and there are a number of restaurants within the complex for the family to choose from.

On our inward journey, we stayed in a family club room as we have two small children. Although the rooms are a little tight, it meets our needs. On the return leg, we again had a family club room. When we arrived, as I believe the family room was not available, we were upgraded to a larger suite and a non-connecting room. Although we could not all sleep in the same room, the larger suite made the evening much more comfortable. As we were tired, we chose to have room service and eat in as the larger room had a table for dining which was very convenient and appreciated with small children. The other nice feature of the hotel is the Breakfast. They offer breakfast in the club, but our children much more prefer eating in the main dining area where there is a larger selection and they fix fresh waffles, omelets, etc. The breakfast is definitely the highlight our stay each time for the kids.

What impressed me the most with the D'Oreale, was that when I booked for this trip, and requested rooms for a follow-on trip that we have one month later, the D'Oreale advised me of some discounts I qualified that I was not aware of. It was very appreciated for the hotel to advise and honor these discounts as the focus was clearly on a long-term customer relationship and not on maximizing revenue from a single booking . . in the hotel world I have found that harder and harder to come by.

Overall, an enjoyable stay with nice accomodations, and a great Breakfast location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
1.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,064 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
1.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace

Property: Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#8 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors PalaceDiscover untold luxury and regal comfort...The 5-star Peermont D'oreale Grande hotel at Emperors Palace is conveniently located next to OR Tambo International Airport in Johannesburg. The hotel features 192 elegant rooms and suites all lavishly furnished in superior style and the exclusive Club Floor and Lounge on the 5th Floor offers superior concierge services. The opulent surroundings are complimented with state-of-the-art facilities for added ease and comfort. Dine at the elegant Aurelia's restaurant, indulge your senses at Octavia's Sensorium health and beauty spa or sip on a cocktail while watching the African sunset kiss the earth goodnight at Neptune's Pool Bar. Guests also have access to the casino, dining and entertainment facilities of the resort. Emperors Palace. The Palace of Dreams ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont d`Oreale Grande At Emperor`s Palace Hotel Kempton Park
d Oreale Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing