We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The staff were excellent - courteous, friendly, knowledgable, efficient and all staff we encountered no matter where in the hotel greeted us even if we were only walking by - that is good customer service. My impression was that the porters "ran" to assist - they are great! We'll be back!

Room Tip: There is a major road nearby but there was surprisingly little roadnoise in the room. I would reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneytimeSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

I really did not care for the Peermount d’oreal Grand. Our travel agent booked us into this hotel for one night as we transferred from Johannesburg to a game lodge near Richards Bay. It was both more and less than we needed. More in the sense that staying in an overwrought miniature Las Vegas casino hotel circa 1980 was not what we had in mind. All the gold and marble was just over the top. Less because our room was so tiny that when the sofa sleep was extended we couldn’t handle move what remained of the space. The food was mediocre at best in the main restaurant and for some unknown reason it was absolutely meat-locker cold. Although we found this to be a problem in many places in South Africa during the winter, this hotel was by far the worst. I was literally shivering in while having dinner and I attribute the terrible cold I came down with the next day directly to my having to freeze my tail off while I ate. As we returned to the airport the following morning we saw that there were many other hotels in the vicinity which looked much more like your typical airport hotels, any one of which would have been a better choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expeditiondaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The stay was an average stay and definitely not as grand as it looks. Hard to get help from the staff plus the entire hotel had a weird bad smell (i think it was the carpets). Rooms were good and comfortable but lacking bedroom slippers. Don't eat the buffet at Queen of the Niles - great spread but horrible food

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyx799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel was nearby the JNB airport and located in the Casino complex which provided excellent venue for entertainment as as well great places for outstanding food choices. The hotel did not provide a shuttle service to the airport and that could have added to its value.

Room Tip: Not sure which room would provide good barrier to planes taking off and landing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msr345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Reasonably priced and well appointed rooms;
breakfast buffet delicious;
lovely grounds out back for strolling and tennis courts barely used but in excellent shape
part of a massive casino complex, the Doreal Grande is the nicest of the hotels at emporer's palace, free shuttle to and from the airport.
the only item that continually confounds me is the lengthy and annoying check in process, no one seems trained or particularly interested in their job.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Peermont D'oreale for one night in July. It was at the start of our African holiday. The hotel is very convenient with a free shuttle from the airport. We had pre-paid our room through one of the online booking sites so we were surprised that we were upgraded to a club room. The room was good, overlooking the beautiful gardens. We had breakfast in the Club Room which was nice and intimate with good service.

There is plenty of choice for meals at the food complex. You go through the casino to get there. It is worth a visit just to check out the ceiling which are painted like the sky.

We were very happy with our hotel choice and it was certainly easy to get back to the airport the next morning for our flight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is close to O.R.Tambo airport and was just what we needed for nights between flights in South Africa. It is in the casino complex, so there is lots to do and a great variety of choices for restaurants. The room is what you would expect in a nice hotel, breakfast buffet was very good, and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
1.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 27 in Kempton Park
2,434 reviews
3 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#10 of 27 in Kempton Park
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace

Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#8 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $158 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors PalaceDiscover untold luxury and regal comfort...The 5-star Peermont D'oreale Grande hotel at Emperors Palace is conveniently located next to OR Tambo International Airport in Johannesburg. The hotel features 192 elegant rooms and suites all lavishly furnished in superior style and the exclusive Club Floor and Lounge on the 5th Floor offers superior concierge services. The opulent surroundings are complimented with state-of-the-art facilities for added ease and comfort. Dine at the elegant Aurelia's restaurant, indulge your senses at Octavia's Sensorium health and beauty spa or sip on a cocktail while watching the African sunset kiss the earth goodnight at Neptune's Pool Bar. Guests also have access to the casino, dining and entertainment facilities of the resort. Emperors Palace. The Palace of Dreams ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont d`Oreale Grande At Emperor`s Palace Hotel Kempton Park
d Oreale Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing