We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excuse me , Shower in the Bath , Really??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I was shocked that the 5 Star D'Oreale Grande was rated a 5 star hotel , clearly it should not be . The South African Tourism Grading Councel for 5 star hotels stipulates a bath and shower must be a separate. The room was very small and balcony the size of a shoe box. The toiletries they supply the quality is very poor , bring your own. The service at the Aurelia's Resturant for Breakfast and Lunch was shocking. No one served me during breakfast and for lunch i had a total of 3 waiters that could not be interested in me in fact telling me the kitchen was closed at one point . Never again .

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel , the sister hotel Mondeor a min away is worth it and cost a fraction of the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

672 - 678 of 990 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

It is a large complex with the main function being Casino and food court surrounded by hotel and conference centre. Of all the hotels this is the better one claiming 5 stars.
Rooms are comfortable and bathroom is good. Lobby is very uninspiring and the bar unattractive. Restaurant nicely located with a terrace towards the garden and pool. Staff is friendly and provide the required service but especially at breakfast it is the minimum level. The walk from the hotel to the conference centre is depressing; at least I find it a sad sight to see many people hanging behind slot machines at 09.00 in the morning. The food court with its fake sky ceiling completes that picture.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutch1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Came here for an 8 day business trip and this hotel made the trip fantastic. The service was great and everyone was very friendly. The breakfast in the hotel is fantastic. The rooms are comfortable, nothing really special.

Room Tip: Get a room on the pool side, that way you won't hear the clubs/bars across the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmjacoboski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Not a five star hotel in my opinion, and especially not five star service! We stayed here overnight, and on arrival there was no greeting, no porters and no concierge. Our group of 6 people carried our own bags into the hotel and even after check in no assistance with luggage was offered. We experienced much the same on checkout.
Our group met in the bar for pre dinner drinks and found the service VERY slow, and once again rather disappointing with a small wine list, and then 2 wines not even being available!
The breakfast buffet was very nice with a large selection, but staff were not helpful and the coffee was instant!
The rooms were smaller than expected and the shower over the bath was not great.
All in all not a five star experience and rather dismal - glad to have only stayed one night!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TamlynK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is not a five star hotel. At best it is a four star. My wife and I stayed here for one night en-route to a safari and one night en-route back to the UK. On both occasions we had a standard room on the 4th floor which was quite clean but battered and worn. The biggest problem was the restaurant, Aurelia's on both visits. It is trying to be something it is not and there was a marked decline in its ability to deliver quality and service between the two visits which were two weeks apart. The staff try really hard but are let down by the Kitchen which cannot cope with more than 20 people and the menu is far too grand and complex for what the size of the kitchen will allow. The trouble is that the only alternatives are the fast food places in the Emperors Palace or take a taxi into town, or stay at another hotel. I would suggest the later is probably the best course of action.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool not the car park and casino which tends to be noisy late at night es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Good quality hotel with plenty of amenaties, more designed for couples and business people than families.

Close to casino and entertainment centre, and bar and food prices were reasonable.

The service to obtain food and drink around the pool was very slow, and the pool itself was cold and could do with a good clean around the fountain

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PRSLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on business during January as it was apparently billed as a 5 star hotel.

Its not 5 star although it does try very hard, a bed with albeit clean but sheets with holes, and a TV that drives you mad if you can see the picture through the interference.... oh dear.

The room I had was a double and had to wait two hours before it was made available but I did arrive at 12.00 midday, but it did seem a long time to prepare. It was not large but again not small so I cant complain here. The bathroom was as expected clean and tidy with all the normal amenities.

The plus for this hotel is the location, convenient for the airport and with a host of decent restaurants on its doorstep, plenty of free parking right outside the hotel, oh and the casino if you enjoy parting with your money.

Staff were always very helpful so no complaints here.

So in summary, a decent hotel with a few improvements necessary to make it a 5 star establishment, but all in all one I would stay in again but would try to get a discount next time as its a bit pricey in my opinion.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
1.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,260 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace

Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#8 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $174 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors PalaceDiscover untold luxury and regal comfort...The 5-star Peermont D'oreale Grande hotel at Emperors Palace is conveniently located next to OR Tambo International Airport in Johannesburg. The hotel features 192 elegant rooms and suites all lavishly furnished in superior style and the exclusive Club Floor and Lounge on the 5th Floor offers superior concierge services. The opulent surroundings are complimented with state-of-the-art facilities for added ease and comfort. Dine at the elegant Aurelia's restaurant, indulge your senses at Octavia's Sensorium health and beauty spa or sip on a cocktail while watching the African sunset kiss the earth goodnight at Neptune's Pool Bar. Guests also have access to the casino, dining and entertainment facilities of the resort. Emperors Palace. The Palace of Dreams ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont d`Oreale Grande At Emperor`s Palace Hotel Kempton Park
d Oreale Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing