We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only the best - if you can afford it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Lancaster UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Only the best - if you can afford it!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed 1 night (ex Safari and prior to departure to Mauritius) having had the place booked as part of a three week holiday. What an experience! It was 5* accomodation with ALL the trimmings including so many options. In the late afternoon we snacked in an apparently new "Hooters" American 'food outlet' situated prominently within the grounds. The ambience was so tacky it was actually surreal and totally unexpected (in the overall 1st Class environment) and typically American - staff dessed as 'cheer leaders' (dressed al a Baywatch cast) singing loudly encouraging participation whilst wishing a (poor unexpected) guest a Happy Birthday - loud and brash! Ate a burger and similar as a necessary 'snack' prior to a later formal dinner in the 'Aurelia's Restaurant',which is the main hotel restaurant where breakfast is served. This later formal meal was exceptional and in a very subdued,quiet and low key environment - as anticipated and with very good service. Drinks reasonable and the food of very high quality. Settled into our room with ease. Breakfast was exceptional with so many choices including 'ready to go' oysters! Nothing was too much trouble and all food (from many continents)and the individual service was of brilliant quality. The environment was spectacular and plush with a beautiful garden outlook. No faults noted, staff attentive to needs and if you can afford it, it is a must. Gambling is not my thing but the associated Casino seemed busy +++ and appeared to be frequented by locals in the main, who were seemingly intent upon losing all their money - and as quickly as possible. The whole experience was totally bizarre, reminescent of (imagined) scenes from LA and added to the trip hugely. Safety was not an issue (after earlier experiencing Cape town) and the whole night was enjoyable ++++.
So I can only say - go for it and walk about the whole complex, soaking up the various genres. Thanks to all the staff!

Room Tip: Whatever you can afford!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filemanLancasterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    295
    132
    59
    44
See reviews for
175
422
45
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

After a long flight this hotel offers a haven to relax with all the fun and facilities that go with a mini casino city. Excellent friendly service and quality rooms. I can highly recommend the spa .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyWestcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender, Nebraska
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This hotel is fantastic should you have the means to visit. I found myself here on business and, even on the weekend, they had all the services you would expect from an upscale hotel. I arrived after 7:00 pm and needed a shirt pressed. They had it back to me within an hour. There's plenty to do as there are many restaurants and a casino attached. The breakfast is included with the room rate and is quite good. It is a short drive from the airport in Johannesburg, or they offer a shuttle.

Room Tip: Some rooms have two twin beds pushed together, others have queen beds. They are more than accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
287 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This world class hotel does not only offer the finest 5 star accommodation, it also provides REAL VIP treatment if you overnight there for a special occasion. My wife and I decided to spend our wedding anniversary there, and were totally overwhelmed by the treatment received. We were welcomed in their normal warm and efficient way at reception and accompanied by a very friendly and helpful porter to our room. Upon reaching our room we were thrilled to discover that we had been upgraded to an executive suite. My wife was totally overcome with emotion to view our specially prepared room. A basket containing champagne and snacks was placed in the entrance area, while the bedroom and bathroom was beautifully decorated with rose petals. Our gowns and slippers also neatly placed out for us. We enjoyed dinner at our favourite South African restaurant, Aurelia’s, located inside the D’oreal Grande. A most enjoyable evening was concluded with my wife and I relaxing in the Jacuzzi bath that this suite offers, enjoying a bottle of champagne!
Thank you Dóreal Grande for providing us with a wonderful, relaxing and romantic stay that turned our 5th wedding anniversary into a most memorable occasion.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for 1 night prior to our departure to a Game Reserve.

Very luxurious room and fittings, very comfortable bed and soft towels with good bath amenities.

We hosted dinner that night with a resident relative of Johanesburg and between us enjoyed an absolutely perfect dinner of Karoo rosemary lamb and Kingclif fish. A bottle of excellent pinotage complemented our meal. Breakfast next morning was a delight! Many buffet choices and a lovely garden view.

Value here is excellent and all staff were extremely friendly and efficient. Recommend highly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuppy1Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night because of a flight layover. It is a 5 minute drive from the airport and the hotel has a free shuttle that runs every 20 minutes.m. The staff was friendly and rooms were updated and clean. The hotel is connected to a casino, mall and food court so there are many options for the evening. With our package, breakfast was included. There was a great breakfast buffet with made to order hot items and a wide choice of fruits, breads, juices and yogurts. We needed to coordinate a last minute visit to the airport trave Clinic. The staff was so helpful in setting up transport and calling the clinic for us. Great job!

I actually wish I had a little more time at the hotel to explore the pool and spa.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The hotel is part of a huge complex of casino called Emperor's palace. Very busy and lively place with several restaurants to choose from. There are other hotels too within the complex but this is suppose to be the most luxurious. Having said that it certainly is very nicely made and oozes with luxury.

I had booked an executive suite (ZAR 3540 per night) and upon check in got upgraded to one of their Presidential suites (room 515). The room was top notch with fabulous facilities like sauna, Jacuzzi, Large sitting room with a proper bar.

The check in to check out everything was smooth in the hotel and I faced no problems during my stay but that does not make a great experience. Small things like being able to check in the room or even escorted and explained about the various features of the room, Hotel staff smiling and greeting you when they pass by in the lobby, attentive and consistent service of the service staff at breakfast, a good concierge service, and several things like that make a great hotel which unfortunately this hotel lacks completely. Thus I say software is average. I travel 120-140 days a year and stay in 5 star hotels worldwide and this hotel is certainly there as far as room quality goes but service needs improvement.

Good:
Room
Location - being in a big complex it is buzzing
Breakfast - Very good
Airport shuttle is good
Excellent shower

Bad:
No real concierge service just some helpful trasport staff who have no clue about things
Average turn down service - Didn't bother to change the towels and just made the bed
Min bar - wat mini bar, empty fridge and you need for call room service even for extra water

Room Tip: if you wanna splurge on suite then book the presidential suite. The room just amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
1.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace

Property: Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#8 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors PalaceDiscover untold luxury and regal comfort...The 5-star Peermont D'oreale Grande hotel at Emperors Palace is conveniently located next to OR Tambo International Airport in Johannesburg. The hotel features 192 elegant rooms and suites all lavishly furnished in superior style and the exclusive Club Floor and Lounge on the 5th Floor offers superior concierge services. The opulent surroundings are complimented with state-of-the-art facilities for added ease and comfort. Dine at the elegant Aurelia's restaurant, indulge your senses at Octavia's Sensorium health and beauty spa or sip on a cocktail while watching the African sunset kiss the earth goodnight at Neptune's Pool Bar. Guests also have access to the casino, dining and entertainment facilities of the resort. Emperors Palace. The Palace of Dreams ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont d`Oreale Grande At Emperor`s Palace Hotel Kempton Park
d Oreale Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing