We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fab Hotel”
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We stayed here 1 night before our flight home. We had a large room with 2 double beds. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. I called down for a travel adapter and it arrived 5 minutes later. The iron and board took a little longer but no more than 15 mins.

The breakfast wasnt included in the cost of the room but was exceptional with lots of choice. Eggs were cooked to order and they made fresh waffles too with a variety of toppings.ie chocolate sauce, cream and cinnamon sugar. Wonderful dining room with views out to the pool area.

We asked concierge to ring Emirates help desk to check our flight and that was done straight away with no hassle. Free wine and cheese in the evening in the front lobby too. All in all a wonderful stay and a lovely end to our holiday in South Africa. Well done to the wonderful staff that made this hotel a pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank food4real1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    500
    225
    79
    55
See reviews for
221
306
134
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2009

We had a pleasant stay at the Southern Sun at the Johannesburg Airport. It has a free door to door shuttle which took five minutes. The rooms were comfortable, and the service very good. The restaurant buffet is fantastic, both for dinner and breakfast, very good value for the price. There is a welcome drink and food upon arrival in the afternoon, a very pleasant free welcome. Not too far away from places of interest, especially Sandton which is a great place to shop. A very pleasant stay in Johannesburg and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

We had a one night stay here after an overnight flight from the UK and before moving on to Natal. Watch out for scams at the airport if you ask for instructions at the information desk. We asked for directions to the shuttle bus and the staff sent us to a car park where youths insisted on walking with us 50 yards to the bus stop wheeling our luggage and then demanded a huge tip with menaces.
The hotel is a comfortable enough place with an outdoor pool and a decent restaurant - buffet, very close to the airport.
If you eat in the buffet or leave your room, DO NOT trust the hotel room safe; DO NOT book a table in the restaurant (just show up); and DO NOT let children wander about the hotel on their own. We booked a table for dinner at 7:00pm and left some belongings in the safe. When we returned at 8:00 the room had been broken into using a chisel, the safe had been forced open (apparently you just jimmy off the front panel, the batteries drop out, and the door pops open) and a mix of money, credit cards, mobile phones, camera and binoculars had been stolen. No other room was robbed so I assume someone knew we were out.
Staff were very helpful - moved us to another room, summoned police so we could make a report, waived charges. Police were sympathetic but not very efficient. e.g. they did not take our fingerprints to eliminate us. Fortunately I had taken passports and some money and credit cards with me to dinner and the rest was just money and things and inconvenience. Theft and crime in Jo'burg are widespread problems and our experience is almost certainly not unique. The hotel may well have made security improvements after our visit. But do keep your wits about you.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard2UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for two nights following an overseas plane trip before moving on to Durban. I chose those this hotel for its location and the room rates.

The rooms are cozy and the beds very comfortable which help to recover after a long flight. Furthermore, the room was clean, as was the bathroom. Room service was excellent and speedy.

The restaurant is ok, but nothing great. It is food for people who are simply too lazy to look for something decent. In fact when taking the shuttle to the airport (free) you have easy access to shopping and several restaurants.

The shuttle is very helpful although hard to find at first. It can be very helpful, especially when departing from the hotel (on the other hand, when waiting for the shuttle at the airport, you may well wait there for 15 minutes).

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Overall I would definately stay at this hotel again, which is not the best in the world; however, far one of the most agreeable airport hotels around and very calm and comfortable, allowing you to relax and freshen up for your onward journey.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 062211d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Southern Sun is located close to the airport which made it a convenient venue but it had no views. I stayed in a room with a king size bed and found it to be very comfortable. The bathroom facilities in the room were good too.
A security guard was placed at the entrance to the lifts on my floor and seemed to monitor the rooms well. This however, raised questions about the safety of guests in the hotel.
The buffet breakfast at the restaurant was also nice. However, staff at the front desk did not seem to have a pleasant demeanour.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guestofhonour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

I stay here a lot as I often connect through Oliver Tambo Airport at Joburg. I am usually not interested in spending too much time in getting to and from hotels in shuttle buses. This one is a 3 minute shuttle ride from the (well hidden) shuttle bus centre outside the airport terminal. Proximity to the airport is the biggest plus for this hotel. The only closer ones are the Hyatt (walking distance) but much more expensive and the transit hotel in the international terminal which I have never stayed in but heard bad things about.

The hotel is well appointed and offers good service with a reasonably streamlined check-in procedure. There are two classes of rooms. Both are fine. The superior basically has a refurbished, glass walled bathroom with a nice shower (no bath). The standard rooms have a less tizzed up bathroom but are otherwise the same. The beds are very comfortable with nice linen. Internet can be purchased at reasonable cost. There is a nice bar downstairs and a good hotel buffet style restaurant.

It basically has everything that you want in an airport hotel and is not too expensive (around R900-R1200)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welwitschia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
317 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

advantage is that hotel is very close to airport, check-inn a bit slow. I booked a room with king bed and a room with two beds. Room with king was not available at check inn. Rooms are standard, nothing fancy. They have an airport shuttle every 30 min.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.9 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Property: Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Address: Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class International Airport Hotel 500m away from the Airport serviced by a complimentary 24 hour shuttle every 15 min and with complimentary capped Wifi. Exceptional dining both buffet and a la carte with 24 hour room service. 24 Hour bar for the thirsty traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing