We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I visited South Africa and Kruger Park in September 2013.
We booked a package with Chrisna at Siyabona including a rental car, one night at this hotel at the airport upon our arrival and two nights each in Kruger and Sabi Sands.
The Southern Sun hotel at the JNB airport was very nice, clean and quiet, easily surpassed all expectations we might have had for our "airport hotel". It offered a vast selection of local food at buffets for dinner and breakfast and a tasting of local wines in the evening. The gift shop has a very good selection - so much that we wanted to come back to it at the end of our trip, but ran out of time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Lars A

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    516
    233
    80
    59
See reviews for
233
317
138
558
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

It was along term stay once the staff got to to know me some lasting friendships were made.i was commuting to the cape for me the location we excellent. Cabs are dependable from the front door. They have a nightly happy hour with some terrific South African wines to sample

Room Tip: Take a room far from the elevator quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerome J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Jerome J

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Nice place! beautiful lounge. Lovely room and the dinning are has a very pleasant outside look and feel! The staff is pleasant and helpful. The hotel has a modern look but is still cosy with lovely complimentary wine and fruits

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank heilavh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Heila,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

Have a lovely day.

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The shuttle service have to improve...no indication on pick-up point....arrived 22h00 and was only transferred to hotel at 22h45...arrived at Hotel at 23h00....fridge in room was emty with no cold water at all or any drinks..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Willie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Willie K,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and raising your concerns regarding our Complimentary Shuttle, I will raise this with our Drivers.

Please contact me should your travels bring you past Johannesburg in the future. louis.botha@tsogosun.com

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

On the airport OT Johannesburg with complimentary airport shuttles each 15 min.Each afternoon at. Lobby have complimentary difert kind of vine.juice and cheese. THE food in restorant is perfect at very reasenable price. The stuff is efficient. And friendly

Room Tip: At pool side on5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jana948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear jana948,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotonou, Benin
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

it is an okay place to stay if you reach joburg in afternoon/evening and have an international flight next morning.otherwise hotels in sandton area are much better to stay.if bills are settled in cash then hotel takes more than 100% advance as if customers will run away without settling bills

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank saikat1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Saikat1102,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey. We have beautiful Hotels in Sandton should your travels bring you back to Johannesburg.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed one night for a conference. The room was average, the bathroom needs a bit of renovation, no minibar. I could choose between a bath or a shower. Staff was very friendly. I did not go to the 5pm drinks. I found the buffet excellent. Lots of choices and everything delicious. For a short stayover, I would recommend this hotel. Free 500MB Wifi.The airport shuttle leaves every 15 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floristry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear floristry,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your conference and stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.9 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Property: Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Address: Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class International Airport Hotel 500m away from the Airport serviced by a complimentary 24 hour shuttle every 15 min and with complimentary capped Wifi. Exceptional dining both buffet and a la carte with 24 hour room service. 24 Hour bar for the thirsty traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing