We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very conveniently located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very conveniently located”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night while transiting between Kruger National Park and Zimbabwe. Our travel agent initially proposed an off-site boutique hotel, but we vetoed in favor of convenience and I'm glad we did. The hotel is a quick free shuttle ride away from the airport. The rooms are clean, average size but very comfortable. It was quiet--no loud neighbors or excess hallway noise. We had dinner at the restaurant, where there is a choice between a la carte or buffet service. We ordered a la carte and the food was great. The front desk staff was also very friendly. Overall, this is a perfect option for business travel, a late night arrival, or a night stay between travel days. The location was extremely convenient and, most importantly, we got a good night's rest here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djl485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Rdjl485

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor Survey.

We're deligted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    502
    225
    79
    56
See reviews for
223
307
134
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I agree with everything that RIchWerstSussex said but would add that I found the staff are very friendly, happy and helpful.

I had room service and the food was excellent.

I have stayed at this hotel twice recently and my only criticisms are (1) the rooms are quite dark, even during the day and (2) there is no iron or ironing boards in any the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seb322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Seb322

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor Survey.

We're deligted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel is just a couple of minutes away from the airport terminal and there is a free shuttle bus to and from every 15 minutes. The rooms are ok but could do with modernising but comfortable for a short stop. Each room has tea and coffee facilities and all the usual things you would expect in a hotel room. We ate in the hotel and it was very good. There was a buffet or a la carte menu available and have to say the food was good and plentiful. There is free wifi, a gym and an outside pool area. Each evening between 5pm-7pm complimentary cheese and wine is available in the hotel lobby, a nice touch and ideal pre dinner. I would stay here again and considering how close it is to the airport it was very quiet as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear RichWestSussex

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor Survey.

We're deligted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night after our flight from Manchester and our next flight to Phalabowra the next day. Peaceful night's sleep, the restaurant was comfortable with good food and excellent attentive staff. In the afternoon I just relaxed around the secluded pool in the sun. This hotel was a great start to our month long SA trip and we would DEFINATELY return, I just wished that I'd booked some more Southern Sun brand hotels if this one was anything to go by..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fsnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear FSNET,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel is in good shape, they have a good shuttle service to the airport (every 15 minutes), but coming to the hotel from the airport is not as convenient, yes the shuttle is every 15 minutes too, but to catch it you need to do some outdoor walking, which it is not too bad unless it is raining as happened to be the case. For this only reason I would check the other 2 options that have direct access to the airport (no need for shuttle). They do have free cheese and wine for 2 hours which are very enjoyable! and the food at their restaurant is good.

Room Tip: Cant tell as I did not check other rooms but mine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leomex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Leomex,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and our complimentary cheese & wine station.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Excellent location - 5 minutes drive from the OR Tambo International airport, Johhanesburg. The hotel runs a free shuttle to and from the airport every 15 minutes. Friendly and helpful staff, however the check-in and check-out process could be improved. Clean rooms, free WiFi. Prompt in-room dining service - food was generally good except for the dessert. Free welcome drinks between 17:00 - 19:00.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank US1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear US1511

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The hotel is a brief 5 minute (at the most) shuttle ride from the terminal, and one is greeted at the door by a friendly doorman. I would call the overall look of the hotel extravagant. Our group came in a bit early for check-in, and our rooms weren't ready yet. A few of us went to the bar and sat down to have refreshments and to wait. We were asked, rudely, to move to the corner without explanation. We complied, and it took forever for one of the servers to even acknowledge us even though they had to walk past us every time they went into the back, which seemed to be all the time.

When it was finally time to check in, I was placed on the other side of the hotel from the rest of my group. One of the last one of our group to check in was given a difficult time by the receptionist. She was told there may not be a room available yet, had a form thrust at her which she had to fill out with her address and sign. When she filled it out, the receptionist was not happy with it, threw it back at her and asked her if that was how she received her mail. There was no apology for the wait, and no friendliness in anything he did.

If you are not worried about customer service, the convenience of the location and the luxuriousness of the facilities would be a reason to consider staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostinspace4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear lostinspac4good,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the lapse in service received at the Hotel as this is not our standard of service.

Please contact me direct should your travels bring you past Johannesburg - louis.botha@tsogosun.com

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,030 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.9 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Property: Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Address: Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class International Airport Hotel 500m away from the Airport serviced by a complimentary 24 hour shuttle every 15 min and with complimentary capped Wifi. Exceptional dining both buffet and a la carte with 24 hour room service. 24 Hour bar for the thirsty traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing