We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best but not bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not the best but not bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

An airport hotel is a necessary evil - we only stay there because we have too. As far as options go, the Intercon next door is much better but much more expensive. The other airport hotels may offer better budget, but lack amenities and service.
This one manages to do everything well but nothing exceptional.
The shuttle bus ( a previous reviewer said they couldn't find the pick up point - follow the signs to "Hotel Shuttle") was on time and it was a mere 10 min wait. Check in was OK but seeing as I was early I had to wait. This is no problem, but I would like to ask reception to inform the guest when the room is ready (I was in the coffee shop) and checked back an hour later to find it had been ready a while. Small point but after being in a plane for a while, the sooner you can get to room the better!
The room was fine, decent beds, sound proofing, good linen, (towels a bit hard and grey) and good water pressure. I found the bathroom lighting to be a bit weak and shaving in twilight is not recommended!
Breakfast was acceptable but nothing special.
Check out was quick and easy.
Hotel parking if you have a hire car is expensive - and they only take cash.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for completing Trip Advisor survey and for your valuable support.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel soon.

Kind regards
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    482
    219
    76
    55
See reviews for
210
299
127
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CapeTown
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Returned here after a few years as we had had a pleasant time then. Unfortunately not this time. We arrived at 9.30pm after a flight from Dubai. No pointers to their pick-up point; asked airport staff where to go and they replied "walk to behind the Intercontinental Hotel, all the buses are there". Quite dimly lit path with a guy in a neon vest worn over normal clothing telling us to 'come this way'. There were no other people around, but as we saw no other path we warily followed him. At the pick-up point, he expected money for showing us the way! Bus driver was professional and friendly; quick drive to the hotel. Professional and friendly reception and check-in. Lobby spacious, welcoming and well-kept. The same cannot be said of the connecting rooms our family were assigned (251 and 252). Dull institutional beige colour-scheme, very grubby carpet (so happy I had brought along my previous hotel slippers), some badly-stained wooden furniture, towels did not feel 'washed'. Shower did not function properly, with water spouting from the shower-head and the bath tap at the same time, no matter what we did! No mini-bar. Room service toasted sandwiches and burger luke-warm and tasted average. Bed comfy with clean, good-quality linen. Had requested a non-smoking room, but it smelled of stale smoke, and a strong "off" smell in our entrance hall. These room entrance doors are above the open lobby, so sound travels up all night long, with much chatting and laughing; whether they were guests or staff I couldn't say, and I didn't really want to venture out in my pjays to peer over the wall into the lobby! No airport noise noticeable. Early wake-up for our Cape Town flight. Breakfast a decent array of food, no problem with service even though it was busy. Smooth efficient check-out and porter staff. Because of the grim room condition, I would not want to stay here again, and would consider other hotels in the vicinity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaysjournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Jaysjournal

Thank you for taking the time to complete the trip advisor survey.

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you while staying with us.

We will discuss your comments with the rest of our Management Team.

Kind regards

Louis-Andre Botha
Revenue Manager
Southern Sun O.R. Tambo International Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel gives you all you need when using Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo as hub for connecting flights. After a long haul from The Netherlands I always stay here to spend the night in the comfort of a good bed, swell room, and good service from a friendly staff.
It already starts with the shuttle service, well on time and regular, for the 5 min drive to the hotel.
For me it is an absolute must-stay, and if you stay longer than 1 night such is also not a problem at all.
The restaurant offers good food, and (tip: have a fillet steak, with peppersauce, it is the best around the Airport you will ever find) all in a warm atmosphere

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RondeBruijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear RondeBruijn,

Thank you for completing Trip Advisor survey and for your valuable support.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel soon.

Kind regards
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife asks me why I use this hotel whne passing through J'burg...there are 'better' hotels within easy reach after all.
Its about the convenience - walk to the bus stop and you are in the hotel in 20 mins or so even with a wait for the bus.
The Superior rooms are of a good standard but the standard rooms needs work - they are very tired!
The bar and restaurant are good - not fancy but comfy!
But the real reason to stay is the people - from the helpful and friendly reception staff to the lovely lady that cooks the eggs for breakfast they are amazing! Helpful, friendly and seem to really enjoy their work!
As long as they dont chnage I would always use this hotel.

Room Tip: Only go for the Supirior rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Robert T,

Thank you for completing Trip Advisor survey and for your valuable support. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel soon.

Kind regards
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Southern Sun was a very good transit hotel at the OR Tambo airport on the way to honeymoon! - easy to get to, friendly efficient services - and they added a personal touch for our honeymoon stay..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Deane,

Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor feedback and for your valuable support. Guest feedback and or comments play a vital role in our service delivery and or service promise thus we appreciate your comments and feedback as it assists us in future deliveries and implementations. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel soon.

Kind regards
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
324 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

--Location: 5 minute drive from the OR Tambo airport with a free shuttle every 15 minutes.
--Rooms: Standard sizes, comfortable beds, Heat/ A-C without thermostat (either off or on). Clean, contemporary. Large shower. Sound proof glass. 6 floors. Smoking and non-smoking rooms.
--Hotel: Typical lobby. Restaurant with buffet and menu choices. Breakfast includes custom- order omelette, waffles, muffins, juice, fruit, coffee, tea. Limited megabyte free wifi. Good service but not exceptional.
--Overall: A good option while overnighting in Johannesburg for a plane connection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Krawner

Thank you for completing Trip Advisor survey and for your valuable support. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and your stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel soon.

Kind regards
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with extremely large rooms, huge beds and good bathrooms. The room was a little dark, but there was absolutely no noise from the nearby airport. Check-in was seamless and despite my (very) early arrival, a room was made available for me. Housekeeping was extremely good with lots of attention to small details. Smoking rooms are available.

The hotel does provide free wireless, although the speed drops off considerably after about 4pm, to the point where you struggle to send simple emails.

Be careful of room service - they have a bad habit of messing up the order, & I was unfortunate enough to have someone else's meal charged to my room, which took some correcting.

There is a free shuttle service to the airport terminal which runs approximately every 10 minutes.

All in all, a good business location, though too far from Jo'B if you're looking for a vacation spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CISSPUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey and for your valuable support.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel soon.

Kind regards
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Property: Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Address: Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class International Airport Hotel 500m away from the Airport serviced by a complimentary 24 hour shuttle every 15 min and with complimentary capped Wifi. Exceptional dining both buffet and a la carte with 24 hour room service. 24 Hour bar for the thirsty traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing