We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Airport Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Tea Gardens
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A good Airport Stopover”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We overnighted here compliments of Qantas as unfortunately our aircraft went U/S. If I had to overnight in the future at JNB Airport, this is where I would stay. Just a matter of a few minutes in a shuttle bus. Checkin at 0200 hrs in the morning was friendly and very efficient. Cant say our room was one of the best but at this hour of the morning, couldnt care less. After a bit of persistence, got the water termperature in the shower regulated, then jumped into a very very comfy bed. The breakfast the next morning was one of the best buffets you could come across - all the food stations were kept filled and food kept hot with so much to choose from. And the juice bar was a welcome relief to bottled/canned juices.
Our room was a little 'tired' with a bit of wear on the furnishings - the wardrobe doors wouldnt close without a bit of manouvering -- hinges had seen better days. The taps in the bathroom were in need of some attention - you had to really apply pressure to turn the water off completely....but the room was spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: perhaps a room located on a higher level could avoid some of the Reception area noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyallTeaGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear MyallTeaGardens

Thank you for the positive comment on Trip Advisor.

We’re glad to hear that you had a good nights rest before your long flight and that you enjoyed our Breakfast buffet and variety.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    512
    227
    80
    56
See reviews for
225
315
136
545
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A strategically situated homely hotel right next to the airport. All of the bells and whistles with a restaurant and variety of food to die for! Exceptional caring staff who get to know their guests. Ambience and warm cosy rooms with character. One is treated and made to feel like a celebrity. Highly recommended from a regular, happy and very satisfied guest. Hats off and a salute is in order!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJG1WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear SJG1WP

“Warm, Friendly, Atmosphere, Caring and Exceptionally Homely!” This is exactly what we want to hear from all our Guests.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is located very close to the airport - not even a five min drive. The bus stop for the shuttle bus to the hotel is located behind the intercontinental hotel - if you are arriving in the international arrivals area, walk out of the terminal, walk through a path to the left of the intercontinental hotel facing you, and the bus stop is right behind the hotel.
The rooms are average for a big hotel chain - nothing special, nothing bad. The bathroom fixtures in some of the rooms are old and can be difficult to use (knobs hard to turn). When my mother complained to the front desk about the difficulty she had in turning the knobs, they immediately switched our room to another one - with new bathroom fixtures that are user friendly.
The buffet dinner at the hotel restaurant was very good - excellent fish served during the night I was there. Breakfast was good, with a smoothie station.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the wing closer to the restaurant - the impression I have is that the rooms on tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdgt625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear sdgt625

Thank you for proving us with some positive comments on Trip Advisor and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, Ca
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was a good hotel, clean, and with sound proof windows-important so close to the airport. The shower was a bit odd; i awakened early to take a shower and only a frosted glass separates it from the bedroom. The light and noise woke my husband up as well.
Check in was prompt, courteous and helpful. The room was large enough and clean. Breakfast was included and was plentiful, and very good, with lots of healthy options. The main negative for this hotel was the service at breakfast. It was quite slow, and we twice had to get up from the table to ask for coffee refills because the wait staff seemed to be looking at tables, not people.
Overall, though we would stay here again because of proximity to the airport, room cleanliness and frequent shuttle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deli0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Deli0

Thank you for providing us with some positive feedback on your stay with us.

I will pass this message on to our Food & Beverage Manager to discuss this lapse in service with his Team.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Recently stayed at the Southern Sun at the Jo'burg airport for the third time and each stay has been terrific. The rooms are good, with well insulated windows, flat screen tv, tea kettle and very comfortable beds. A happy hour with complimentary wine and starters are on offer and the location is ideal for spending the night before continuing your journey. The hotel has a good curio shop and the shuttle runs frequently to the airport. The food, both room service and the dining room, is good with a variety of selections. You can't go wrong when booking a room at the Southern Sun and as a frequent solo female traveler I have been safe and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and ready to help.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieW542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Melanie W

Thank you for the positive review on Trip Advisor.

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Have always enjoyed my stay and will always want to come back at least for now, the people are nice and you get service with a smile. The proximity to the Airport is really good. The airport shuttle is great. They are well organised as I see, I would for now remain here unless dissatisfied with any of their services.

Wilson

Room Tip: Just choose non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wilson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Wilson A

Thank you for providing us with some positive feedback on your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley on Hudson, NY
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Large, modern Hotel- good exercise room, clean rooms well insulated windows and outside wall with space in between really dampens airplane sounds -you wouldn't know you're at an airport.
Good restaurant too, the whole staff was very nice- especially surprised me on my birthday (without me or my wife asking for it) they gave us cake and candle & staff came out of kitchen and sang me Happy birthday- a real nice surprise. Also thought I had a problem after trip and Hotel Management responded quickly via e-mail and followed up, etc turned out not to be a problem but they didn't now that and they were excellent in diligence and customer service. We only stayed there because we were in and out overnight and wanted to be at the airport- but turned out to be a real treat.

Room Tip: This is an airport hotel so no real views to speak of- stay here for convenience to airport and good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanONYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear AlanONYC

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Trip Advisor review.

I’m glad to hear that our Team went out of their way to create those magic memories for both you and your Wife and that you had a great Birthday.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.9 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Property: Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Address: Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class International Airport Hotel 500m away from the Airport serviced by a complimentary 24 hour shuttle every 15 min and with complimentary capped Wifi. Exceptional dining both buffet and a la carte with 24 hour room service. 24 Hour bar for the thirsty traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing