We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No airconditioning” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Pietermaritzburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No airconditioning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I recently spent one night at this hotel on a business trip. Although the furnishing in the rooms were fine, the air conditioning in the first room I was given didn't work and I asked to change rooms. Once settled into my new room I then discovered that this air con didn't work either, the room was stuffy and too hot to sleep. The beds also only have one thick duvet and no lighter sheet which made things worse. For the price you pay you expect to have a decent nights sleep, but it was virtually impossible because of the uncomfortable temperature in the room. I think the hotel is over due for an upgrade!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for providing us with information on where we need improvement.

Our Maintenance Team is currently servicing all our Airconditioners.

We hope to welcome you back to our Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    471
    215
    73
    54
See reviews for
206
292
121
503
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Level Contributor
152 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times due to its proximity to the airport although these Previous stays have been for a single night only. This time however we stayed for the weekend before flying out. The reception area is being upgraded and noisy, the service in the pool area is non existent, the food expensive and poor and the bar had run out of tap beer! However it is convenient to the airport and the rooms are adequate although the whole interior could do with a facelift since the furnishings are tired and in need of some modernisation. Reception staff and doorman service good and friendly and shuttle service fast.

Room Tip: Find another hotel until
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharksSupporter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey on Trip Advisor.

We’re currently busy with a renovations project to upgrade our facilities for you our valued guest.

Should you wish to return for another stay please get in to contact with our Guest Relations Manager Tenza Mbombo on tenza.mbombo@tsogosun.com who will insure you’ll have a pleasant experience with us.

Kind regards
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I travel a lot and because South African Airlines over booked a business class ticket, they put me on this Hotel overnight. The airline told us we would receive a "business class ticket" treatment......well after almost being hit by the maager over a bottle of wine....I will never comeback. The rooms are terrible, the staff does not want to help and think that if you are there because of the airline they dont want anything to do with you...the manager Mandy Reuben has no manners and does not understand tht Hotels are a service business....I stayed at this Hotel twice the first and last time and if anyone ended up having to stay there please refuse to do so......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilideny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

the reception workers were very unprofessional ,they dont know what they were doing....

i was given room which AC werent working, i complained , the maintenance guy came and said it was fixed, 30 min down the line its still like an oven...again went down stairs to complain, again same story maintenance came ,nothing happened....at 11.15 pm went back to the reception...to complain as the heat was unbearable....they decided to change our rooms at 11.30 pm...

went to my kids room they were already asleep and didnt want to wake them up at that hrs , there was no apology from the duty manager no in the morning for the inconvinient coursed to us...the next day i checked out paid mybill and moved to pallazzo hotel....

furthermore our accomodation was breakfast included , they tried to force us pay for brealkfast .they say it wasnt included.....i had to call central reservation for confirmation which the manager maria had to accept as i put the phone on speaker

just for you information 2 of my wife perfumes went missing, roberto cavalli and vanitas by vesace...and a a small bag which my wife put some jewelleries went missing.....

the management should do something about the service.....................

Room Tip: dont take rooms on 3rd floor left sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank said s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
124 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We overnighted here en route to Cape Town from Amsterdam. Fairly average hotel - what I'd term a "Sales Conference Hotel". Room felt pretty tired and run down, elevators were a bit grotty (one wasn't working). One big plus - the bar is 24 hours, and there is a smoking lounge with a selection of cigars, which is always appreciated if you're a cigar smoker. This is decent value if you're looking for a quick overnight stay or are on a stricter budget...if you have any longer than 12 hours to spend in Joburg, look for somewhere else closer to town and a bit more classy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about our Hotel & Facilities on Trip Advisor.

We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our 24 Hour Bar with the Cigar selection.

We’re currently busy with a renovations project to upgrade our facilities for you our valued guest.

Should you wish to return for another stay please get in to contact with our Guest Relations Manager Tenza Mbombo on tenza.mbombo@tsogosun.com who will insure you’ll have a pleasant experience with us.

Kind regards
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked a night at the hotel prior to our flight from the airport. The hotel looks relatively modern from the outside with all the glass, but isn't really that modern.

Check in at reception was fast and friendly, and without any hiccups. Our room thought were a bit shoddy and desperate need of a renovation (which I know they're busy with) The boxed AC unit on the wall were loud when you turned it on and when it was quiet didn't cool the room. It also seems that we didn't get our complimentary upgrade, but we were only going to sleep in the hotel, so it didn't even bother asking about it. As we got a reduced rate, we learned what the normal rate for the hotel per room is, and found it to be extremely expensive.

Breakfast the following morning was big with lots of choices for everyone. Actually a better than normal breakfast for this calibre of hotel. We didn't stay long as we needed to fly. The complimentary transfer to the airport departures and the transfer back from arrivals were greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitxcoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about our Hotel & Facilities on Trip Advisor.

We’re glad to hear that you had a good meal in our Restaurant and that you found the Airport Shuttle as useful.

Should you wish to return for another stay please get in to contact with our Guest Relations Manager Tenza Mbombo on tenza.mbombo@tsogosun.com who will insure you’ll have a pleasant experience with us.

Kind regards
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

with BA0054 being delayed from 21h40 on Sat 29th December until 13h00 on Sunday 30th December - meant that BA had to put up the entire plane in different hotels near the OR Tambo airport.
I was lucky enough to be put up at the Southern Sun ORTI (probably because I was flying World Traveller Plus)... and even although we arrived at the hotel around midnight via the hotel shuttles - the check in staff had already created room keys and had lists ready for a speedy check in and key hand over.
My room had 2 double beds (i only used one of them... but this was very comfortable)... and the double walk in shower was a dream with perfect temperature control and a full shower experience (not like a lot of other hotels where you get a few drips and dribbles out of the shower head).
The only negative (and i can't really blame them for this) was the restaurant... I wanted to order room service but was told that as we were the affected passengers - the restaurant had been opened for us to have dinner. The food was a bit old (salads were limp) and the roast was dry (probably been out all night). But the worst was the 2 waiters who were serving drinks... I tried to attract their attention numerous times... but to either no avail or an eye rolling & "wait, I'm busy"... and after half an hour - I moved to the bar to order a glass of wine instead.... as they still had not even managed to serve soft drinks to more than 6 tables.
In general - their rooms were clean, comfortable and perfectly located to the airport. The shuttle back to the departure terminals the next morning was quick and efficient and the driver friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about our Hotel & Facilities on Trip Advisor

We’re glad you had a good night’s rest before your flight the next morning.

We have raised your comments to our Food & Beverage Manager who will have a chat to his team as I can assure you that this is not our usual standard of service.

Should you wish to return for another stay please get in to contact with our Guest Relations Manager Tenza Mbombo on tenza.mbombo@tsogosun.com who will insure you’ll have a pleasant experience with us.

Kind regards
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Property: Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Address: Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class International Airport Hotel 500m away from the Airport serviced by a complimentary 24 hour shuttle every 15 min and with complimentary capped Wifi. Exceptional dining both buffet and a la carte with 24 hour room service. 24 Hour bar for the thirsty traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing