We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great airport hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Junction, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great airport hotel!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

First, let me tell you that after the brutal 15-16 hour flight from Atlanta to Jo'berg, it doesn't take much to impress, but, having stayed in the Southern Sun at OR Tambo numerous times for overnight layovers, I feel they are well beyond your average airport hotel!
For starters, as others have said, the airport transfer service is punctual, regular, and easy to find, it goes and comes every 15 minutes, which is great, and allows for alot of flexibility, very little waiting!
Second in line, especially for me, is the welcome glass of wine, great touch, and the easily accessible bar, which, for us smokers is great as it has an included glass walled smoking lounge area, which allows us smokers to sit and smoke without being banished outdoors, or in a back corner, and at the same time protects the non-smokers among us from the smell, etc.... mostly...
Third of course would be the food, after 2 days of airport/airline food, the southern suns buffet is a welcome joy, and of surprisingly good quality! I have also tested many of the items available from the room service menu as well, and have been equally pleased with them! I have to say though, the best part is the breakfast, a full buffet, complete with a made to order omelet station!
Rooms are comfortable, and staff is accommodating and friendly in my experiences!
Kudos to the southern sun, which in my opinion is much more than a simple overnight/layover hotel!

Room Tip: If the transfer shuttle isn't busy they will almost always be happy to take you to the nearby ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gibson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    512
    227
    80
    56
See reviews for
225
315
136
545
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

On a recent trip to South Africa we needed a hotel that was easily accessible to O.R. Tambo International Airport. We were going to be staying one night prior to our flight back to Hong Kong. Our 12 hour flight departed around 2 pm the next day so we were hoping to have an early dinner, and get some much needed rest before the flight. We were traveling with our two children, so we had hoped that they could get a good nights sleep, even sleep in a bit, to make up for the sleep they would not get on the plane.
All was going as planned. We ate a decent dinner and got to bed around 10pm. The beds were comfortable so we slept fairly sound throughout the night. We did not set an alarm since we knew we did not need to be at the airport until noon.
To our shock and surprise, at about 7:30 am the next morning we were all awaken to what appeared to be singing. Not just someone singing in the next room or the hallway, but loud, very loud singing from many voices. We were all startled awake! I called the front desk immediately and inquired as to the singing. They informed me it was the maids choir and that they did that EVERY morning at around 7:30 am. I was livid! Why on earth would they do that? What would make them think that everyone staying in the hotel wished to be woken up at 7:30 am,by singing? Since we had request connecting rooms, we were right above the singing and the way that this Southern Sun is designed, the sounds were amplified 10 times normal.
After getting dressed, at least three hours earlier than we had planned, I went to the front desk to speak to a manager. I was presented to the Front Office Manger, I think her name was Rebecca, who basically said I was a fool and that "nobody had ever complained about the choir. Every!" You had thought I had insulted her personally the way she glared at me. I thought, considering, that I was being fairly polite. She made no attempt to accept my frustration about not being able to sleep in a little, and offered no apology.
If you are traveling to JNB and need to sleep in past 7:30 am, or you just do not like being waken to the sounds of maids singing, the Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel is not for you. Also, if you do stay there and do have any concerns, do not expect them to be accepted graciously.

Room Tip: Do not ask for connecting rooms. I was told they are all in the front, near the atrium, and you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDX_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This hotel has close proximity to the airport and provides a shuttle service every 15 minutes.
The reception is efficient and there was a welcome glass of wine on arrival, which was much appreciated after a long day of travelling. Staff were helpful and friendly.
The buffet breakfast provides good variety and caters to all tastes.
Our room had adequate space and a generous size bathroom.
Overall,a very good airport hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I recently spent 3 nights at this hotel and whilst there is nothing terrible about it, there is also nothing spectacular to rave about. On the plus side is that it is clean, neat and very close to the ORT airport. On the downside, the staff were rather unfriendly generally and there was nothing that really stands out. This is a good hotel for those who wish to overnight whilst in transit or wish to have a base near the airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

This property has everything you want from an airport hotel: excellent location, 24 hour complementary shuttle service (every 15 minutes), clean, comfortable rooms with a good hot shower, DsTV satellite TV for sports and entertainment, a 24 hour bar and a restaurant with excellent breakfast. Everything is efficient and the staff is friendly.
The dinner buffet was a bit on the lower side of Southern Sun quality but perfectly acceptable.
Definitely a good choice for an overnight at O.R. Tambo

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We recently spent a night at this hotel just as a stop-over before heading to a holiday resort with our children. We liked the vicinity to the airport and the breakfast buffet was excellent.
Unpleasant, however, was that for lunch the hotel restaurant was totally overcrowded with people who must have been there for a training or meeting or whatever. The cue for the buffet was never ending and there were not even enough tables/chairs for everyone to have lunch!!! Although we had just ordered before the big crowd had arrived we waited an eternity for our lunch... - Our comment - do not accept more clients that you can handle!
Rooms were nice and our kids liked that there was children's programs on tv.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaTalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed here when my flight was postponed due to weather. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are very comfortable and well fitted out with everything one needs. Lots of pillows to choose from, the bed linen is soft and inviting and the bed firm.

One irritating flaw - which I find in lots of upmarket hotels - is the use of those horrible sachets for coffee. Why not just have a small plunger and filter coffee?

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxi_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,059 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.9 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Property: Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Address: Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class International Airport Hotel 500m away from the Airport serviced by a complimentary 24 hour shuttle every 15 min and with complimentary capped Wifi. Exceptional dining both buffet and a la carte with 24 hour room service. 24 Hour bar for the thirsty traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing