We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We recently spent a night at this hotel just as a stop-over before heading to a holiday resort with our children. We liked the vicinity to the airport and the breakfast buffet was excellent.
Unpleasant, however, was that for lunch the hotel restaurant was totally overcrowded with people who must have been there for a training or meeting or whatever. The cue for the buffet was never ending and there were not even enough tables/chairs for everyone to have lunch!!! Although we had just ordered before the big crowd had arrived we waited an eternity for our lunch... - Our comment - do not accept more clients that you can handle!
Rooms were nice and our kids liked that there was children's programs on tv.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaTalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,192 - 1,198 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed here when my flight was postponed due to weather. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are very comfortable and well fitted out with everything one needs. Lots of pillows to choose from, the bed linen is soft and inviting and the bed firm.

One irritating flaw - which I find in lots of upmarket hotels - is the use of those horrible sachets for coffee. Why not just have a small plunger and filter coffee?

Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Maxi_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Had an overnight stay here between flights. It was very comfortable. Service lovely and room service chips to die for. Only wished we could have stayed longer!


  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susiei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Perfect choice for a quick overnight in JHB. They are close to the airport and have a shuttle service coming round every half hour which is great no taxi's, etc. The room was great but I think my hubby did mention that their was not mini bar. We got in late so ordered room service which didn't take too long and the food was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We had a 1 night stay here due to flight connections. It is a good 4 star hotel with average quality rooms and great service. Recommended for a short stay. One of our fellow travellers left her iPad in her room. When she left the airport briefly to go back to the hotel she could not locate it in her room. After we arrived at our next destination we called the hotel. The iPad was promptly found in lost property and then couriered to us at the hotel's cost. This really was outstanding service and the whole issue was handled fantastically by the staff who went out of their way to assist and resolve a difficult situation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rqf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is very close to the airport and the complimentary shuttle is really efficient. Our room was very nice, comfortable, and clean. The restaurant offers a great buffet breakfast and the food was really good. The staff are friendly and we had good service while we were there. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

This is a nice hotel with comfortable rooms, very convenient to airport and a surprisingly excellent restaurant.

One strange flaw is that there is an opaque glass wall (rather than a solid wall) between the bathroom and the sleeping area. As a result, when someone is in the shower you can see their silhouette from the sleeping area. So much for privacy! Also not good if you have to go to the bathroom at night, because if you turn on the light in the bathroom you also light up the entire sleeping area. I realized this the hard way, when I woke up my entire family at 3am.

I'd stay here again, but they should really install a curtain over the glass wall.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank PTCPittFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.9 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Address: Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: $106 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class International Airport Hotel 500m away from the Airport serviced by a complimentary 24 hour shuttle every 15 min and with complimentary capped Wifi. Exceptional dining both buffet and a la carte with 24 hour room service. 24 Hour bar for the thirsty traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing