We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick overnight in JHB”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Quick overnight in JHB”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Perfect choice for a quick overnight in JHB. They are close to the airport and have a shuttle service coming round every half hour which is great no taxi's, etc. The room was great but I think my hubby did mention that their was not mini bar. We got in late so ordered room service which didn't take too long and the food was nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrowthPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    477
    218
    76
    55
See reviews for
209
298
126
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We had a 1 night stay here due to flight connections. It is a good 4 star hotel with average quality rooms and great service. Recommended for a short stay. One of our fellow travellers left her iPad in her room. When she left the airport briefly to go back to the hotel she could not locate it in her room. After we arrived at our next destination we called the hotel. The iPad was promptly found in lost property and then couriered to us at the hotel's cost. This really was outstanding service and the whole issue was handled fantastically by the staff who went out of their way to assist and resolve a difficult situation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rqf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is very close to the airport and the complimentary shuttle is really efficient. Our room was very nice, comfortable, and clean. The restaurant offers a great buffet breakfast and the food was really good. The staff are friendly and we had good service while we were there. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

This is a nice hotel with comfortable rooms, very convenient to airport and a surprisingly excellent restaurant.

One strange flaw is that there is an opaque glass wall (rather than a solid wall) between the bathroom and the sleeping area. As a result, when someone is in the shower you can see their silhouette from the sleeping area. So much for privacy! Also not good if you have to go to the bathroom at night, because if you turn on the light in the bathroom you also light up the entire sleeping area. I realized this the hard way, when I woke up my entire family at 3am.

I'd stay here again, but they should really install a curtain over the glass wall.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PTCPittFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The location of the hotel is great, with a free shuttlle service to and from the airport literally taking five minutes. The lobby is opulent, with friendly, quick and efficient checkin and checkout. The room was standard and adequate. I was disappointed with the service in the bar - I ordered two rounds of cocktails - both didn't taste at all as they should, and were way too sweet. The bar snacks to 45 mintues to arrive, and were still frozen in the middle.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dion_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone, Zambia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This hotel was a pleasure from the moment that we arrived, has a faultless and professional check-in, and the room was comfortable and stylish. The cuisine was outstanding, and the service was excellent! The beds, linens and pillows offered the most amazing nights sleep, in total comfort, and the amenities are top quality. Another winner for Southern Sun!!!

Room Tip: The entire hotel is amazing, and all rooms offer peaceful and comfortable nights sleep - which is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

It's close to the airport.

There's nothing particularly good or bad about this place, other than it is definitely not good value for money.

I stayed in Airport Grand and Dove's nest also, out of the three DN was by far the best choice, as long as cheaper style accommodation doesn't phase you.

But note that I don't normally like the type of big chain hotels that this most definitely is.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandMfromMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,922 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Property: Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Address: Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class International Airport Hotel 500m away from the Airport serviced by a complimentary 24 hour shuttle every 15 min and with complimentary capped Wifi. Exceptional dining both buffet and a la carte with 24 hour room service. 24 Hour bar for the thirsty traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing