We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking rip off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Pretoria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Parking rip off”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Rooms were comfortable if somewhat dated. Beds were very good. Old fashioned TV remote took a lot of coaxing to get it to work, and minor things in room lke loose soap diah and wall switchfalling off the wall are not things I would have expected.Food is of good quality but terribly expensive, especially for children. I presume the prices are to cater for International travellers. Breakfast was very good in selection and quality. I was extremely annoyed when asked to pay for my pakring on checking out. In the room info book, it notes that basement parking will be charged for, and no mention is made of the outside open parking. The parking attendant at the exit gate told me that residents do not pay for parking. When booking on the website, there was no mention of open parking being an 'extra'. The excuse given to me by reception was that Southern Sun has to rent the premises from the Airport, so they have to charge for parking!! Huh - I have never had to pay for open parking at any other Southern Sun before, and this is just a rip off that left a sour taste. The hotel will provide a free shuttle service to the Airport, yet guests with vehicles get penalised.

Room Tip: A good place to get a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TradewindExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    502
    225
    79
    56
See reviews for
223
307
134
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
160 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I only spent one night in this hotel as I was changing planes overnight. For the price, I got a great service: from the van pick up at the airport and drop off the following morning, to a nice (smaller), clean room with all the basic amenities and a fine breakfast in the morning all included in the price. The only extra item is internet, but if you're only transiting, you can probably live without it for a day. The hotel staff is pleasant and quick. Advanced online booking is preferred, but when arriving pay attention whether you're actually in this hotel or its sister hotel a mile away, also a Southern Sun. Their membership card can be applied for online at the same time, so why not also collect their loyalty points. Good for transit - you're probably not going to spend more than a day, for which this is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorisDivjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

As far as hotels go at airports this one is better than most. Reasonably priced, friendly helpful staff, a decent restaurant and a bar that opens late!
Situated 2 mins by free transfer bus away (these run every 15 mins).
Rooms are clean and comfortable (they should update the tv's to flat screen).
HAve eaten breakfast, lunch and dinner at this hotel and all have been better than expected and reasonably priced. Service is fast and friendly.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much from the business centre - very basic. WiFi is decent in the hotel but ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GastroNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healesville, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is all about an overnight stopover at Johannesburg airport and for that it is great. Excellent shuttle service to and from the airport (5 mins travel time), excellent facilities in the hotel. Nice rooms, good food, free drinks and snacks on arrival, excellent staff. They normally charge for wi-fi but said that if I signed up to their frequent user program (no cost) it would be free so that is what I did. We'll probably never use one of their hotels again but that didn't bother them.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules4910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This hotel is right next to the Johannesburg airport with a free shuttle. it's a typical large airport hotel - nice rooms and common areas, good restaurant, complimentary wine and cheese upon check in (at least in the late afternoon). There is a business center with computers although they are not complimentary. It's a very convenient location if you are just making a quick stop in JBurg or need to be close to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cateyesinthemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohanvanHeerden, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Thank you for your response and I am glad you found us convenient. We offer 2 hours free internet should you wish to join our frequent guest program, which is free and will negate the need to pay for internet. I trust this info is helpful and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Johan van Heerden
General Manager
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Airport Hotel
(+27) 0829577910
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is a nice hotel, very close to the airport. There is not much to say about it, it is really a rather standard airport hotel but it satisfies everything you expect from an airport hotel. It is clean, quiet, staff are courteous and it is very close to the airport. The bed was fine, I slept well. The only tip is what a lot of other reviews have mentioned, the shuttle pickup/drop off area is a bit out of the way but I found it easily enough just take note of where it is before you go. I found the buffet breakfast to be rather expensive. It is ok if you are hungry but if you are just looking for a quick bite before you go save your money and eat at the airport.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ope557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohanvanHeerden, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for your post. I am glad you found our hotel convenient and to your needs. For clarity the shuttle pick up point is directly behind the Intercontinental Hotel and the shuttle runs 24 hours a day every 15 mins.

Regards
Johan van Heerden
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I was very pleased with this hotel. It was easy to get to. To take the shuttle from the Joburg airport to the Southern Sun OR, just keep going straight out of the airport from the customs/immigration. There is a ramp from the main floor of the airport so you can easily take a luggage cart up the ramp and exit the airport. From there you go straight across as there is a sidewalk provided to the departure area for waiting hotel shuttles. I waited about 10 minutes and after the shuttle arrived (really a van with a small trailer) in less than 10 minutes I was at the hotel.

The front desk staff was very helpful. Beverages are provided as you enter the lobby and I appreciated that as I was really thirsty from the overseas flight. I found the rooms to be spacious and quiet even though I was close to the hotel. The restaurant is very good but always seemed busy and crowded. There was plenty of seating so I never had to wait. Service is very good at the restaurant.

Check was quick and I waited just a few minutes for the shuttle to take me back to the hotel. If you want a clean, close to the airport and above average hotel, this is place that I recommend.

Room Tip: You can easily book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TexasRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohanvanHeerden, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear TexasRR

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our wonderful buffet that now also incorporates themed evenings such as Asian, South African BBQ and Mediteranian. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you our way again.

Regards
Johan van Heerden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.9 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Property: Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Address: Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class International Airport Hotel 500m away from the Airport serviced by a complimentary 24 hour shuttle every 15 min and with complimentary capped Wifi. Exceptional dining both buffet and a la carte with 24 hour room service. 24 Hour bar for the thirsty traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing