We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“throw. table. cloth incident. reponse”
Review of Jose's

Jose's
Ranked #15 of 77 Restaurants in Kempton Park
Price range: $7 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Great food and great ambiance. Close to OR Tambo International airport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“throw. table. cloth incident. reponse”
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

this is Jose. on the night in question the electricity was cut and doors were open to ventilate restaurant the table where these guests were seated was near one of the doors . I offered to move them, they refused, I spontaneously got a blanket type cape and put it over the back of the gentleman I was told was cold, it was done in a caring and well meaning manner, this was met with a harsh and agressive "remove this" I am not accustomed and do not tolerate being spoken to in that way thus asked table to leave .there bill exceed R1000 No moneys were demanded or paid. And If a similar situation re occurred I would react in similar fashion .
restauranteurs are not servants OR slaves.
I know the hostess of that party for years and I believe had she been spoken to in the way her guest spoke to me she would react in the same way.
best regards Jose

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tackies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    31
    9
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
2 reviews
“Verbally Abused”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Took a client there on Saturday evening. Such a bad experiance this time, have been going there for years. Never ever take client or family again.
Power tripped and when we closed the door as a cold draft was blowing in, our client had a table cloth thrown over him "because the door has to be open" and when client told him to take it off. The owner?? lost the plot "verbally attacked our client - acusing this "foreinger of treating him like a "slave" totally lost the plot and ranted and raved - and dont need his money. All this in front of customers. Very very embarrassing. What was meant to be enjoyable quiet evening was totally spoilt. When asked about this outburst - was told my various people he could be sick ? Well why open then ?

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank jackieoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Reasonably priced, delicious food served by wonderful and welcoming staff.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank KED2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Lamb I have EVER eaten!”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were recommended to this restaurant - none of us had ever eaten here. Friendly and warm service - delicious prawns and the best Lamb Kleftiko I have ever eaten - authentically cooked and served. Prices were fair with a good selections of wines on wine list. Would definitely go there again if in the area.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownJewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Jose's is not the avarage Portugese restaurant. It is lively, vibrant and serve the best food one can immagine at very low prices.

We decided on Jose's as it is out of the centre of town in a quiet neigborhood were one can really relax and enjoy yourself. Beside Portugese cuisine, Jose's offer tradional South Afrivcan dishes and seafoof as well. All well prepared and mouthwatering. A serving oxtail for instance is enough to serve two adults and all this is for one person only! "Stolen meat" or "katlifa" is a generous helping lamb neck, cooked to perfection in red wine and is absolutely devine. The servings is absolutely generous and good value for your money.

The owner is on duty 99% of the time and is quick to solve a problem. Beside a friendly owner and staff, the entertainment is allso very selective. No load music but rather soft soothing music that fits all tastes.

For an afternoon or evening away from the hussle and bustle of city life, Jose's is the perfect venue for lunch or dinner. It is a family resaturant catering for the young and the not so young. it is worth a vist.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose's also viewed

Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
 
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Jose's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing