We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Africa”
Review of Nkanga Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kempton Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nkanga Lodge
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paradise in Africa”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed here in January 2012 for 10 days. Excellent accommodation in african style private lodges with beautiful ensuite bathroom, outdoor shower, pateo to sit and watch the birdlife in the morning around the dam, landscaped gardens to walk around. Little touches like beautiful shower gel and body lotion, freshly baked cookies and ground coffee in the room each day, turn down at night with chocolates on the pillow make it more special. Staff helpful and friendly and the on-site owners wonderful people, nothing is too much trouble for them. Breakfast each day consisted of every choice you could possibly want and drinks in the bar at night and dinner wonderful. Going back in December 2012 and taking our children and grandson with us to experience "our Africa" we grew up in. Considering the crime situation in South Africa it is a very safe environment at Nkanga. The lodge is very close to Johannesburg airport so ideal place to stay before and after air travel where you will receive a warm welcome..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Saunders2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
8
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Our family was meeting up in JHB before heading out on safari. We had 2 family coming from Namibia and 5 from Canada. Karen and her family pulled out all the stops to secure us amazing private lodges and arranged a braai for us so that our family in JNB - about another 20ppl could come to the property and we could have a family reunion. Everything about the property and service was top notch. Rooms were clean, comfy and really cool - well decorated - loved the outside shower and huge soaker tub! The braai prepared by them was delicious as was the breakfast. Why would anyone rent an airport hotel when this is so close to the airport for an overnight between flights I have no idea! We would come back in a heartbeat. Thanks for your hospitality and for making our stay and the start of our journey so memorable.
Cheryl Stafford & Family
Vancouver, Canada / Walvis Bay Namibia

Room Tip: They are all fabulous but if you can do it try the private lodges - very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cfsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed at Nkanaga lodge for 2 nights in October 2010 and was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, comfortable and very well appointed, the staff were extremely friendly & helpful as indeed were the owners. All in all recommended. I have to say that I did not feel particularly safe travelling around Johannesburg but once inside the Nkanga Lodge grounds i had no worries at all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mashie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed twice (one night each) at Nkanga Lodge, while needing overnight accommodations between flights at JBurg/Tambo Airport. We arranged with Nkanga for both pick-up and return to the airport. The property has a fair amount of land, as so provides a rural atmosphere. There is even a pond you can walk partially around, on a trail. Our accommodation was in a native-style building (there were a few of them, having only one guest room in each). I think there may be some rooms in the main building. Our room was very large, and it had a large en-suite bathroom. The main building also housed an office, conference room, sitting room, kitchen, dining room, bar (in open covered area just outside) and more. It was very tastefully decorated with beautiful wood work, clearly out of the ordinary. Books and magazines were available to read. In particular, the kitchen, open to the dining room area, had exceptional wood cabinetry. You can see the thought that went into planning and building the lodge. Breakfast was provided and dinner can be arranged. We had dinner there - all meals were good. Though this is not a low-cost place, the service, accommodation, meals and attention were outstanding. The hosts were friendly and helpful. I highly recommend Nkanga as a place to overcome jet lag and relax overnight between flights.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank happy2travelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
4.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,064 reviews
5.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
5.4 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
530 reviews
6.4 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
6.9 mi away
Vetho 2 Apartments OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nkanga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkanga Lodge

Property: Nkanga Lodge
Address: 72 4th Road | Bredell, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nkanga Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated 8kms from OR Tambo International Airport makes Nkanga Lodge ideally located for business traveller and tourist alike. This family run 4 star executive guest lodge is set on 11 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens offering affordable luxury with an emphasis on friendly yet professional service. Conveniently located to all major business, shopping and entertainment amenities – Johannesburg, Sandton and Pretoria are all approx a 30min drive from the lodge. The nearest Gautrain station with a 12min direct link to Sandton is a mere 8kms. Nkanga Lodge is the perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg. Accommodation & Facilities: All of our spacious 17 rooms are either double or twin en-suite, each with private entrances for our guest’s convenience. In addition to the en-suite bathrooms our four luxury ‘safari style’ rooms have outdoor showers, perfect for the warm Highveld summers. For your comfort all of our rooms have air conditioning/heating and for cool winter evenings additional heating and blankets are provided. DSTV and hospitality trays are available in all rooms to give you that ‘at home’ feeling. The safety and security of our guests is of prime importance to us at the Lodge – we take every precaution necessary to make you feel safe and at ease during you stay with us. Room Facilities: All rooms en-suite with a shower &/bath, All rooms with secure private access, Air conditioning/heating in all rooms, DSTV, Hospitality Trays. Lodge Facilities: Airport Transfers (on request), Credit Card Facilities – Visa/MasterCard/Amex, Breakfast and dinners served daily, Light Lunches on request, Laundry daily, Bar and entertainment area, Dam with catch and release fishing, Bird Watching, Free WIFI in main lodge areas, Office assistance and facilities, Conference and Business Centre, Meeting Room Facilities. Facilities in a 10km radius: OR Tambo International Airport (8kms), Car Hire (8kms), Casino & Entertainment (8kms), Health Club (5kms), Golf - driving range and courses (approx 10kms), Arwyp Hospital (8kms), Medical and dental facilities (6kms), Restaurants (6kms), Shopping (approx 10kms), Spa & Beauty Salons (8kms), Tours and excursions can be arranged. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing