We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Knysna, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Booked in for one night only en route to Singapore. The main reason we chose the Aviator was the offer of a free shuttle to and from the airport and also because it was reasonably priced. However , perhaps one should just spend a little more ! The restaurant was very ordinary and we used it both for dinner and breakfast. However the check in/out staff were helpful and friendly. The room was fine except the walls were like paper and very very thin. I could hear the woman next door on her cell phone for 2 solid hours. In all fairness you get what you pay for so if it up to you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YEBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    236
    141
    36
    17
See reviews for
111
169
64
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haiti
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is in eye sight of the OR International Airport. The service is fantastic and a very neat clean hotel overall. I'll certainly recommend for those guest flying in or out of OR Tambo. Walking distance from the city and Supermarket.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarindaHaiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My second time to The Aviator and the first complaint I seem to have is about the shuttle... but that is a glitch with hotels.com, I understand, so won't dwell on it. If you have to pay for a cab, they'll sting you for about $10 when it should really only cost about $3.

Front desk staff is friendly and helpful. I've really only had breakfast, wine, and an appetizer... all were fine.

Rooms are nothing spectacular but it's nice that you can get wifi in the room instead of piling into the lobby with everyone else who's trying to get online.

Speaking of rooms... there's a weird, narrow, little window in the bathroom that opens onto a vertical "chute" that's dark and filled with wires, which I find creepy. The other thing about the bathroom that's just a bit odd and uncomfortable is the door... instead of a pocket door or a regular swing door, it's a sliding door (like a pocket door) but it rolls outside the bathroom entry, so there's a gap. When sharing the room, one doesn't feel a great deal of privacy, even with the door closed.

Note: I'm in the travel industry but am committed to honest reviews of all properties, whether they like it or not!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventureGirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We own a tour / safari company and and often have to meet our guests at the O R Tambo airport fairly early, and The Aviator is the ideal venue. Secure parking, super friendly service, good food with clean and comfortable rooms are what The Aviator is about. To make this even more attractable is the fact that it's very economical

Room Tip: Try to get a room that's not interleading because noisy neighbours could be a little irritating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruiselite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The first night I spent here, on the way to Mauritius, I was impressed by the service and also the quick transfer from the airport. I assumed it was your typical layover hotel with poor to average reheated food and so didn't take advantage of the breakfast or the restaurant facilities.
On my return trip I had another night there before my flight home the next day. This time I thought I'd grab a quick bite in the restaurant.
Boy was I surprised to see people digging into roast chicken, steaks and the highlight pizza. They actually had a wood fired oven. I was further surprised when my pizza was delivered on a wooden board accompanied by crushed garlic, chili and Parmesan.
I'll definitely being staying here for any other JNB layovers.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saclin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

When overnighting at OT Johannesburg consider the Aviator! Location is great close to East Gate Mall ( short ride)
Good food and great breakfast.
Free airport shuttle, hip aviator style decor excellent Pizza! What's not to like?
If you have to land an economy overnight in Jo burg touch down at the Aviator

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerrod J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Most airport hotels are pretty soulless places but The Aviator does at least try with its aviator theme. The room was a decent size and clean. I thought the triple adapter with different country sockets was a nice touch. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the airport shuttle (included in the price) was efficient and on time.The restaurant was fine and the hot buffet breakfast (also included) was plentiful and good. Its not somewhere you would necessarily want to spend a vacation, but as a stopover point it ticks all the boxes. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolButterflyRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,330 reviews
2.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
3.1 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo

Property: The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
Address: Corner of Kempton and Bosch Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a free airport shuttle to OR Tambo International Airport (4 km), The Aviator offers stylish rooms with a satellite TV. Hotel facilities include outdoor pool and restaurant with terrace. All air-conditioned rooms at the Life Hotels. The Aviator come with a private bathroom and have a tea/coffee maker. Guests may make use of the safety deposit box at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing