We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Rooms were clean but had problems with water flow during our stay. Breakfast was assorted and excellent. Internet advertised but very weak signals in most of the rooms. The view from my room overlooking the street to the airport was not great but what really caught my eyes was the huge billboard which seemed to dwarf the hotel from afar.

Room Tip: Very close to the Airport with a shuttle which leaves every thirty minutes for the Airport Remind t...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kweku E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 578 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We looked for an overnight sleeping place close to OR Tambo so we could be in time for an early morning international flight. At the Aviator we found more than that. A comfortable clean room and a scrumptious breakfast. Being also close to a Gautrain station, definitely our stop over base on future visits to Gauteng.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mackenzie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

bar and restaurant with patio and indoor seating; good breakfast. Room overlooking the pool was very quiet, even that close to the airport. Prompt shuttle to airport in the morning. Be sure to confirm airport shuttle pickup; I mentioned it in the online booking but the shuttle didn't arrive for us. We managed to get the shuttle when it arrived for someone else. Lots of hot water, a little mold in the bathroom grout. Rain shower.

Room Tip: rooms on the side of teh parking garage are farther from the road noise.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank battydiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Rooms clean and functional. But make sure you stay at the side overlooking the pool, which has double glazing. The other side doesn't and some of our party found the road and airport noise unbearable. Breakfast was good, but I would not recommend the restaurant, steaks over cooked, pizza burnt and I had to fetch the water we had ordered from the bar. Service very slow.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Emfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed at The Aviator one night as had an early flight in the morning. The room was nicely decorated, kind of attic/warehouse style with exposed walls and modern furniture. The food was good and I found the staff nice and friendly. The guy who served me in the restaurant wrote me a list of things to do in CT which was helpful.

There is a little noise from flights but not so much as hotels right at the airport I'd assume. The immediate area is very local and I didn't venture out as I was tired but apparently there are malls a taxi ride away if that's your thing.

Airport is about 7-10mins in the free shuttle, although that may depend on traffic.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

beautiful hotel and rooms, very comfortable bed, restaurant with wood-fired oven pizza, pool, free airport shuttles, computer with wifi free to use in lobby - what more do you need! very "stylishly" done up aviator-style.

Room Tip: we booked through hostelbookers and got an amazing deal...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misscherylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

A great choice if you simply need a place to stay. Yes Free wi-fi but it only works in lobby and bar areas, signal does not reach to rooms. Yes 24hr airport shuttle, but you need to call them. The A/C in the rooms are mounted overhead on a wall next to the bed, remote controlled, and blew the air directly on you.. I liked that. I also enjoyed the bar at night, cheap beers and nice atmosphere to watch a soccer game. Did not use the pool but it looked clean.

Room Tip: check agoda.com I found it really cheap last minute
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,369 reviews
2.0 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
3.1 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo

Address: Corner of Kempton and Bosch Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: $53 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a free airport shuttle to OR Tambo International Airport (4 km), The Aviator offers stylish rooms with a satellite TV. Hotel facilities include outdoor pool and restaurant with terrace. All air-conditioned rooms at the Life Hotels. The Aviator come with a private bathroom and have a tea/coffee maker. Guests may make use of the safety deposit box at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing