We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap airport stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is fine for a stop-over or if you land late.
The offer free shuttle, but it took ages to find it and you have to go by the bus terminal, which is not easy to find.
Room is nicely decorated but was extremely noisy, and the bathroom door doesn't shut properly, so no privacy there if you're sharing.
Breakfast was not so great, though their beans were delicious!
Nice pool. Service OK but not super friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kookystyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

442 - 448 of 597 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

We used this hotel as a stop-over before heading to Kruger the next morning. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable and really that is all we needed. The service was good in the restaurant and the food was fine. There is a transfer bus available although make sure you call the hotel when you arrive at the airport as unlike many other transfer buses it picks up on request.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingwest6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel is only 3 mns ( with fee transfers) from airport. I often arrive late in jnb and need o leave early so i just want a easy, comfortable place thats not to far away and not over priced. For this this hotel is perfect!!! Thanks for enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliotbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Unfortunately this hotel is not directly on the airport grounds so you have to take a 'transfer bus'. For this, walk straight from the exit gate out of the building, through an alley (keep the parking lot on your left). Make sure you call the hotel to ensure your transport is waiting. On the return leg, the bus left each half hour, which was not inconvenient.
Staff were friendly and generally helpful.
We had a family room, which is just two rooms joined together by a door. We travelled with a baby, requested a baby cot, which was prepared for us in the room.
The rooms are clean and the equipment worked well. There are coffee/tea making facilities and a microwave.
The breakfast was good quality (nothing fancy) but a good basis for a tough day of travelling.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Re-Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed 2 nights (upon arrival and before departure). Daniel, at the desk, was extremely helpful. We had some problems with transport and he assisted us right away. We felt he was really going out of his obligations to help us. The free shuttle was very good and on time. Rooms were clean but you could hear sounds from the next room Breakfast was good. And when we arrived to late and the restaurant was already close he offered us the driver to take us to nearest mcdonalds so we won't sleep withou eating.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My son and I stayed for one night at this hotel, conveniently located next to the airport. The room was clean (bathroom door did not close) and the beds comfortable. We would have liked two towels each, but only one big and one very small were available, it did not help to ask housekeeping to bring more. The breakfast was very, very tasty and the selection the largest I saw on the whole three week trip. A good choice for an overnight stay and for a great price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shifrah14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This hotel offers good quality for price for a stay-over between flights at the OR Tambo Airport. The rooms are somewhat basic and the service is no-frills, but you get what really matters: a clean, functional and reasonably quiet room with toilet and shower facilities, a comfortable bed, free and efficient transport between the airport and hotel, and quick and efficient check-in and check-out. The restaurant and separate bar next to a generous swimming pool complete your creature comforts. I have used this hotel as a stay-over several times, much to my satisfaction, except that on December 11, 2012, I was unfortunate in that my shower yielded only cold water. Fortunately, this was summertime!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunterseydack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,391 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
3.1 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
2.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo

Address: Corner of Kempton and Bosch Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: $51 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a free airport shuttle to OR Tambo International Airport (4 km), The Aviator offers stylish rooms with a satellite TV. Hotel facilities include outdoor pool and restaurant with terrace. All air-conditioned rooms at the Life Hotels. The Aviator come with a private bathroom and have a tea/coffee maker. Guests may make use of the safety deposit box at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing