We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for one night. Room smelled damp and lacked a shower curtain and wall mount...”
Review of Aero Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aero Guest Lodge
Ranked #4 of 66 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fine for one night. Room smelled damp and lacked a shower curtain and wall mount...”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We slept at the aero guest lodge for one night, after arriving quite late in joh'burg. The shuttle service from the airport is great; It's included in the price, as well bringing you back. In our case tey even dropped us at Budget rent a car. The residence itself looks cosy. However the pool could use some TLC (green dirt & leafs). The room smelled damp and had several mold stains on the ceiling. The bed was fine. The bathroom was okay, however i hated the fact that was no shower curtain or wall mount for the shower head... Dinner is okay and the included breakfast are omelets with toast. Fine for a single night... But they should at least take care of the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drliter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    235
    81
    16
    17
See reviews for
103
254
64
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We started our trip in Johannesburg after a long flight at the aero lodge. If this is how it should start we could expect a lot of SA. Spacies rooms, good shower and a nice breakfast at a nice accomadation. So, for a start or ending your holiday before take of. Book a night. We didn't here a plane in night time. So you can relax and you can start your trip. And the pickup of the airport is also done in a nice way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here because I had an early flight the next day, however wish I could've stayed longer. The swimmingpool looked so attractive. Great rooms, wonderful hot shower, bed is great. If you stay longer than one night you might have a problem with the internet: only lasts for 24 hours or 500MB. The staff was very welcoming, breakfast was great, overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MvanArendonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed alone at Aero for a couple of nights for a layover before my flight. I chose it because it was nearby the airport and had no nollege of the area. I remember being a little sceptic at first when I drove trough the streets and arrived at the logde. Big gates, wires and cameras. I realized I definitely picked a very local neighbourhood you can say. Especially when the receptionist told me I could not go outside the gates alone.

But I immediately felt very at home. Inside the gates its a little oasis. Its simple, but really relaxing. They have a little garden and pool. You can have breakfast, dinner and go get softdrinks from the fridge. You just have to check off what you drink and pay at the end. I liked that, felt homely. It is not overcrowded, so I meet awesome people from all around the world. The staff are really great and friendly. They help you with whatever. If you want a quick cheap meal, you can order take away from a selection of chains and the lodge staff will bring it personally to you. I always felt safe and taken care of.

I got a big room. Nice bed, tv and big bathroom. Everything felt very comfortable. I remember loving dinner, local dishes or international. Small dining area and menu, but just enough. Nothing to fancy, but suited my needs.

I definitely could not sit inside the gates for two days, and really wanted to explore what was outside the lodge area. So a went to a local shopping mall. Really local and really fun. A nice guy from the lodge drove med there and picked me up when a wanted. They really went out of their way for safety. Even though I would not go outside alone at night, me as a young girl had no problem blending in with locals and feeling at home. I actually loved staying there, in a non turist area. You really get to see a real part of joburg.

The Areo Guest Lodge was awsome and so glad a chose it over a big resort. I would so recommend it, both to single or group travelers and families and couples. Probably better for a layover rather than a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AneJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here one night after arriving to OR Tambo, they have a free shuttle which takes you the short distance to the lodge. The rooms are great, bathroom was very large and the rooms have everything one would need, including a TV and free wifi. There is a self-service bar and dinner service at a charge. Breakfast is included, and it had cereal, yogurt, toast, and tea/coffee and the cooks will also make you eggs/bacon/omelets all included as well. Shuttle back to the airport was free as well. Overall a great value and close to the airport for travelers. Staff amazingly friendly as well!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 12, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Super friendly staff & excellent service - erica, ishmail, and marvin. very near the airport - pick up/drop off from/to hotel were spot on. Room was very clean and comfortable. you cant beat the price - terrific value for the money. highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 12 has the bath and the bed in the same room. i found it convenient. If u dont like it, get a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murali N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This lovely little spot is perfect if you are overnighting in Joburg and want to be near the airport. Prompt airport pick up, fabulous friendly staff, good food and the 24 hour tea/coffee and honesty bar just add depth to an already great offer. Room was clean and comfortable and proximity to airport is great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broccolilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,126 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
550 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
2.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
2.0 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aero Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aero Guest Lodge

Property: Aero Guest Lodge
Address: 81 Kempton Road | Kempton Park Extension 1, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aero Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Aero Guest Lodge is conveniently located just 2.7km from Johannesburg International Airport. It offers a variety of 13 luxury en-suite rooms all individually styled and decorated to the highest standard with private outside entrances. Set in stunning tranquil gardens, which compliment the large sparkling swimming pool, it allows all guests to enjoy the beauty, charm and serenity of the lodge in an ambience that is warm and friendly. Relax and enjoy quality and service that exceeds your expectations.Aero Guest Lodge offers tours around Pretoria, Soweto, Sun City and other areas. It also provides free airport transfers in executive vehicles.Free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Aero Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aero Guest Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing