We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnighter, if you need to, in Jo'Burg”
Review of Aero Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aero Guest Lodge
Ranked #3 of 68 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The pick up (free shuttle) from the airport needed a telephone call (so make sure you have the number handy), but they were there very promptly after that. Not a major.

The establishment is tired, but not really run down. Everything was clean, comfortable and very basic, but that's all you need if overnighting between flights, and the shuttle service a perfect solution (even if a bit late) and dinner and breakfast adequate.

Happily recommend for convenience that's perfectly good for most regular non~fussy travellers.

Oh, and although we could hear the planes during the evening... they didn't disturb our sleep at all, due to the hours that the airport seems to operate.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jqqls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeroguestlodge, Owner at Aero Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Hi,

Thank you for mentioning how promptly we collected you from the airport. Thank you for also mention how clean and comfortable everything was.

All the best for the future and happy travels!

Kind regards,
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 560 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

I booked my husband and his colleague in for 5 nights as they were in Johannesburg on business, I joined them on night 5.
We were to take advantage of the free airport pick up, this worked great for Tom but not me, I called several times, could not get an answer so called a cab.
Plus points very close to the airport, staff good and breakfast fine.
Minus points only two sun beds by the pool, bathrooms - in the room we had the door between the bedroom and the bathroom had been removed, meaning there was no door between the bedroom and the toilet. In Toms colleagues room it was all one room, you could lie on the bed and see the whole bathroom.
Plus good price, would stay again for a one night airport stop over.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamY_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeroguestlodge, Owner at Aero Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Hi,

Thank you for mentioning how close we are to the airport and that the staff and food was excellent.

All the best and happy traveling!

Kind regards,
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for a night in mid september and was very happy with every aspect of this place. The food was like a home cooked dinner mum use to make and the room was very comfortable and clean. The staff was very welcoming and lovely to talk to, pool area was lovely as was the dinning area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeroguestlodge, Owner at Aero Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Hi,

Thank you for mentioning how happy you were with the lodge. We have two great chefs who take a great deal of pride in what they serve - at the moment ostrich is very popular with our guests!

We're glad you enjoyed the staff and pool area.

All the best and happy traveling!

Kind regards,
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Firstly the free transfers - they will not be there waiting for you, once you have come through baggage claim etc you then have to find a phone to call them to collect you. As we were travelling with a baby and arriving in SA at his bed time, we needed someone there to collect us immediately. For this they charge US$50 (seriously) apparently this is for parking. However.... when we got there there was a man waiting for us but no car, we waited over an hour for someone to collect us.

We had also requested for a camp cot to be in our room (additional charge) when we got there, there was no camp cot!

The room was very noisy, it sounded like a party was happening above above us. Kept waking up the baby.

There was not so much as one soap in the bathroom.

However the room was very nice, and the staff friendly though management is obviously seriously lacking. The price is good, but we found it a nightmare with our baby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeroguestlodge, Owner at Aero Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Hi,

Many thanks for mentioning how friendly the staff were and how much you liked the room.

Kind regards,
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here overnight in September after a very long and late arriving flight from Toronto via Amsterdam so it was a real bonus that the hotel was so close to the airport and the transfer was prompt and the driver courteous. Bed was very comfortable and the linens of good quality. Breakfast the next morning was tasty and I was impressed by Miriam the waitress who was fastiduously cleaning and polishing the tables to ensure the guests enjoyed their meal. All the staff we encountered were lovely and very helpful. Our flight out was fairly early so we really didn't get much chance to relax and enjoy the facility but it fulfilled our in transit needs perfectly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeroguestlodge, Owner at Aero Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Hi,

Many thanks for mentioning how close we are to the airport and that we were very prompt in collecting you. I also told Miriam that you were impressed with her and she loved that - she's our celebrity in the lodge and loves our guests!!

All the best for the future and happy travels!

Kind regards,
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Fantastic, clean, secure and friendly. Very close to the airport with a great pick-up service (the gentleman were hilarious and fun to be around after long flights). Check-in was a breeze, the room was large and clean, and the bed rediculously comfortable! My only comment would be the shower sometimes didn't work (no pressure and switching from hot to cold), but this eventually came good within a few minutes. The staff were amazing. Upon enquiring at reception about getting some laundry done (we were only there one night), the lady informed me that the lady that did the laundry was not there, but she would do it for me. We had lost our mobile phone and all means of communication a few days earlier, and she also let me borrow her personal laptop and internet! Not alot of choice for meals, but what was there was delicious and tasted exactly like a nutritious home cooked meal. The best piece of steak I have ever had! The ladies in the kitchen ALWAYS had smiles on their faces.

Overall, you could stay at a nicer place at one of the chain hotels (ie more modern and an extensive menu), but you would miss out on the quality of the food and the friendliness here. I would never recommend that.

Thankyou!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeroguestlodge, Owner at Aero Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Hi,

Thank you for mentioning how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to offer a service that makes your stay as comfortable as possible and that covers everything from cleanliness through to food and transfers, we all passionately care about what we do.

Our driver Charles liked your comment as he does all he can to make your first impression of us a fun and friendly approach - he's there to assure you of a professional and efficient transfer.

Thank you for mentioning the staff as well - we all have weekly meetings so we can ensure we get feedback from the staff and we all work together to create a pleasant experience for our guests.

We have solved the pressure issue in the room you stayed in.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

It is what it is - Adequate for a stop over whilst transitting through Johannesburg airport but don't expect luxury or peace and quiet as it is right under the flight path of the airport.
It is described as '4 star luxury accommodation' however having just visited a five star hotel in Cape Town, sadly it made Aero look more like a 2 star hotel. It is situated in a not so desirable location which leaves you pretty much stuck at the lodge if you haven't got a car.
On a positive point, the staff did their best to make our stay a good one and were polite and helpful. The bed was comfortable too.
There were free transfers to and from the hotel and for a small fee, the driver will drive you down to the local mall in Kempton Park.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aeroguestlodge, Owner at Aero Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Hi,

Many thanks for your feedback - I remember you were our two police constables, I hope the UK weather is okay now you've returned home:-)!

Thank you for highlighting we're a good transit guest lodge as we're located just 5 minutes from the main terminal at OR Tambo International Airport and we offer complimentary airport transfers both ways, so you never have to worry about how to get to and from the lodge - we'll take care of you.

Thank you for also mentioning the bed was comfortable.

We wish you all the best for the future.

Kind regards,
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kempton Park
0.0 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
604 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg Airport
2.1 mi away
Journey's Inn Africa
Journey's Inn Africa
#4 of 68 in Kempton Park
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aero Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aero Guest Lodge

Address: 81 Kempton Road | Kempton Park Extension 1, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range: $48 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aero Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Aero Guest Lodge is conveniently located just 2.7km from Johannesburg International Airport. It offers a variety of 13 luxury en-suite rooms all individually styled and decorated to the highest standard with private outside entrances. Set in stunning tranquil gardens, which compliment the large sparkling swimming pool, it allows all guests to enjoy the beauty, charm and serenity of the lodge in an ambience that is warm and friendly. Relax and enjoy quality and service that exceeds your expectations.Aero Guest Lodge offers tours around Pretoria, Soweto, Sun City and other areas. It also provides free airport transfers in executive vehicles.Free Wi-Fi is available in the public areas of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Aero Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aero Guest Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing