We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Journey's Inn Africa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Journey's Inn Africa
Ranked #3 of 65 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durban
1 review
“An excellent venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

A great place to stay, with warm, helpful staff, and delicious food. One could not ask for more pleasant or better service. Our room was clean, comfortable and well decorated. We enjoyed the honesty bar, allowing us to get a drink, and record what we consumed. It's 10 minutes from the airport, so conveniently situated and was easy to find, driving a hired car. Our flight back was late, and we were allowed to check out late, which was really good. We had a wonderful weekend and will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    55
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
40
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Thank you Felicity for making the stay at Africa Inn so pleasurable. The atmosphere was lovely and you are a lovely host. The food is superb and you certainly gave the personal touch. I fully recommend you to everyone for a relaxing and safe place to stay. Have yourself a wonderful Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skeerpoort
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

A Big thank you to everyone at Journeys Inn Africa for making my visit to Johannesburg a memorable one. All day tours and transfers were well organised, my room was impecibly clean and the dinners and breakfasts always mouthwatering!!

I will deffinately be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annaventer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
129 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2008

This is a very nice, clean place that is in a residential neighborhood, quite convenient to the Tambo International Airport. The owner picks you up and drops you off at the airport and will do the same at local restaurants, if you so desire. The rooms are simple--almost spartan--but are comfortable and immaculate. The bathroom is well designed and the mattress is top rate. The TV selection was poor but that is the only negative point I can make. Breakfast was typical and plentiful. One more point--the price is right.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — TV
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2007

We were looking for a safe place to stay for one night after a long flight. Green Palms was a great find. We telephoned the owner from the airport and were collected 10 minutes later. We had a nice clean room, good breakfast the next day and then were driven back to the airport to collect our hire car. Outstanding value for money.

  • Liked — Close to airport and Very safe
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 00Ness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
3.4 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
4.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
2.4 mi away
Blue Mango Lodge
Blue Mango Lodge
#1 of 65 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Journey's Inn Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journey's Inn Africa

Property: Journey's Inn Africa
Address: 20 Gwarrie Road | Glen Marais, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Journey's Inn Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey's Inn Africa is a charming *** Guest Lodge situated in the well located, up market and safe suburb of Glen Marais, Kempton Park - Johannesburg, which is only 10 minutes from O R Tambo International Airport, the main port of entry to South Africa and most southern African countries. We offer great value for money with a high standard of clean, comfortable accommodation and a scrumptious breakfast included in our rates. We have 9 spacious en-suite rooms, each room with its own private entrance. We offer quality "3 Star" accommodation. A traditional welcome drink and charming South African hospitality awaits you on your arrival, where you will then be cared for by our friendly and efficient staff. Our Inn provides a warm inviting atmosphere with a classic African ambiance. Other services available: "Meet & Greet" and transfers to and from all airports in Gauteng Local - full day & half day excursions / tours Short - tours & safaris Day rooms exclusive to guests Mini conference facilities Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) Laundry service Dinner - set menus Bar Personal amenities in each room Hair dryers & international plugs available from reception DSTV Swimming pool Plenty of secure / undercover parking Situated close to: Numerous restaurants Various SPA facilities Shopping Malls Casino Golf Driving Range Golf courses (Serengeti, etc) Sport stadiums (Ellis Park, etc) BMX Track ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Journey's Inn Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing