We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
McGregor, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

On a recent business trip, I flew into OR Tambo at 20h00, and my client had requested to book me in to this hotel rather than one closer to the office. Boy, was I glad: no late night shuttle trip across Johannesburg, just a long-ish leg-stretch to the hotel. The reception staff were, even at that time of the evening, warm and welcoming and I was able to settle in quite quickly. The bar was still open so I was able to get something cold (it was a really hot night) and retire to my room. The breakfast options of full English or continental, are a good call and the offering more than adequate for the business traveller.

My last stay at a City Lodge was an unhappy one, so for more than 10 years, it's a brand I had avoided. Having been less than enthusiastic about this stop over, I left happy to return, and will certainly consider this as a first choice on future business trips.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerMelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could change your opinion of our hotels. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    645
    160
    33
    18
See reviews for
154
349
136
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The city lodge continues to impress with its well appointed and clean rooms. For an airport hotel it offers great luxury at an affordable price. The rooms are neat and offer all the amenities one needs. The gym is also great. The breakfast buffet is excellent. I can really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A room facing away from the airport helps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manfred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We’re pleased to hear that you’ve been consistently impressed with our clean rooms. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

As we travelled through Africa we had to stop in Johannesburg 3 times for an overnight stay. We stayed at the City Lodge each time.

We found it very convenient when catching a morning flight the next day and the Hotel itself was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for the positive review. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again the next time you’re in Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed at the City lodge Kempton Park, the reception was not friendly or helpful at all and they speak English with a terrible poor accent. The rooms were clean and the quality of the bed and linen was excellent, I did not have breakfast as I had to leave early. The pick-up point at the hotel was scary as there was no porter or security guard that stand at the back of the hotel so you are basically standing there in the dark alone. To get to the pick up point was also a night mare, but it was perfect for one night and walking distance from the airport which was great.

Room Tip: There are more than 300+ rooms, so ask for a room closest to the reception area if you have alot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for the review. We’re sad to hear that you had a poor experience with our staff and had trouble with the pick up point. We will definitely look into the issues that you have raised. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

No problems checking in.

They say they offer free wifi internet. Here I was thinking unlimited wifi. Nope..
They just don't advertise that you get one hour each day. For a business person that would be unacceptable.
When Internet was not working I was told that maybe I should just buy one of their wifi packages so I wouldn't have any problems.

Please don't advertise free wifi when you only give 1 hour per day.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have arisen with regards to our complimentary Wi-Fi offering. Please note that as of January 2014 we increased the complimentary Wi-Fi limit from 15 minutes to one hour per day and plan to continue upgrading this offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jabbeke, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We arrived at 10pm at the airport and at first we wanted to stay in the airport, waiting for our 7am flight. We then stumbled upon the City Lodge hotel and they still had a room available. The service was wonderful, price affordable and the room was great. We were glad we could still sleep for a couple hours and freshen up. Would definitely stay here again if we have another layover at OR Tambo Airport!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We’re so glad that you “stumbled upon us” and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The City Lodge OR Tambo is very convenient for the airport and is located wholly within the terminal complex so there is no need to go outside. The room is of a good size, clean and with a good bathroom. There is a restaurant at the hotel serving basic food at a decent price. Don't expect gourmet dining but if you want something to eat before a morning flight without going outside of the airport then it serves its purpose.
There's not a lot to really say. Front desk were helpful and friendly and the overall experience was very satisfactory.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TransplantedBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We’re happy to hear that you found your experience with us very satisfactory. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Property: City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing