We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Lodge - More expensive by the day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I had to stay at the City Lodge, OR Tambo International Airport during a mini-crises for one night recently and it was rather a bland experience.

Luckily, I knew how to get there but there is no signage that would lead one to believe that the airport is just over the road from the airport and, although expensive, is far less expensive than the Intercontinental whioch is also over the road and much closer to the terminal. For foreign travellers, they would never know how to get to this hotel as one has to walk through an undercover bridge as if walking to the multi-story car park. Even then, the levels are somewhat confusing...

A lot more signage and marketing is required but first things first - lower your rates, think about Industry discounts, and train the staff to be a little more friendly and accomodating.

The room rates are expensive, and the room I stayed in was tiny and had a view of a rather inattractive courtyard. There was no reading matter except for the normal Hotel info. Boring indeed. Possibly a range of daily newspapers in both languages could be provided?

Reception staff were rather non-chalant and seemed to be "doing me a favour". As I checked in rather late and was out again very early the following morning, there was no opportuity to try the breakfast buffet. Although the staff knew what the situation was, nothing was offered and nobody went "out of their way" to even offer anything special. Mind you, I've learned to expect nothing more.

Room service took ages and I simply has no further option but to cancel the order eventually. My only other option was to go back to the airport to eat at the Mug and Bean Restaurant which is open 24 hours a day - thankfully.

Overall, not a good experience at all and hopefully one which I will never have to repeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeeAndGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for the review. We would also like to thank you for the feedback. We sincerely apologize for your bad experience, this is something we'll definitely look into as we do with these matters. Please note we do not provide room service as part of our normal operations. We believe that we do offer value for money compared to alternative quality accommodation at the airport. Signage is in the process of being improved. Thank you again for your comments, we do hope you will try us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,186)
There are newer reviews for City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel is located within walking distance of the terminal and is connected to the terminals via an undercover walkway.
Ideal if you arrive late in Jhb and need to spend the night before heading off somewhere else. There is no minibar but there is a bar in the hotel plus room service. Buffet breakfast is veryreasonably priced and has god fruit, cereals and a range of cooked options - eggs cooked while you wait.
Rooms are small but adequate and TV includes 3 sports channels as well as movie options.
MaIn gripes were aircon was not that efficient in my room and wifi is only free for first 60 mins

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and rooms. However we do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the aircon. We will look into this matter. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Surprised by the hotel. I was thinking that was a standard low end airport hotel but it is absolutely not the case. Nice large room with a very efficient and quiet air conditioner. Service at the reception efficient and smiling. Could deserve to have more staff to limit the waiting time.
Excellent sandwich at the bar and superb breakfast. Definitively this hotel is and excellent ratio quality/price

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scalpy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We arrived at Johannesburg airport at 12 am and were leaving next morning. So decided to stay here. After arriving at main hall, we did not know where to go, so ask some one in security uniform. He said I will guide you. According to direction we had, we were suppose to go up by lift. He took us down. We were dam scared, there was not a single person he guided us through. In the end all was save and arrived at the hotel. Major drawback was hotel does not have room service. Person at reception said, we can send men to get it from airport. But being vegetarian we skipped that option and waited until next morning to have food.. They should definitely start room service, then it would be 5 star.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kavitachoudhary89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for the review. We apologize for the inconvenience with regards to the lack of room service. We will look into this, as we do with these matters. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed for three nights in this hotel. It is a nice hotel, rooms are well decorated and have spacious bathrooms. There is complementary free wifi (1 hour per day) and the breakfast is big and of good quality (lots of different choices, fresh fruits etc.). Staff was very friendly.
If you have a free night to spare, there is a free shuttle to the Emperor's Palace, which is a close by casino/cinema/shopping area with good and affordable food options. Despite the fact the hotel is at the airport, I did not really hear the airplanes taking on/off.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _Frog_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank for the great review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast as well as the bedrooms. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I was quite pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The staff are friendly and the hotel is pristine clean. The breakfast is extra but it is a really good selection of buffet and hot food. The smallest gripe I have is that the breakfast opens at 6 am but you cannot order eggs till 6:30 but you still pay the same price. Little thing but meh c'mon... There were at least 10 of us miffed at this between 6 to 6:30. Anyway nice hotel overall and well worth the convenience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here on three different occasions during our recent trip to South Africa. I would have preferred to move into the city, but we had so many different flights this just really made sense. It was handy for our friends to come and visit, and was attached to the airport so you could walk luggage over on a cart without going outside or crossing traffic which was great as it rained a couple of days. The hotel let us store bags there so we didn't have to drag all of our bags around.

The rooms were good. Showers were hot. There is a movable screen between the bathroom and the bedroom which was interesting. Buffet breakfast was good. I suggest booking this online as a bed and breakfast as when I did that I got it for about the same price with breakfast as I paid at the desk without. FYI you get a free hour of internet, but after that you have to pay for it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that our staff were so accommodating and that you enjoyed the convenience of being so close to the airport. We hope to see you the next time you pop into South Africa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: $136 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing